We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Magnolia Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Residency
Ranked #5 of 125 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were a family of three and landed in Darjeeling without any booking. We kept our luggage at a restaurant after having our lunch and went searching for a clean room with a view. As we travel around very frequently we were expecting for something homely. After some visits to some rooms, we met Avinash the receptionist at Magnolia and asked him to show us the room, I liked it instantly, the executive room which had a good view of the mountains. he was friendly and obliged to all our requests. The service was very prompt and the rooms were clean and well maintained. we enjoyed the terrace, and got a very beautiful sunrise right out of our window. we met the owners in the evening and a pleasant chat with them, a very friendly family to talk. totally had a good time. Thanks to Avinash for helping with so many things.

Room Tip: Think of the executive room, a little spacious with a good view outside the window, Yes it can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chewangsherpa, Owner at Magnolia Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you very much for your valued review.





Management
Magnolia Residency
Darjeeling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at the Magnolia for 3 nights in mid April 2013.
For the first 2 nights we stayed in a Double executive room which was a good size with excellent views. The problem with these rooms is the noise. Shutters for the market stalls directly outside start opening from about 5am onwards and it's loud.
For the last night we stayed in a double deluxe which is a bit smaller and has no outside windows which makes it much quieter.
All the rooms are basic but we fully expected this. The location is really good, the walk home through the market after sundown is magical.
they have a really nice rooftop terrace which gives wonderful views, weather dependent.
The breakfast is really nice but can get busy as it's open to the public and I believe is mentioned in the lonely planet guide.
Overall, fully recommended but don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: If you value your sleep over space and veiws, book a double deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fwitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chewangsherpa, Owner at Magnolia Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you very much for your valued review.





Management
Magnolia Residency
Darjeeling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

had been to this place from 26th of march to 29th of march,2013. getting there is a bit tricky but you could easily get a porter to the hotel. clean rooms,warm people and great view. Special mention of Mr.Chewang Sherpa-great help if you need to go around darjeeling,nice person to talk with. the hotel is a combination of home stay with proper hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj_jay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chewangsherpa, Owner at Magnolia Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thanks a lot for your awesome review. We are very glad that you had enjoyed your stay at Magnolia Residency


Regards
Mamagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We read so many great reviews about Magnolia on Tripadvisor, and having not let us down until this point, we decided on Magnolia. While it was clean, the room was small, and there was no view at all (since the window opens up into a hallway). We had expected, and hoped, at least we would have somewhat of a nice view staying on the top of a mountain! The service was good, but the best service we experienced was at Sonam's across the street, who hand delivered our nightly food order to us in our room (so we didn't have to sit out in the cold!).

The electric blanket was nice, but the bathroom was freezing and made showering pretty much not enjoyable.

We had arranged a price before we arrived via e-mail, but the management refused to honour agreed price and instead said that it was just the deposit, but of course forgot to mention that in the e-mail. Just make sure before you get there!

That being said, it was a comfortable stay, and the room was clean. But it seems there are plenty of options in Darjeeling so I would shop around!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Magnolia Residency is a very beautiful and charming hotel to stay in Darjeeling.
It has modern and very clean rooms which are nicely decorated.
The hotel is family run and whenever you enter into the door you get that warmhearted
smile which makes you feel very welcome.
I can warmly recommend this place and would always go back when I will travel to Darjeeling.
Big thanks to the lovely family to make my stay a great stay in Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimoneGaiser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is beautifully located hotel in the centre of Darjeeling. It is family run and offers clean, affordable accommodation. My wife and I stayed for four nights and were sorry to leave. If you want somewhere special to stay in Darjeeling then the Magnolia should be high on your list.

Room Tip: Spend time looking around and comparing places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, but I was little diappointed. We were told there is only one room available. The room was good with all facilities but there was no good view from the room. There is no use staying in hill station when it doesnt give view from window or balcony. We ended up shifting to another place with much better room and a personal balcony with lesser price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Standbymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
655 reviews
2.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#78 of 98 in Darjeeling
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 98 in Darjeeling
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Residency

Address: Dr Zakir Hussain Road | Below S.P Bunglow, Chowrasta, Mall, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: £14 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Residency is a beautiful little property located at the Mall, Chowrasta. The wall of the rooms are covered in traditional Tibetan Murals reflecting the cultural heritage of the region. The rooms are warm and inviting, with wall to wall carpeting, Wi-Fi Internet Access, LCD TVs, Doctor On Call, Anytime Cab, Laundry Service, uninterrupted power supply, travel desk services {e-air tickets | train tickets |airport transfers} daily English newspaper, beauty saloon (nearby) and international courier through DHL / FEDEX / BLUEDART & others. Multi cuisine restaurant serving Indian, Chinese, Nepali, Tibetan and continental cuisine open for Lunch and Dinner. Our team: the dynamic young duo of Mr. Chewang Sherpa and Mrs. Sonia Devi own and run the property, both being ardent travellers. They overlook the day to day running of the hotel. "We don't promise u much...but a Solacing stay in the Queen of hills" - Mrs. Sonia Devi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing