We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bird's eye view of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Passenger Ropeway

Passenger Ropeway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.00*
and up
Darjeeling Half-Day Private Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #9 of 98 things to do in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent bird's eye view of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This one is loved by kids and surprisingly the adults would also like it.

The ropeway is an excellent way to appreciate the beauty of this city. You get to see the woods area, hills, the state legislature and the new modern buildings in the city from a height.

They should do something to improve the amenities in the ropeway complex.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rishi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    190
    70
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Darjeeling - The paradise on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The place is exotic and heavenly!!! what with the light showers of snow and the cool breeze taking our breath away - The rows of pine trees, the serene tea gardens and the meandering roads that take you uphill -oh !! its awesome!!! I wish I could visit there once again - Irene

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank irene1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“no response”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

it was a disappointment when v reached and went for a ride.The person sitting there said- " bandh hai" I asked "why" said -aisay hi?????/ I was shocked by his response-I askd -for tomorrow?? he replied -kal bhi bandh hai-I mean we were several tourist standing there and they just bluntly refused to start the ropeway- it was a horrible experience for me- it was the dirtiest place I visited in darjeeling-I feel in west Bengal ,tourism department is not active-compared to Sikkim. it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Namrata_Ashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Have a joy ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

it is also known as Rangeet Valley Passenger Cable Car. you will get to view he valley below, tea gardens, dense forests with awesome snow peaks at the background. Get off at a lower station and enjoy the tea estates, walk through the tea gardens, or just relax and enjoy the view around.
only standing in the Que is a bit of boring. though we did not feel so since we are with group of our friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parnavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The view from top is excellent. An adventure in itself. You get to see the tea plantations below. Really breathtaking view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank desaiardeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passenger Ropeway also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Passenger Ropeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing