We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME...”
Review of Gurung Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gurung Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

its very tough to rate the goodness of this place because i found this place as beautiful as heaven....the rooms,the ambience,the food,the greenery,the climate and above all the heart touching behaviour of MR.DIPENDRA GURUNG.. all should be marked 100 out of 100....the rooms were very spacious and the too much tasty food r all made from organic vegetables...above all the food all the 4 times a day were served by Mr.Gurung and his family themselves with such love and warmth that our dil wanted to stay there forever...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

the place is awesome, u get a view of katmundu city and in the darkness its a beautiful view, rooms are very good, room service and stuff are awesome, as of food, they have meals, cooked in local style and believe me u would eat 3 times the food u usually have at hhome its so awesome, ( i had 6 roti with the amazing chicken curry, 1 roti being equivallent to 4 roti of what wwe usually have at home)
u get everything here, drinks, smoke, just tell one of the people and they will arrange for it, area around is beautiful, pure nature, quite, full of green, even have 2-3 treking routes
They even arrange for bon fire so bachelors, its a heaven for u, drinking is open, u can grab a bottle and roam around and have it.
know how to play guitar?
wonderful, ask the manafer to come and have a little jam, afterall music IS life :)
anything u need will be in ur hand, just ask for it,
connectivity is nice here, u get good networks ( right now i am sitting in one of their room, using a 3g connection and writing the review)
u might get a little flies and flying insects, specially at night, keeping the room door close will take care of it.
they even have a common room for playing carom.
Overall its an awesome place, its a must visit for any kind of people, its heaven :)

Room Tip: Ask for the delux room if u can afford, or on top floors because they have an awesom vied, however b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soutrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed in Gurung Guest House on 11/05/2013 to 13/05/13 with my father and mother in their four bed room. The room was quite good, clean enough and spacious. The main attraction is their hospitality in their typical style. They serve food in special metal thali which is made at their own kitchen. Their behaviour is very good. They arranged us a local tour of an orange garden. We had a great stay in a typical homely atmosphere. Its indeed a home away from home !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krishnendu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed in Gurung Guest House on 25/12/2012 with my wife in their deluxe room. The room was quite good, clean enough and spacious. The main attraction is their hospitality in their typical style. They serve food in special metal thali which is made at their own kitchen. Their behaviour is very good. They arranged us a local tour of an orange garden. We had a great stay in a typical homely atmosphere. Its indeed a home away from home !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skm_1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Indian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
6.2 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#74 of 100 in Darjeeling
98 reviews
7.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 100 in Darjeeling
385 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
6.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 100 in Darjeeling
666 reviews
5.9 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurung Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurung Guest House

Address: Tinchuley, Darjeeling 734222, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Darjeeling
Price Range: £38 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gurung Guest House is not a Service driven Hotel or Resort. It is a simple mountain Homestay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing