We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in that area”

Kanika's for Veggie Lovers
Ranked #63 of 117 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Tibetan, Fast food
Good for: Groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Neat place. Quality food. Opens a bit late in the morning (after 10 a.m.). For people planning for an early start for any tour, this is not the place to have breakfast. If you don't mind waiting for some time, this is a good place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SubbuNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for appreciating the Fast food. It is supposed to open at 8:30 am. I will look into it right away.Thank you for pointing it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Good option for pure veggies. Ordered day rice and was decent in taste. Will recommend to others. Waiting period is little more.

Thank anuj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed the food here. We will work towards faster service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

nice place to have veggie food... options are varried... we had lunch on 21st April 2014 and the place was almost empty... just me & my family... and the ppl who serve food, along with cashier, were very friendly & when we took extra time to order, the smile on their face didnt vanish... the food tasted very yummy too... the seating arrangements on the mezannine floor has been done very well and can accommodate quite a few ppl... the only reason of giving 1 less star (not 4, but 3) is for the approach road where this is situated... the approach road is very bad... there is hoardings on the corner of the street & an arrow mark to get into the road... but the road is really in bad state... i should not call that a road, but a narrow lane with filth all around & that brings down the overall rating for this place... Just for the approach lane, a person, like me possibly, will not visit this place 2nd time, which is really sad... & that reflected when we had lunch too - as there were just none other than us at the peak time of 2:30pm for lunch... maybe somehting to be done by Kanika's to bring in more crowd...

Thank ShivaGPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out to review our Fast food. The road ( H.D Lama Road) is an important road as there are over 20 hotels on that lane and is fixed almost every year. Somehow, it gets in a bad state pretty soon. Let us see what we can do about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were in Darjeeling for a week long trek, after completing the trek we went to Kanika's with a Bunch of friends for Dinner & Breakfast. One of my friends have thoroughly researched online for best Veg eatouts in Darjeeling and come up with Kanika's as one of the option. We visited the place at 7:30 PM as last orders will not be taken after this time. One of the south Indian family who just had food there told us before leaving the place that food quality is awesome. Dec was off season and most of the staff was on vacation. The guy at the front desk did not look very welcoming (later i realised it was due to lack of staff to serve 10 + people & power cut), however he asked to decide the order fist before getting seated, so that it can be served fast & hot. We odered, Soup, Butter & plain non with gravy, Momos, Jeera rice, fried rice, Paneer Manchurian (or something of that sort), fried rice etc. I really appreciate their effort in preparing all these items on time (within 30 - 40 mins all were served) deliciously & serving us hot despite lack of staff ( i guess there were only 2 people). All the items were liked by our group (South Indians & Gujraathi's) except for fried rice which was for some reason not cooked properly. Place was neat & Bath rooms were clean. With the pleasant experience of previous day we went to have breakfast at the same place. We ordered veg sandwich, fried & steamed momo's, Alu Paratha & tea. All of them were excellent with Alu paratha being one of the best ever tasted by me. The lady at the front desk (who also doubled herself as a kitchen staff) was very pleasant & also helped us with places to be covered in the city, taxi fares & types of tea & where the best of it can be brought. She also tried to search a driver for us. Over all we had a wonderful experience & i am sure they will be at their best when all the staff returns to work in the peak of the season. I will visit them again. Our dinner bill for 12 people was around 900 Rs & Breakfast bill was around 500 Rs for 6 people.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HemanthShriyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so much for writing out in such detail for us and for appreciating the food so much. The team will be happy to know you were so happy with the Fast food. Do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Read a good review of this place in lonely planet and since we are vegetarians decided to try it out. Food was just okay. We had eaten at lunar hotel the previous evening, and couldn't help comparing our bland jeera rice with memories of heaven

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Kanika's for Veggie Lovers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your jeera rice. We have taken it up very seriously with our kitchen staff and will make sure that it never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanika's for Veggie Lovers also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Kanika's for Veggie Lovers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing