We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and location”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent six nights in March and found the positive Trip Advisor reviews were right on. The hotel has a great location just off the Mall with nearby restaurants and shopping. Everything is within easy walking distance. We booked a mountain view room and I'm sure the views would have been good too, but it was cloudy and foggy the whole week. Even with no mountain views, it was interesting to watch the activitiy on the streets below.

Our room had comfortable twin beds, 2 chairs, a small table and TV. The room was right above the lounge area and the heat from below kept it warm. The bathroom worked fine and there was hot water.

Mrs Norbu was helpful with local knowledge genuinely cared about her guests. The rest of the staff was very professional. We booked the room by email and they asked for an advance deposit of Rs 3000 by emailing our credit card info. The balance had to be paid in cash when we checked out of the hotel.

Breakfast was ample with eggs, toast, porridge or cereal, fruit, juice and tea or coffee. A couple of mornings there was a buffet breakfast and other mornings they took individual orders. I recommend the cheese omlette with Nepali cheese.

The lounge area has a couple of computers that you can pay to use, but they didn't always work. The lounge area also has a table with at least a hundred oil candles burning. Monks used a room off the lounge during the day and it was really atmospheric to listen to their chanting.

Other visitors have commented on the stairs. The hotel is far above street level and there is no lift. I have to admit, it was a bit daunting to lug our bags up when we first arrived. After almost a week, we were getting used to the elevation of Darjeeling.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

We spent Christmas here and after the hustle and bustle of the rest of India it was a real treat to be somewhere so cosy, calm and atmospheric. The building has amazing views of the nearby peaks. The woodburner in the lounge is perfect in the evenings. The owner is wonderful and you get a taste of Tibet waking to the sound of chanting and horns in the morning. This review may sound a bit perfect but we really did have a memorable stay. We stayed in a room on the top floor which was one of the colder ones but you have a hot water bottle delivered nightly so it's easy to warm up. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor for warmth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We arrived to a hail storm and an electricity outage but the Dekeling was a cozy retreat from the chaos outside. The staff were extremely nice and the rooms clean. The bathroom wasn't spotless and it was very cold on our floor but the faux fur blankets helped. Don't miss the upstairs lounge-its nice and warm and covered in prayer candles. You can order beer (not only Kingfisher) and pass the time reading a book from the library. The hotel is close to good food and most attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Dekeling hotel was very nice. The staff were excellent and very accomodating. Would recommend. My only advice would be to choose a room away from the main street. In Darjeeling the cars honk their horns consistently from 4:30am to 9pm. After 9pm the dogs wake up and start barking. I would recommend skipping the mountain view room - there are nice views from the 3rd floor lobby - and opt for a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We booked a couple of nights here as we wanted to be sure we had somewhere comfortable to come back to after our 7 day Singalila trek and many of the budget options in town would not take reservations. It was a great option, the staff are friendly and helpful, there is an excellent laundry service (we had a MASSIVE pile and they still got it back to us dried by the end of the day).
If you are a light sleeper you may need earplugs between the dogs at night and the jeeps during the day, but the same can be said of most places in Darjeeling.
Beds were comfortable, clean towels and linens, hot water, help taking our bags up and down the (many) stairs. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We opted for the hotel based on the reviews available on trip advisor. I must say it was well worth it. The best thing about the hotel is that it is centrally located you have all the great resturants such as Kunga, Glenary, Keventer's near by. The staff was very good and the service was excellent. The only problem is that the hotel doesnot have any lift so you need to walk through stairs...which was just a problem in the day one, after that one gets used to the same. The rooms were really cozy and comfortable. Excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper floors have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aahuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great hotel right in the center of town, near everything. Staff was very helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank kelhamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 100 in Darjeeling
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#8 of 100 in Darjeeling
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#7 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £27 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing