We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A very warm and welcoming place to stay. Staff friendly and attentive, amazing views of Kanchenjunga from the room and breakfast room. The room itself was clean and extremely comfortable, my one and only gripe and it really is a minor one is that the décor was a little tired, but I really didn't care. A lovely touch was the hot water bottle and tea brought to the room, really nice. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Darjeeling!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huddythegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review and kindest reccomendations.
It gives us great pleasure and immense job satisfaction to receive your kindest appreciation of our facilities and services. We assure you, we will try our best to uphold and maintain our services.
Thank you for your feedback which will help us in our effort to offer quality services and ensure pleasant stay for all our guest. It was indeed great pleasure and hounour to have you with us.
All of us join to express our heartfelt “Thank You” to you for choosing to stay with us.
Wishing you many pleasant holidays!
Kind Regards Always
Norbu Dekeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    218
    79
    24
    12
See reviews for
146
238
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at the Dekeling for the last 9 days of my trip to Darjeeling and it was a highlight of my trip. I had room 105 which had a fantastic view of Kanchenjunga from dawn to dusk. I had plenty of clean blankets, crisp sheets & as many dry towels as I wanted. The shower was always hot & although the room had no heating it wasn't too cold.

The communal lounge was a real highlight, the atmosphere was warm & friendly and travellers from a wide range of countries & age groups all enjoyed company & conversation over breakfast and in the evening when most guests sat in the lounge chatting. It was a great way to meet people to trek or travel with.

The staff were helpful & friendly, the breakfast freshly prepared and substantial. Mrs Norbu was available at any time to talk through any problems regarding the Hotel & did everything possible to assist.

The only real problem (which the owners can't be responsible for) is the incessant problem with street dogs barking literally all night. Also the Jeep Taxi rank is right below the hotel so around 4am when the Jeeps start taking passengers to Tiger Hill it gets quite noisy, but you do get used to it after a night or two. The Hotel doesn't take credit or debit cards so if you stay (like I did) for nearly 2 weeks you need to take care to get enough cash out in advance.

I had a really nice time there, I was warm, safe & happy. A great place for anyone travelling alone who enjoys company in the evening.

Room Tip: Room 105 has a fantastic view, but does suffer from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Everything about this hotel was good. Location, atmosphere, rooms, lounge, and food. And help from staff, and just a good place to connect with other travelers. There was some noise from fireworks but it was Diwali. Namaste

Room Tip: The room to the right of the reception is below the dining room, and as chairs are moved around upst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed three nights at Dekeling Hotel in November and must say that this is a very well ran cosy little accomodation right smack in the heart of town.

The first sight that greeted me upon stepping into my room A4 was the incredible window view. I was blessed with perfect clear weather throughout my stay and you can say the view from my window during sunset was out of this world! The peaks of Kangchenjunga were smothered in a soft pink glow during sunset and just this view alone was worth the long rides and flights getting to Darjeeling.

The hotel is of the budget type, hence you can't be expecting the usual amenities associated with modern hotel chains. Nights can get pretty cold, and there wasn't a heater in the room. However, to alleiviate the discomfort of long chilling nights, Vikram from the front desk helped to get me a hot water bag, which was a nice gesture and made the cold much more bearable.

Great location (10mins walk to huge supermarket) and super nice family running the place made my stay very pleasant indeed. Plus the oft-mentioned many steps to the reception could leave you breathless, and might be physically challenging/impossible for some, but hey look on the bright side of things, regular slope and step climbing is what keeps most people in Darjeeling very much in shape compared to those in mega cities like Delhi or Mumbai!

Room Tip: Room A4, with two single beds is at the top floor corner, has a million-dollar view of Kanchenjunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandervox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Charming ski-lodge or guest house atmosphere with shared lounge (83 steps from street) having the spectacular view of the Himalayas.
Some things a bit 'Basil Fawlty' (meaning well but not getting results) but staff are very gracious and helpful.
Beautiful breakfast of unlimited Darjeeling tea, toast, lovely omelettes and more for Rp200.
Hot water bottles filled for you each night.
Now the Basil parts:
- When booking ask for "best view" not "best room". I think Rm105 probably has best view of all. We got Rm205 which was the large "Honeymoon Suite" but had no view, smelt dank and bathroom fixtures were faulty. They changed us the next night to A3 which has great views through it's gable windows.

- WiFi worked a bit intermittently and so slowly that only text emails could get through.
- no fly wire on windows so careful not to have them open and a light on at night.
- no fridge, no AC or heating, no self serve tea/coffee
- take earplugs for the constant traffic noise and dog fights (all over Darjeeling)
- No information about Darjeeling activities or attractions in rooms or reception. Rely on tripadvisor if you can get WiFi
- Leave key at reception or room won't be cleaned
- Power on some circuits goes off intermittently.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank melbournian1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review, appreciating your stay with us.
It was indeed pleasure having two of you with us. Thank you for bringing to our notice your problem with Wi-Fi, fly wires, fridge, A/C, non information on tourist activities and power supply on some circuits.
We will seriously address all these issues and take positive action. All of us would like to once again thank you for your kind review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would all like to wish you many pleasant holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The family who runs this hotel is absolutely lovely! They are warm and welcoming and very helpful and accommodating!
The actual hotel itself is not great. The location is good but there are a million stairs that you have to climb. We are in our early 30's and in relatively good shape and found this tiring. I can't imagine older travellers hiking up and down these stairs multiple times a day.
We had a room at the front of the hotel facing down on the street. We had a beautiful view of Mount Kangchenjunga from our window and were lucky enough to be there when the skies were crystal clear! However at night there was a pack of wild dogs that were constantly barking on the street below. We didn't get one full night of sleep while we were there.
The room was ok, a little worn and could use some updating. The bathroom was very clean and very cold. It took some getting used to as the shower is open and the entire bathroom floor becomes the shower floor.
You can pay for the breakfast at the hotel but it was over-priced for what it was so we only did that one day. There is a fantastic breakfast at Sonam's Kitchen which is a short walk away and costs less.
Overall the Dekeling is ok but I would personally pay more and upgrade to the Elgin next time. This place is fine for something more budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
First of all, we would all like to thank you for staying with us. It is indeed kind of you to take time to post your review and appreciate our services. Our is a mid range, budget category hotel. I understand from your review that you are accustomed to staying at high end star category hotel. We are very sorry our mid range category hotel standard did not appeal to you.

Besides the Darjeeling dog menace (problem all over Darjeeling) upset your sleep, we are very sorry for that. We have approached our local authorities to assist us with combating this grave problem.
Darjeeling being a Hill Station, directly or indirectly one is subjected to problem of climbing steps, but not million steps for sure. We do agree that there are around eightyish easy well balanced steps and once you are up, the amazing surrounding view is worth the climb, the magnificent view which even several star hotels lack.
Wishing you many pleasant holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I am travelling a lot and am not usually unnecessarily picky, but this is not a good place to stay. It may have been the room right behind reception (noise all night), but the shabby carpets, stains on bed and towels, as well as ants and cockroaches in the room certainly did not help...
There was no heating in the room, instead there were heaters for RENT. It should be noted that it was only just abve freezing outside when we were there. Breakfast was extremely basic and ill presented. The staff was friendly but that couldn't save our experience. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowfence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking time to post your review.
We are all shocked beyond words to read your comments. We have been nurturing our passionate family venture for the last 25 years. Most of our guests have appreciated their stay and we have many guests who visit us regularly every year. My family and my staff members continuously strive to maintain the hygiene, cleanliness and service of our hotel rooms. Routinely we check the linens, bath towel and make sure all the room is cleaned well. We are shocked to hear about the comment of ants & cockroaches which does not exist in our hotel rooms. Our house keeping staff regularly vacuums cleans the carpet thoroughly. We are sorry that you visited Darjeeling during the cold winter season when whole region is very cold. We provide ample quilts and blankets and hot water bottle to comfort our guest. Those guest wanting extra heating are provided heater in the rooms on separate charge (As we have to use commercial electricity line, our electricity rate charged to us is double higher than normal rate). Our new wing rooms are fitted with eco heating panels which provide good heat & are eco friendly. All of us would like to apologize for all the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. We hope to ensure you a very pleasant stay if you intend to visit the Himalayas again. We would all like to thank you for staying with us and wish you many joyous holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 98 in Darjeeling
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Property: Dekeling Hotel
Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing