We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent Hotel. Excellent Location (near to taxi stand, Shopping & Restaurant)
The hotel washrooms very well maintained.
The rate is also reasonably good.
The owner herself came to say goodbye to us.

Room Tip: Take a room mountain Facing 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soudiptaadhikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently had visited Darjeeling on 21st May'14 and had our stay reserved at Dekeing Hotel, which is well situated on the mall road. The location is centeral and has an access to Chowrasta and mahakaal market. Even some of the sight seeing points are very close from this hotel location.
The room(101) given to us had an awesome view of the sunrise and sun set and they have a very cordial staff. The manager Mr Vikram was very cooperative and supporting.
Upon reaching Siliguri itself had made a call and informed Mr Norbu ( The Owner ) and updated that we would be reaching in next three hours and the room was arranged for us before we reached the hotel and we didnt even had to wait for a single minute at the reception.
The best thing of staying in the Hotel was the excellent view from the room, The hospitality and warm welcome with personal attention.
Mrs and Mr Norbu have a very well maintained property with a personal touch and make every guest feel at home.
The morning tea served in the hotel was excellent and tasted so well that i got forced to ask about the details of the tea served and Mrs Norbu was so kind to hand over a small pack of the famous darjeeling tea as a nice memory and a gesture.
They have a nice lobby on the top floor with great view where you can enjoy reading your favourite book from their collection, web surfing ( free wifii) , enjoy the excellent cup of tea and relax.
Highly recommend this property for having a great stay. The only thing is the stairs you have to climb, But its worth it!!
The Taxi stand is just below the Hotel entrance so no worry for arranging the Taxi for any sight seeing .
Hotel serves very good traditional food of Darjeeling and also their's a veg/south indian restuarant on the lower floor, which serves good food.
Once again Thanking Mrs & Mr Norbu for making our stay wonderful and enjoyable with lots of memories to cherish.
Hope to visit Darjeelng again soon........ :)

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have an awesome view! and the rooms in the back wing are bit spacious with wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mani_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Darjeeling - one place where every one would wish to visit once-in-a-lifetime. The staff's coordination right from booking of room to check out is good and cordial. The owner Mrs Sanghi particularly sees to it that she meets the guests personally and she is too humble. I repeat too humble.She stays on the top floor . I was amazed to see the vision in her in the sense that - she also has cottages for bachelors / spinsters - so that they do not feel embarassed when they see people in hordes. The hotel has some good restaurants and i would say service is quiet good.Only thing is they should try to offer room service too .The place is very centrally located and at a walking distance from so many shopping options and eateries.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are good. But be very sure while choosing a room that the one which has wooden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashish d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Yes..this is a good located hotel. Properly maintained room and washroom too.
A budget hotel and service you will receive is as per price paid. But beware that below this hotel there is another hotel at the ground floor to second hotel of whose price is higher and tourist often misunderstand.

The management must change the plaster of the rooms which is old. Except that everything is good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumit777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our experience at this hotel has been below expectation. We booked room at this hotel and approached the reception of this hotel, but realized that they have given room in a hotel with some other name though in the same building. Given the cost, the room quality was not great. The room and bathroom size was quite small. The hotel service staff was courteous. However, not even a single bottle of mineral water was given free. As the room window opened on the road, there was continuous disturbance also. The hotel can be termed to be good as it was near the market.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohitkr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed with a friend at the Dekeling after having assessed hotels in Darjeeling over several weeks. This hotel is excellent value with nice rooms, fantastic view of the mountains from our room, friendly staff who were also helpful when my friend was ill. Lovely cosy communal area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Dekeling Hotel is a lovely place to stay in Darjeeling. The decor is beautiful with homely wood panelling everywhere. The views out to the front are majestic. There is a lovely common room for hanging out and reading or chatting. There are also several book cases filled with books in various languages which guests are welcome to borrow. WiFi is also available. The manager (proprietor?) Ms. Sangi went out of her way to change our rooms when we requested it (the front room was a little noisy in the morning due to taxis departing for Tiger Hill) and really took good care of us when one of us was sick, even offering to make some comfort food especially for us. Her hospitality was exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#9 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £25 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing