We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and great management”
Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had booked one Super Deluxe room for my family during June. I was a little nervous since I had booked the room via email and was sending my aged parents alone for the first time. I had told them to inform me about the rooms immedietly once they reach the hotel.
The next day I got a call from them that the room is wonderful and they are already liking the hospitality and services of the staff. The owners, Mr. and Mrs. Dekeva personally takes care of their guests comfort. My parents felt like home during their 5 day stay at the hotel and now want to stay in that hotel whenever we visit Darjeeling. Food is excellent. In one word, its a great place to stay with a friendly staff ready to serve you and a homely atmosphere maintained by the owners. I really thank Mr. and Mrs. Dekeva for making my parent's holiday memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kunal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here and loved it. This is a lovely, quaint hotel built up a hill and has many levels with comfortable lounges on each level. The views of Darjeeling and the mountains are fantastic. The staff is wonderful as is the owner, warm and welcoming. They sincerely want to serve and their guests to enjoy their experience. Breakfast was very nice as they would make just what you wanted. Also, the kitchen was kind to boil some eggs for us that we had bought. Can't beat the location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location is excellent. The Frank Ross, Keventers, Gleneries restaurants are about a 60-second (or less) walk away. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The hospitality is warm and comes with smiles included (quite rare these days). I cannot fault this hotel. There is small restaurant on the ground floor called Devekas. I think theirs' is the Darjeeling's best Tibetan food including Momos and Thenthugs (hand-pulled flat noodle-square soups).
The owner is a humble, friendly gentlemen was was kind and thoughtful enough to call us early in the morning when the Kanchenjunga peak was visible (most times it is covered by clouds). Se we went to the lounge upstairs and stared at the world's 3rd tallest mountain peak while sipping coffee. A privilege that 99% of people on earth can never experience.
The reception was prompt in arranging if ever a taxi was needed for airport transfers or sight-seeing. Mr. Norbu personally came to meet us just before we departed which I thought was a heart-warming gesture of his commitment towards running a great property in which his guests are comfortable and happy.
I can recommend Dekeling Hotel strongly. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank authenticreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A lovely hotel in a great location. A welcome cup of tea on arrival was the perfect start to our trip (and most needed after a long, bumpy jeep ride!). Clean and spacious room? Very pleasant and helpful staff. Quick wifi connection in communal areas. Super fast laundry service too :) I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SimonejadeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel was great! The staff are amazing and very friendly. When the sky is clear, the view is amazing. The hotel and rooms were very clean! The area is beautiful and peaceful, a great destination! The area is more tourist in nature but it was a Tibetan and Nepali influence that is magical. The area is very peaceful and a great destination to travel to for anyone looking for a peaceful trip in the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I am at the end of a world trip and have stayed in several hotels, hostels and air bnbs. I have got to say that Dekeing is my favourite hotel in the world. The staff are amazing , they have warmth and compassion, the hotel is beautiful and has Tibetan surroundings, it is peaceful yet attracts many travellers, so there is plenty of conversation at breakfast. For a female lone traveller, Dekeling offered me a safe place to stay and I would recommend it to anybody

Room Tip: I stayed in several rooms as I travelled in and out if Sikkim. The budget rooms are great, you may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sooxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have stayed at the hotel from June 9, 2014 to June 12,2014.
It was a great hotel with good and friendly people managing.
Rooms are clean, comfortable.

Definitely value for money.

I would recommend this hotel for any persons.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Madhu Sudan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 100 in Darjeeling
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 100 in Darjeeling
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 100 in Darjeeling
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £29 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing