We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel in Lap of Mountain……”
Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayfair Darjeeling
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Mayfair Darjeeling is situated at Mall road which is a beautiful place at the top of the hill. We have a traditional warm welcome on arrival at hotel with a cup of Darjeeling Tea. You may have a wonderful view of sunset from the hotel, which is amazing and unforgettable. The whole hotel is full of greenery, colorful flowers and sculptures. Room was very comfortable and specious with a different interior. Staff is very cooperative and service is excellent. The quality of food was excellent. This is a fantastic hotel and your trip will be incomplete if you have not visited to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin_Saraswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

For a place like Darjeeling, one thinks this to be really overpriced. But once in the premises, you feel justified and not cheated. Beautifully maintained heritage property. Very good food.
The only drawback is with the front desk reception and the people handling it. They are never ready to help you with anything - be it an information on paragliding nearby, or any info about the ongoing movie in the nearby mall or requiring any medicine.. they are not willing to give any info and simply shrugg off..Not expected from a property like Mayfair. Management needs to definitely look into it. For a few people on the front desk, the services are going down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sujata752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Beautiful and well kept property. Staff is very co-operating and polite. Food spread is good but taste wise it is very average. Breakfast buffet is better. The resort is hardly 5-10 mins walking from the hotel but still very much is the lap of nature.Overall experience is very good. This place is worth eery penny spent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We loved Mayfair at darjeeling. It did feel slightly overpriced at first, but we were happy with the end result. We reached this place with just a recommendation and no previous booking, something we had never done before, but we were treated very nicely.. and since it was an off peak season, they even negotiated the prices with us and gave us really good rooms :)

The dinner and breakfast was included.. and there was a whole plethora of activities that we could do .. pool table, chess, carrom board.. everything was available and maintained.. and the service was spectacular. It feels like a palace and the decor is so colorful, it takes all your tiredness away. Since it was around christmas, there were beautiful decorations everywhere. I would totally recommend this place for anyone visiting darjeeling.

Room Tip: Go for higher level rooms for the beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManyataGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Its one of the best maintained property we ever stayed in India. The rooms are very spacious with lot of comfort and well decorated furniture. Food was awesome and the spread was vast.

Location advantage : Very close to Chowrasta and other markets, but no view from the rooms.
No internet when we stayed as the service was down. But chargeable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been in hundreds of hotels in my country and abroad during my tours. But never found a single one with zero error, may it be reception - room service - housekeeping-food- billing etc etc. Mayfair Darjeeling is the only hotel, where I could not find any flaws from check-in to check-out.
The resort is well spread with open areas, gardens, children play area. But lack of parking spaces.
Everyone is ready to serve with a smile. Fantastic food. Excellent variations of delicacies.
The resort managers Mr Sudhir and Mr Sabyasachi were always alert to look after the guests with humble attitude.They know how to treat guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AshisRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went for a weekend break with the family. The main house is incredibly beautiful. Service was excellent in the restaurant especially. We were made to feel very special. Views from the top of the hotel are amazing and only a short walk to the observation point too.

Our only issue was the cottage we stayed in was VERY cold, even with hot water bottle and a fire.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psychtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 100 in Darjeeling
558 reviews
1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 100 in Darjeeling
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 100 in Darjeeling
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.7 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 100 in Darjeeling
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#10 of 100 in Darjeeling
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Address: | Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £89 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing