We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We had only two nights stay at the hotel. The hotel ambience is very good. Food is excellent with many options to cater to. The hotel staff is very cordial. The rooms are well furnished and equipped with all the necessary luxuries.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shree1672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to have served you. Do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    127
    68
    25
    29
See reviews for
172
75
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hotel is centrally located, and has a very close proximity to the main bazaar of the town. Those who wish to spend time at the Darjeeling Mall, The Bazaars and the other heritage sites, this hotel is for you. Those visiting Darjeeling by personal vehicles, watch out, as there is almost no dedicated space to park your car in the hotel premises, and you might have to leave the car on the main road, which might prove risky. The hotel has nice rooms, particularly on the reception floor, which offer you a view of the mighty Kanchejunga (if the weather works out in your favour). The food is acceptable, as the restaurant lacks the variation is cuisines and tastes. Rooms are decent enough, with good room service facilities. It's good, but not the best.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Reception Floor (which is the floor from which you enter the hotel), as they of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CompulsionToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As far as parking on the road is concerned, we have 24 hours security guards and so the guests' vehicles are quite safe. We haven't faced any nuisance so far. We will work towards adding more variety to the food menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The location of this hotel is a big plus - right next to the Mall road, the famous shopping area. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Service was good. Only grouse I had was - there no attractive view from the room (it had large windows).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saumitra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are happy that you liked the rooms. Since the hotel is in the heart of the city,some new constructions have come up near the hotel, blocking the view from some of the rooms.Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I didn't find anything special in this hotel. It's doesn't matches the name Fortune. It wasn't worth spending too much money. No value for money. it's an old property but nothing heritage about it. Also i would mention that bathroom was small and property had few crack in wooden floor. Though it's located in mid of city so don't expect great mountain views. Staff is helpful and breakfast is good. But i'm sure you would expect more if you pay more.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NaveenSiLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
It has been a year since you last stayed with us. We have worked on various aspects since then, which is visible in the recent feedback from guests. I am sure we will be able to serve you better on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is old hotel, established 19.5.
The room is very big for 2 and also all wood.
The staff is friendly although not all have good english.
They also have wi-fi in the reception area.
The location of the hotel also good, not too far from the crowd.
The breakfast is standard, nothing special and nothing bad, and when I stayed there, they gave free dinner.
Only one thing that I didnt like is they turn off the light on the corridor after midnight until morning.
Oberall, this is a nice hotel but old hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agung I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you. Hope you had a nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The hotel has the date 1905 over the door and was clearly built in a time when big rooms were the norm and an army of servants were available to keep stoking the fire in every room. Not the case in 2013 so the rooms were cool but ours was kept comfortable by an electric fire. We found the staff helpful, the laundry prompt, the breakfast good and had a very comfortable stay,
Still haven't worked out how the corridor leading to the rooms was always colder than outside - ye canna change the laws of Physics but this seemed to

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuthbert-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write in detail. It is indeed a challenge to maintain and keep such big rooms warm. But I hope it added the heritage and old world charm to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I have stayed in club room for 4 days with family in march 2013.overall stay was excellent.location perfect. room too big and clean.service good.staff polite and helpful.ready to do anything for you.I would definitely recomend to my friends.and will return whenever in darjeeling.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanika_mhs, Owner at Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.7 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Yashshree Suites and Spa
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling

Property: Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Address: Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling)
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Heritage (formerly Fortune Resort Central) is a luxury holiday resort in Darjeeling, offering an experience of British heritage which has been a part of Darjeeling for more than a hundred years. The luxurious hotel is located near ‘the Mall’ and ‘Chowrasta’, the most famous spots and centre of all leisure activities of this beautiful hill station. The heritage block of this classic hotel was built in 1905 and offers elegantly appointed rooms with all the modern amenities. Experience the lavish 'British Raj' lifestyle as you take time off to relax and unwind yourself amidst breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Fortune Hotel Central Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing