We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place - though there is room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good place - though there is room for improvement”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had a nice overall stay - however a few things - the place needs some maintenance. The staff, though polite and courteous, needs to be proactive. A few improvements required in the restaurant. The closing hours need to be extended. A lot of items on the menu are not available. They need to be better stocked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLGOENKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Sinclairs Darjeeling. Our prime focus is to provide efficient, warm and friendly service to all our guests and your mention about this is very encouraging and a great pride for the entire team. Thank you for acknowledging them. I have shared your comment with the entire team and they are equally happy to hear that you had a wonderful break with us.

We have noted your disappointment with regards to the closing hours of the restaurant. Even though we have strict hours, we sometimes extend these for the convenience of our guests, on special request. Sorry for the inconvenience regarding the unavailability of items in the food menu. We shall make sure these do not happen again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you to Sinclairs Darjeeling once again.

Warms regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    151
    56
    19
    17
See reviews for
157
92
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had been pre-booked into Sinclairs Darjeeling by the travel company that arranged much of my India trip, Immediately when I arrived, I had serious doubts. The entire place looked very run-down. And I found it extremely odd that they gave me a handwritten "form" on which to enter registration information. It didn't seem very professional.

On the way to the room, I observed mattresses stacked against the wall in the hall and garbage on the floor. The halls looked like a university dorm. The room was shabby, the walls were dirty, and there was grime on the bathroom door. The bed was rumpled.
I have stayed in many hotels in India. Some have been outstanding and some have been very average. This is the one and only time that I have felt that I could NOT stay at a place that had been booked for me. I called my travel agentwho wasted no time in moving me to another hotel.

Maybe I'm not being fair - I was only there for half an hour and these are only my impressions. I see that other reviewers are more positive. But this is what I saw and experienced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Our guests are our topmost priority and we strive to ensure that every guest has a very enjoyable time at the hotel.

I was concerned reading your comments about the lack of cleanliness in your room. This is certainly not indicative to the high standard we are aiming to provide for our guests and please rest assured that I have passed on your feedback to the Housekeeping Manger to avoid similar related issues in the future. We are grateful receiving guest feedback and I also shared the maintenance issues with our team and we are currently looking into improvement opportunities addressing the areas concerned.

Our rooms are being renovated and we shall be ready to welcome our guests with a whole new experience this season.

Once again, I am truly sorry for any shortcomings you have experienced and I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from choosing Sinclairs Darjeeling for your next visit to Darjeeling. Please feel free to make your reservation directly through me and I will be pleased to assist you.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Really a good place to stay in Darjeeling.Beautiful Lobby with fire place and great view of Darjeeling and the surrounding areas.Staff are very helpful and well mannered.Food excellent and restaurant is also clean and well decorated.Rooms are clean and well maintained.If awake early in morning you can have the view of mighty Kanchenjunga from your room and for better view just walk to balcony in each floors.I really love this place.

Room Tip: Prefer front facing and second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Sinclairs as your preferred accommodation in Darjeeling as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Sinclairs.

At Sinclairs, our goal is to offer personalised, welcoming and graceful service, so you feel like it's a home away from home. Certainly, location meaning the beautiful views of Mount Kanchenjunga and close proximity to the town centre and other sightseeing highlights of Darjeeling is very important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. Therefore, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed and were wowed by our helpful and well mannered staff and personalised service.

Thank you very much for your comments which always help us to improve our service and facilities.

Should you return to Darjeeling we would love to welcoming you again to Sinclairs. Please follow us on Twitter and Facebook to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Warm regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Absolutely not recommended for the elderly / ppl with joint & back aches / ppl who do not like walking (a lot).


The approach road (trek) to the hotel is a steep & broken path which is all the more difficult to climb if it’s wet. The location though not very good, is just nice. Try and take rooms beside the balcony of the hotel.

The only UPS – awesom’est’ view from the balcony when the clouds are entering the room (no exaggeration)!!! If u r lucky, u may get to see a glimpse of Kanchendzonga.

The common areas of the hotel like lobby, staircase, etc. are mostly dirty. Rooms are cleaned only when reminded. Towels, toiletries are also provided only when called for a re-fill. Inadequately staffed housekeeping dept with an acute lack of training, given the brand name of Sinclairs!     

Good food but very slow service and limited choices in vegetarian dishes. The nearby eat outs make up for this pretty well. Do indulge in the locally available food items especially tea, momo & bhutta.

Arranging a conveyance form the hotel desk is an expensive affair.

I definitely expected much more from the brand Sinclair..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShwetAditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It was truly disappointing to read the impressions you had following your stay with us.

Please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. I sincerely apologise for the maintenance and housekeeping problems that cropped up during your stay with us. We will take corrective action to improve upon this. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

With respect to the approach road, it is a public road and maintained by the Darjeeling Municipality.

While I thank u for pointing out our failings, I am really sorry that you were unhappy enough to review us negatively. We hope you give us a chance in the future to provide you with a hassle-free experience.

Best Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I'll get straight to the point if you have old people with you or you are not very fit please read this review before making up your mind, to get to the reception of the hotel you will have to walk up a very steep slope (broken road) and considerable number of stairs

But if you are young and are not afraid of some warm up before you reach the hotel wet (it is raining all the time ) Inside the hotel other than lack of cleanliness you will find your stay to be satisfactory for the money you paid (there is an activity room with tt table ,a pool table ,etc )
Also the staff of the hotel is commendable

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehalfbldprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Really sorry to read about your experience at Sinclairs Darjeeling especially with regard to the cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel. We at Sinclairs take extreme care to create the best experience for our guests.

With regards to the approach road, this is not owned by us and is a part of the Darjeeling Municipality. It is not a private road. We do hope that this drawback to our hotel will be rectified very soon. Really saddened by the fact that the inconvenience over this has changed your sentiments about your entire visit.

Hope in retrospect, you will remember the fine moments of your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling once again, with a hassle free experience.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I should thanks to the hotel manager & associated staff of the hotel for made my trip so beautiful. Always recommend this hotel for best to stay. Location wise little walk from the Darjeeling mall. Rooms are specious and well decorated. Fully furnished with wood. Hot water is always available.
Foods are nice with good variety. You can consider this hotel is one of the best to stay.

All together nice place to stay with family or spend your honeymoon.

Room Tip: Stay upper rooms will good for watching Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akashbristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are indeed happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for appreciating the food quality and service. Such reviews can only motivate us to try even harder to achieve customer delight.

We are blessed to be conveniently located near the mall and town centre, and our hotel offers a magnificent view of the Himalayas. Our USP is indeed our location.

Please recommend us to your friends and family and keep updated with our promotions on Facebook and Twitter.

Kind Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

One must avoid booking any room here .The place is worse than a railway retiring room or a dharamshala. Wastage of money...,location is on a dirty steep lane with stinking drains . Completely unhygenic. Rooms are never cleaned and have dirty floor and linens. Outdated old broken furniture. They charts 5000 Rs per day. Not worth 500 also. Beware of false photo on their website.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kamlakar259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It was truly disappointing to read the impressions you had following your stay with us.

Please accept our sincerely apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We have taken into consideration all the different aspects you mentioned and rest assured that they are being appropriately handled.

With regards to your complaint about the photos on the website, they aren't false and show the actual views of our hotel. Also, the approach road to the hotel is not maintained by us, but by the Darjeeling municipality.

The housekeeping staff have been reprimanded and we are taking appropriate measures to provide additional training to our employees.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling with a hassle-free experience.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.4 mi away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Property: Sinclairs Darjeeling
Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing