We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel with a character...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 7 March 2014

hi,
we(me and my husband) stayed in sinclairs for 4 days..in feb 2013..and i would highly recomend this hotel for people who wish to travel darj as well as enjoy the hotel itself...i loved the excellent decor..the breakfast..service..view from premium room were we stayed..only i would say i was not very happy with the heating...would have prefered a centalised heating than a small room heater as we travelled in winter...otherwise it was quite a pleasant stay..Darj shuts down by 8pm..so hotel ammenities like billiards table..carrom and other indoor sports room..and many other facilities really helped us having a gala time...a little climb true to reach the hotel but close to mall 5 mins walking distance...overall had a very good time..

Room Tip: premium ones are good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi_Jeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to share your recent experiences at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed both the product and the services that we offer.

Our goal is to create memorable experiences for all our guests and I am proud to see that we have succeeded here.

We have noted your comments regarding central heating, but due to voltage issues, we only use portable heaters.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions and we hope you will have many more unforgettable stays at Sinclairs Darjeeling in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Sinclairs is a place you would like to get lazy.You will have all sorts of entertainment-ranging from billiards to music(depending on the season).The food served would be just sumptuous...you will have no complaints.Consisting various dishes,your meal will be delightful.
Making your eyes dance by gifting you a grand view of the Kanchenjunga, the rooms decor will be more or less suitable to your taste.The floors were woooden and the bathrooms tidy. The games room,the billiards pool,the lounge and the gym will be enough to keep you busy during your stay...even if you are not travelling to any tourist spot.The hotel is very good but it has only one negative point-it's location.The road leading to the gate of Sinclairs is very steep.Hence you'll have to work hard to get lazy for a few days!

Room Tip: You may/may not have a problem with the room heater. It was a mistake,as said by the staff,that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishi_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out to leave such encouraging feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff works very hard to make each stay special and I am glad to see we were successful reaching that goal for you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at our hotel, your kind words about the food, facilities and the location are much appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with the team.

With respect to the approach road, this is not maintained by the hotel, but by the Darjeeling municipality. We have already put in a complaint regarding this and we hope that this will be rectified soon.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling in the future.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Hotel is good and provide excellent view of Kanchenjungha. Rooms are good with wooden flooring and cooperative staff. The hotel is not far from the main market but approach road is really bad and steep. Food is good. Overall its a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARSK2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate a lot your comments and it’s pleasant for us to know these details. We would like to inform you that we are working to further improve the quality every day in our hotel.

For your information, the approach road to our hotel is not maintained by us but by the Darjeeling municipality. We present our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by this situation.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience. We remain at your disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Sinclairs is a bit pricey for what you get; however, it was a fair overall experience. The staff are hit and miss, some highly hospitable and some relatively surly. The rooms are spacious yet dated. The hot water is excellent and given the temp. in Dec. this was a blessing. The room service is great and the food is quite decent, although the complimentary breakfast is just fair in flavor and ample in options. The views, when the Himalayas actually peak out of the smog/fog our absolutely amazing. Internet was and issue, you pay for it, and we had constant issues connecting.

Room Tip: I would advise trying to book a room with a view of the Himalaya, although this is by no means a gua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montash32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It is pleasing to know that you were happily satisfied with few aspects of our hotel namely room service, food, and the views of the Himalayas. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide our valued guest a memorable experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Darjeeling with our signature grace, warmth and care.

Kind regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Wow! It was amazing experience to visit Sinclairs.......Food was yum...n nice ambiance...Sinclairs add romance n nice memories to my honeymoon trip....n nice view from balcony... Excellent wooden work....
Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. It gives me immense pleasure to note that you liked our hotel and services, and you and your wife had a memorable time.

It’s exciting to receive such motivating comments from you as we take pride in delivering best services and food. Your post has been shared with our team.

We hope to welcome you back once again. Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Visited Darjeeling in October ’08, and from the moment I stepped into the room, I was sure that I had made the right choice. The room had all wooden ceiling and flooring (even the passageways), the bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom, although a bit cramped, was adequate. The view from the room itself wasn’t that great, but each floor (the hotel has 3 in all) has it;s own viewing gallery which is basically a big balcony at the end of the passageway. Let me tell you, the view form that balcony is to die for. You can see a major part of Darjeeling city and jaw dropping view of the majestic Mt. Kanchenjunga from the comfort of your hotel. You can just stare at this view for hours without tiring.

The service at the hotel was fantastic; very quick, efficient, and the entire hotel staff was always smiling. Even the staff at 5 or 7 stars hotels don’t smile at you all the time...! The bed and bath linen was clean and changed everyday and all the basic amenities were provided (soaps, shampoos, shower caps, etc.)

The food was ok, nothing to write home about. They try hard to be creative but you wind up having the regular fare of Indian dishes. At least it’s not repulsive.

Prior booking is required, and if you are planning to travel between September and March, it’s best if you book early as this is considered as high season. You can get all their contact info on their website:
http://www.sinclairshotels.com/darjeeling/index.php3

I had traveled alone, but the hotel is just as great for Families and large groups of friends. The hotel can organize site seeing trips for you as per you request and convenience. Trips from/to the Airport/Railway St. can be arranged.

I only had just one gripe from the hotel; they have no internet services. Although there is an internet cafe very near to the hotel, it would have been nicer to have it within the hotel itself.

One other thing, the road leading to the hotel is a steep climb, so if you are planning to traverse it on foot, you better be prepared for the exercise :-)

All in all, a great hotel to stay in, with excellent staff / service, comfortable rooms & fabulous views; and you will not have to break the bank in order to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tejender G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sinclairs Darjeeling. We are happy to note that you had a memorable and hassle free stay. We are glad to know that you were satisfied by our services. Our team goes that extra mile to provide utmost comfort to the guest and this wonderful review is very encouraging.

Hope you would continue visiting us in the future. Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated about our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had three nights stay at The Sinclairs, Darjeeling during the period 15th-18th Oct'13. Hotel is good with excellent view of Kanchenjungha from the balcony of 2nd & 3rd floor, provided morning sky is clear. We were fortunate in that regard. Its a better option to stay here and see Kanchenjungha with a sip of Darjeeling tea early in the morning than to visit Tiger Hill, which is totally a gamble. After putting in lot of effort to reach Tiger Hill, one can get frustrated of not able to see anything if the morning sky is foggy / not clear. Ambience of the hotel is good, staffs are co-ordial, helpful, Restaurant is good & food is excellent. The only problem is the steep ramp before reaching the hotel & the one way road in front of it due to which local cars are reluctant to drop at the hotel once the sight seeing is over. Get your negotiations done before finalizing / boarding the car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANJISHNU68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Darjeeling, General Manager at Sinclairs Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are indeed happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for appreciating the food quality and service. Such reviews can only motivate us to try even harder to achieve customer delight.

We are blessed to be conveniently located near the mall and town centre, and our hotel offers a magnificent view of the Himalayas. Our USP is indeed our location.

Please recommend us to your friends and family and keep updated with our promotions on Facebook and Twitter.

With respect to the approach road, this is maintained by the Darjeeling Municipality and we have already put in a complaint regarding this.

Kind Regards,

Mauktik Chakraborty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.5 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
550 reviews
2.0 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 97 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 97 in Darjeeling
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Darjeeling

Address: 18 / 1, Gandhi Road,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: £48 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tryst with the Himalayas, the one place of its kind is Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling. The strategically located Sinclairs offers an inspiring view of Kanchendzonga on a clear day. Memories of that will never leave you. A few minutes pleasant walk from the town square Chowrasta, the hotel invokes the charm of an old country house. If the Himalayas are the piece de resistance of Darjeeling’s legendary charm, the hill station is full of magical beauties. Experience it all by being a guest at Hotel Sinclairs Darjeeling.A throwback to the Raj-era, the hotel exudes Victorian charm. Carved fireplaces, antique furniture, chandeliers and traditional artifacts will transpose you to a time you have always wanted to experience. Cozy atmosphere and warm hospitality will have you relaxed and fulfilled. You will enjoy the pampering by our friendly hosts and the “home away from home” feeling will ensure that you are comfortable throughout your stay at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sinclairs Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing