We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm hospitality”
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“warm hospitality”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

As soon we entered in the hotel there was too much rush(due to few groups arrived at the same time). but the management staff managed us well we were transported to our room despite of too much rush. As we entered in the room it was evening time we were able to the beautiful skyline over the city of darjeeling. the hotel room was giving us the awesome feeling of being in darjeeling due to its nice scenic view. As the sun was going down we went downstairs and had good time at the shoppe in the hotel itself.
I should admit that it was one the best place where we had dinner with very warm hospitality with some extra nice waiters. One should enjoy the dining there in pure lighting environment.
next day our visit to tiger hill was scheduled they called me sharply at 4:30 am in the morning (as i have asked for the wake-up call) here, i really appreciate their promptness.
I must admit that we had awsome time there very very sweet memories which we carried from there.
see you soon.........missin' seven seveteen days............

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VISTA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    161
    42
    24
    21
See reviews for
138
105
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and were overwelmed by the warmth and hospitallty of the owners and staff. The room was a bit cold but we were provided with hot water bottles.The restaurant was very good with a wide range of dishes, although they allowed smoking, alcohol was served. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnSueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

At the instant from your entry to this wonderfully created hotel , you would feel the peace , warmth and relaxation owing to the Tibetan cultural and architectural essence and the sweet , open & warm people running it. Awesome experience!!.. Will come back again soon!! For me the hotel has remained a greater attraction than Darjeeling!! - Dr. Tushar Jain

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.. as you go higher the balcony view becomes better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tusharjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
We from Seven Seventeen family are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Your comments will boost our moral to serve all our guests in a much better way as always.

Tashi Delek and hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you all soon.

Jigme Dorjee & Family
& all Staff Members of
Seven Seventeen Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is one hotel I would like to check in every time I visit Darjeeling. Location, Rooms, Facilites, Room Service, Food, Hygiene, Staff behavior is just Bulls eye. Stayed for 3N/4D.

Snow clad Kanchenjunga very much visible from the Hotel Room itself. Very close to the Taxi Stand as well as The Mall...

Great heavenly experience. Me and my wife just loved i!!!!

Thumbs UP!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing North West allows to have a view of City + Kanchanjunga Peak
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saubhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We arrived just before midnight and were immediately shown to our room, which was 5 floors up (no lift) and told not to worry about checking in until the morning. Woke in the morning to Buddhist chanting from the town below and a magical view of the snow-capped mountains all around. The hotel staff and owners were wonderful and could not have made us more welcome. We were invited upstairs to the owners apartments for Ginger Tea and homemade Tibetan snacks and one of the owners even cooked us a traditional Tibetan dish on our last night there. The hotel is in a good location and Darjeeling itself is a world away from the rest of India. We stayed there in the middle of December and they provided us with a hot water bottle as there is no central heating, which was very kind. Lovely, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the valley give you a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thanks you so much for the kind words, Am Happy to know that you liked our hospitality and hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you soon.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was a lovely hotel, located very centrally in Darjeeling. But the main thing was that the owners were so lovely - really welcoming and looked after us as if we were part of the family. Even lent us their hot water bottles because we were cold and inviting us up to have tea in their apartment. Made us feel very at home! The food was also excellent - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKate434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Sir,

WE thank you for the kind words. It was our privilege to have you stay with us, and am happy for you enjoyed your stay in our humble abode.

Keep in touch

Jigme & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We loved this little hotel. The staff was freindly and helpful and the room we had was great. We highly recommend this place for anyone going to Darjeeling looking for a mid-range hotel.The location was lalso good and lots of peace.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhijitR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.4 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Property: Seven Seventeen
Address: H D Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing