We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

At affordable rates the place is very beautiful to stay and dine. They do not even require pre-booking. On instant booking we found a great staying place. They supply heaters in damn cool winters. There is a beautiful shop with local crafts. The staff was very warm natured and friendly. They helped us getting a good cab for sightseeing. The place has also been visited by many film stars. The photographs of their visits had been put up on the office walls of the hotel. The hotel boasts of great location, ambience and all necessary amenities available. The hotel shop contains winter clothes at affordable rates along with other craft items. Great place to visit. Also the hotel is located in the Lama road which is at the heart of the Darjeeling Bazaar, which is a very good point. All necessary things are very easily available for day to day use. 24 hrs hot water along with bath tub facilities are available at the hotel. As the hotel is located at the market place, the issues of security is not there. Also local vehicles for visiting Tiger hills are available nearby itself, even at 4 am in the morning. Hence I would congratulate the hotel staff for their good work and woul love to visit there again.

Room Tip: Get to the Suite room for best experience....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevathiPankaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

i stayed here in may hotel is nice would like to stay whenever i visit darjeeling staff is very helpful location is ok but only problem is parking space as it is everywhere in darjeeling but need to clean rooms properly price and food is good enough as compared to others nearby hotels

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sagarmathatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I booked a room in this hotel through MakeMyTrip. The rooms shown on their web site differs starkly with their actual rooms. I have posted photographs at http://www.parthicle.blogspot.in
The hotel was so dirty, the carpet must never have been cleaned since the hotel was established; the toilets were so dirty that my children refused to enter it.
We immediately asked for a different room; the hotel refused a change of room.
We called makemytrip, and the call was taken, our complaint recorded with promise to call us back with a solution and then they never did.
Moreover when we booked, we were charged Rs. 5615 for two nights; when the actual tariff at the hotel is Rs.3600 for two nights.
When I made a claim at makemytrip for refund, a gentleman named Saumil Trivedi of MakeMyTrip wrote to me saying that we don't get the refund because the hotel refused to refund!!!
I followed this up with higher officers of makemytrip; finally they agreed to refund Rs.1500, but almost two months late, I am yet to get this refund.
Similarly, I had very bad experience with the restaurant in the hotel.
The service was pathetic. I ordered chicken and rotis; how many rotis do you want? asked the waiter. We ordered two each. When he served, we found the rotis were really tiny.
We called the waiter again and ordered two more rotis each; the waiter retorted "pehle bolna chahiye na?" very rudely.
I said, how am I to know they would be so small? He sulkily left and got us more rotis!
My advise: avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vincesGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to apologise for the rude behavoiur of my staff against which disciplinary action will be taken .

Regarding the rooms we would like to inform you that you stay was in Heritage Seven Seventeen and not Hotel Seven Seventeen as makemytrip had booked .

We could not entertain your request for change in rooms as we did not have any vacant rooms

Had we any we would have definitely entertained your request.

We are so sorry for the inconveneince which you had to face . Your suggestion are always welcome asd a result we have decided to do away with the carpets and also renovate the toliets as well.

Next time you plan to visit Darjeeling please visit us and see the change in amenities and facilites .

inconveneicne is hihgly regretted


regards

for Seven Seventeen Grp of Hotels


Jigme D.Bhutia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We visited this hotel this june. First thing to note was its small distance from shared taxi stand - just some 5 minutes walk (stairs + road). We had spent quite a lot of time wandering through Darjeeling and comparing with other budget options in the area, but most of them were just way too far for a backpack-equipped traveller (15 minutes and more on the steep roads of the city gets you into shape).

First impression we got after we were introduced to our room was clear and loud "WOW". Our room was simply the best we have seen after 2 weeks travelling through India. The view of the city itself was perfect. Even the usual never-ending traffic horn-blowing battles were coming through quieter from a distance, considering the main road was quite nearby. We immediately fell in love with this hotel. We have booked just two nights, but we decided to prolong our booking for 2 days more and it was well worth it, the staff even made a better price offer for us for those extra nights!

Second morning we had we woke up early by the singing of the morning prayer and we could not believe the sight we had over the Himalayas (and the 3rd highest mountain in the world). It was breathtaking experience and with a comfort of having this just few steps out of your bed is amazing.

The restaurant was great and the other morning we've found out we had a complimentary breakfast when we tried to pay for our pancakes and tea! We had one more dinner in this place with some Tibetan food and it was great (price and quality-wise).

The last day we stayed the owner of the hotel invited us for a tea, unfortunately we had to leave earlier (which I still regret !!!).

Reading comments here about the quality of the service: Our room was never tidied as well as the trash was never taken out. But that was a no biggie with all the advantages of the hotel.

Overall I would recommend this to anyone - just ask for a room facing the city.

Room Tip: Go for a 5th floor room (we had the double room with perfect view over Himalayas and sunlight waking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zmetak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is in the centre of the town, with the mall road and chowrastha at a walking distance (if u dont mind a brisk climb!!). the interior design is tibetan which looks different and pleasing. The room was small but the bath room is good enough. hot water is available only for 3 hours in the morning in 3 hours in evening, but that was good enough considering the water scarcity in the town. Service staff are polite. Wifi available at the lobby alone but is pretty fast!!! The restaurant at the ground floor was good. Overall, good for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Balasubramanian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Sir,

We are very happy to note that you enjoyed staying with us and also giving frank opinion about our hotel which we really appreciate.

Hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

regards


Jigme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hotel Seven Seventeen managed by a traditional Tibetan family . We stayed in this Hotel (Heritage Wing ) in the month of February'13 . Rooms were very good with clean bathroom and 24 hours hot running water . Foods are also very good . It's in the Market and take 10 min walk to reach Mall .

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baps58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Sir,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us .

Really appreciate your suggestion and will definitely keep more time as suggested
Likewise I would like to inform you that the rooms and toilets are been renovated .

Hope you will patronize us in future as well

regards


Jigme D.Bhutia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I had a good stay in this hotel. They have set up tibetian crafts and items used for show inside the hotel for each floor adding the hotel to give the feel of tibet home. The complimentary breakfast was in buffet type with continental food.the place is in walkable distance towards market. busy times the road becomes a bit crowded. Hot water took time to come. The rooms had tv and more electrical sockets.

Room Tip: rooms facing enterance road is better for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Sir,

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay here with us. and thank you so much for writing frank opinion about our hotel and its services which we appreciate very much.

Your reviews has helped us to win the tripadvisor excellence award for the 2nd successive year in a row.

Hope that you will patronise us in future as well

regards

Jigme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
654 reviews
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Darjeeling
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Address: H D Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £21 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing