We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at reasonable price”
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel Seven Seventeen is located at H.D.Lama road at close proximity to market and famous Darjeeling mall.Darjeeling railway station and taxi stand are at walkable distance.Got the room at Rs 1400/night for deluxe double room through Make my trip.Its really affordable comparing the service one get.Room is very large with bed size sufficient for one couple and a kid .Room has sofa,TV,24 hrs hot water,tea/coffee making arrangement etc.The in house restaurant is nice and price is affordable.The staffs are courteous .Cleanliness of the entire premises will attract anybody.So its advisable for family who prefers comfort for little expenditure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Public Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Duest

Thank you for sharing views and we are glad that we could live up to expectation and make your stay comfortable and memorable.

regards

for Seven Seventeen Grp of Hotels


Jigme D.Bhutia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by your first impressions. Hotel is ideally situated and is in the heart of Darjeeling but was a real disappointment. Arrived earlier than check in time but were advised this was not a problem. We're shown 2 rooms and opted for the one with views across the town. Room was basic and very small. The bathroom was grubby and again small. Hotel restricts it's hot water and it's only available in the morning and evening. As we has been travelling we were advised that we could use the supplementary boiler to have some hot water but it wasn't worth it, no pressure meant the water just trickled out the shower head and was a total waste of time. There is a concise list of do's and dont's on the back if the door which is totally unnecessary, certainly for western guests. We were not prepared for how cool it was going to be but to have no heating in the entire hotel was awful. Going to bed early evening just to keep warm was not ideal. Food and service in the restaurant was good and the only highlight of this hotel but again some heat especially in the public areas would have been nice. There is wifi but it is very intermittent and is not available in the rooms. Appears a fair use policy is applied as it cuts out after 5 mins. Don't think I would stay here again or recommend to friends.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Luv-my-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Public Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Sir,


We are so sorry for the inconvenience you had to face during your stay with us. It would be a pretext if i had to explain but what to do i must inform lay the facts as what happened.

In Darjeeling we have to face frequent power cuts during day time and have to depend on trucks to ferry water supply which sometimes gets delayed which as a result sometimes such
like curtainly hot water supply for morning and evening and also wif-fi problems does arise which we do not deny and am very very sorry for all the inconveniences caused.

Miss Jyotsna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Good enough for a few days. Room was cold but the hot water come when promised. Most staff helpful and friendly but the reception could be a little warmer. Restaurant was good but plenty of options nearby also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Bibliotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dears Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay here in our hotel.


Hope that you will keep us in your mailing list and stay with us whenever you plan to visit Darjeeling

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

For a week now, I've been trying to book a room in this hotel. But everytimg I call, a guy called Prem answers and says we have a room for Rs 2500. No information is given for any room types available or about the pricing details. He asked me to send an email to know about the pricing which I did so. Yet, there is no reply inspite of calling him up thrice uptil now. The only reply I get is we'll get back by today evening or at the most tommorrow morning.

Wondering about their service if they are so unwilling or not being professional enough to take bookings. Looking at other hotels. Sorry hotel 717, you just lost a customer..

Kalpana

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kapls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

So sorry for the inconveneince cause. It is not our intention not the reply or the entertain your request, we do but sometime faces a lot of difficulty due to faulty telephones

for we know that Guests are always right . it is indeed bad luck that we could not communicate with you all regarding booking

inconveneince is highly regretted

regards

Jigme D.Bhutia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the moment we checked in to this hotel, we were treated as honored guests. This wonderful Tibetan family takes a personal interest in the comfort and satisfaction of their guests and ensure a well run establishment. We had room 101, which was a large bright and airy room with huge windows and a view of the rooftops and town below. They provided heaters and hot water bottles that help take away the March chill. The location is very central and the state of the approach road was a bit of a shock but you soon look past this when you step inside and see the decor. Expect noise from the town - you are in the middle of it! (If you want peace and quiet stay in Little Tibet) All of the staff were brilliant and after 3 weeks travelling around India we believe the food was some of the very best we had tasted.
We opted for a complete package which included being met at the airport (the drive up the mountain is horrible) 2 meals a day and various trips and excursions over 6 days. This was excellent value for money and we have nothing but praise and thanks to this great little hotel for making our trip to Darjeeling so special.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view. Room 101 has it's own geyser!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel717, Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for writing few lines about your experience of your stay in our hotel.

We really appreciate it and hope to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Except for the room, the services,the facilities were terrible. Taps in washroom were not working,had to ask for hot water buckets as no hot water in winter seasdon, dirty cups...had to change the hotel the very next day...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaibhav211012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Sir,


We are so sorry for the inconvenience you had to face during your stay with us. It would be a pretext if i had to explain but what to do i must inform lay the facts as what happened.

In Darjeeling we have to face frequent power cuts during day time and have to depend on trucks to ferry water supply which sometimes gets delayed which as a result sometimes such problems does arise which we do not deny and am very very sorry for all the inconveniences
caused.

But at the same time please do not exaggerate things out of proportion as your booking was done for a night only .

Inconvenience caused is however regretted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We took a Suite. And.. it was in a very bad situation. Almost none of the washroom taps were working. We had to call the maintenance guy again and again. To make it worse, In the morning there wasnt any hot water to bathe. They said the suite has a separate geyser of its own, but even after waiting for 30 mins, it gave out cold water. A VERY VERY BAD EXPERIENCE.
The hotel guy charges way too much for the sightseeing cab. So even if you stay here, book you own cab. Shared conveyance is MOST recommended as all the places are nearby.

Room Tip: Dont opt for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spookynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all my humble apologies.

So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. because of frequent power cuts sometime
leads to such situations which is beyond our control.

We hope that you will understand our inability to please you for which we are really sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
2.3 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Address: H D Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: £21 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing