We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Hotel in the Heart of Darjeeling.”
Review of Bellevue Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A classic old Hotel in the heart of Darjeeling. Right on the Mall, The Bellevue is a charming old hotel with classically decorated rooms. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of the way to make your stay comfortable. The hotel has a small cafeteria which serves breakfast, tea, coffee and snacks throughout the day. The rooms are basic and comfortable and they have a interesting option of wood burned heaters at a nominal extra cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royamrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is located right at the Mall which is its its biggest plus point. Just walk down the hotel and plenty of options for eating and shopping. Rooms are quiet comfortable. The hotel has maintained its old world charm with all the interior walls, flooring roof etc. made of wood. The hotel also has a observation deck at the roof top where you can get nice views of snow clad peaks on a clear day. Wi-fi signal in my room was somewhat weak, but still OK for normal browsing. The bad part is that there is no breakfast buffet and the room service menu is very basic with not many options for breakfast. Ours was a suite room, but the carpet on the sofa and diwan bed had a bad smell and was not very clean. These are definitely the areas that need improvement

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RahulKesharwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The only thing going for this hotel is its location and a helpful staff including a cheerful front-office staff member. The rooms were very basic with poor level of cleanliness and facilities. It seemed more like a lodge than a hotel.
Surprisingly the deluxe room was of lower category than its standard rooms ! The room (Deluxe) we picked was very old and needed a total refurbishment. The bathroom was a simple one much like the ones at government offices.
It may be fine for budget conscious travelers but not very commendable for families looking for some degree of comfort and character.

Room Tip: The road facing rooms can be pretty noisy. The deluxe room on 1st floor was big but quite worn out.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank deepz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Locations itself should give this hotel atleast 3 stars. We stayed in new suit rooms. The rooms are specious and well maintained. Mr. Pulger was kind enough to put extra bed we badly wanted. The staff is friendly. OUr power problem was resolved immediately. WiFi works nicely in the room. I will definately recommend this hotel for tourists. Television channels can be a problem as no english news channel are available.

Room Tip: 1. Absence of restaurant is more than compensated by hotel's location. Hasty tasty restaurant is...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vishwas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very nice place for holidaying - can see Kanchenjunga peak direct from room. Location is in the Mall - everything is well and easily accessible. Enjoyed the market view from the room windows. Stayed two times in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

very friendly and helpful staff and a great room and location!

loved the room and location as well as the staff. beautiful interior!
I would recommend to anyone. very comfortable stay. when can I go back :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

First of all the position of the hotel is just awesome. The rooms are very nice and clean. There is a view point in the hotel from where you can see Kanchanjanga peaks. We were lucky enough to see mesmerizing sunrise from hotel itself. The only problem here is no dining facility available here inside hotel, only morning tea, coffee…. So you need to have your dinner outside which is very strenuous after a full day sightseeing. But because of good location Bengali restaurants, KFC, Pizza hut all are nearby. Also Lunar restaurant is near to this hotel which a very good quality veg restaurant. Overall we have enjoyed stay here due to its awesome location, rooms and breathtaking view of Kanchanjangha.

Room Tip: Kanchanjangha Facing Rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sulagna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
0.8 mi away
Himalayan Brook
Himalayan Brook
#53 of 98 in Darjeeling
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finestays Shanti Priya
Finestays Shanti Priya
#67 of 98 in Darjeeling
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Address: PO Box 28,The Mall | The Mall, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £21 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Original Bellevue Hotel in Darjeeling. Traditional Tibetan hospitality at the heart of the Hill Station. Well-furnished rooms paneled in warm juniper and pine have attached bathrooms with running hot and cold water. Log fires are available in the guest rooms in winter. A beautiful garden graces the back of the building.An efficient and modern Internet Café at the ground floor of the Bellevue also provides free wireless Internet-Access for guests within the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing