We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure”
Review of Bellevue Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I second time visit this hotel,It is an excellent hotel,with a nice value of money,rooms r small but comfortable ,big beds make so much comfort,break fast is also available,in winter the hot water is also available,On a clear day you get views of Khangchendzonga from your room.Its a nice hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venkeygondia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

When walking to the top of the ridge of Darjeeling - "walking" to be taken literally, this part of the town is barred to traffic - one ends up at Chowrasta, an open square offering a magnificient view far into Sikkim and to Kangchenjunga, the third highest peak of our planet. This wide outlook is lined with a number of shops and hotels, one of them carrying the name most appropriate for this spot: Bellevue.

The Bellevue Hotel Darjeeling has been the property of the Pulgers for at least forty years. They originate from Tibetan and Sikkimese nobility, just the same they are among the most affable and charming people I met in Northern India. It's not a big surprise, therefore, I enjoyed their hospitality for about a dozen times during the last 20 years, comprising the era of Lawang Pulger (who was a Darjeeling celebrity at that time) as well as the present management by Tashi Pulger, Lawang's son.

The hotel extends to five floors, the lower ones housing a number of shops, tourist and airline's offices and the hotel's own Internet Café. Lacking an elevator, this is probably not an accomodation appropriate for guests with impaired mobility.

The rooms at the Bellevue Hotel are modest but spacious, clean and functional. Interior work has been done using lot of wood which adds beneficially to the room-climate: In contrast to many Indian hotel rooms saturated with moisture and fug, I always got a pleasantly dry room at the Bellevue. The rooms provide view to either the lively activities at Chowrasta or to the peace of a garden at the sunny backyard. Facilities include a bathroom with shower and lot of hot water, a wood stove for the cold season, TV and - what a luxury! - free internet access via WLAN.

Managers and employees are most helpful, obliging and absolutely trustworthy. No matter how "special" my needs or requirements were, these folks, as a matter of course, always managed to make the impossible possible.

Meals: Breakfast available

Languages: English, Tibetan, Nepali, Hindi

Pricing: INR 800 - 2000

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank last-horizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel in the off season last year. August.
A lot of the time there was fog, but a couple of days were clear and beautiful.
The hotel is right in Chowrasta, so everything is close and handy. A short walk to all the restaurants, gift shops etc.
The hotel is run by a Tibetan guy . Nothing is a bother, he doesn't know the meaning of grumpy. The rooms are like something from a film noir movie set from the thirties.
Writing desk, armchair, separate sitting room.
It was off season, so the room was 300 rupees instead of 1100 rupees. !!
I stayed a week. Almost no tourists, so everything was accessible. No touts, and traffic is banned from Chowrasta, so very quiet.
It's right on Chowrasta, and really close to everything.
The hotel can arrange rides to anywhere, and the manager has a really good knowledge of the things to see, and which are a bit crap.
I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing time, away from the heat on the plains below.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trickyamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

As a regular traveler in India I passed two weeks at Bellevue Hotel in July of 2009 - not for the first time, by the way. I like the modest and warm interior of this place, the wood-panelled and - to Indian standards - clean rooms with their coco fibre rugs and I enjoy ... unlimited availability of hot water for shower.

Darjeeling District has been a politically agitated area for the last some years. So, during my stay I happened to be locked in Darjeeling due to a general strike for more than a week.

That was the situation that made me realize the full depth of hospitality of the folks at Bellevue. I did not have to suffer any shortage during this period as my hosts were touchingly looking after me, providing me with whatever I needed: Newspapers (the only article available in the streets), candles (electrical power outages were more common than usual), foodstuff (as my own stocks dwindled away) and so on. I rarely watch TV, however the staff instisted on bringing a TV to my room "just in case I should feel bored". And the manager offered me to apply for a special permit to leave the town in case I would run the risk to miss my next flight.

Yes, the dogs sometimes bark the whole night (however, I suppose that's not heard at Bellevue only), yes, there are lot of stairs (this applies to the whole of Darjeeling, what else should one expect at a Hill-Station) and yes, there are - apart from breakfast - usually no meals available. Anyway, my personal experience revealed this hotel and its staff to have some advantages I wanted to share.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serkhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Jut returned from this hotel. First the good things..........nice spacious rooms, rustic feel, like a mountain lodge would be, friendly helpful manager, good location in terms of being close to shops, action, everything on your doorstep. great rooftop terrace to sit and watch the world go by and great views up there. garden area too to sit and chill away from the hussle and bustle.
not so good things: rooms are not that well insulated so if you are gon in colder months you will need extra clothing and blankets - big gaps in windows! but did notice they had fires in all rooms.... cleanliness was poor - they came in to make the bed, give you a loo roll but thats about it. ASK for fresh towels and you will get them. ASK for new sheets and you might get them ( i dont think we had new sheets on when we arrived as they had a slept in person smell!!). the carpets and rugs etc all look like they need a power vaccuum so if cleanliness is your thing DO NOT bother here cause you will not relax!
The location of the hotel is just next to the main square, top of hill where all the stray dogs 'hang out' so at night and thru the night if one barks they all bark.. this went on all night sometimes. the locals dont make noise setting up their stalls its the bloody dogs! so earlplugs are a must if you come here else you will not sleep i promise you!!
overall this hotel is OK - i coped with the cleanliness thing and the dogs becuase i have been to worse and the manager was good and remember its what you pay for!!! darjeeling is amazing too!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Hotel is comparatively expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank khajur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Bellevue is located beside the "Main Olde Bellevue", make sure to get the right one :) The hotel is located at the top of a hill but the area is very pleasant and free from the very annoying traffic noise.

The style of the hotel rooms are quite unique, completely wooden panelled with a free standing wood burner in every room. Bathroom is basic enough, western toilet with an open shower, hot water is available from 6 am - 8 am and 6pm - 8pm. Some of the beds are a little harder than others so ask for a soft bed on booking.

Staff in this hotel are very friendly and welcoming and can provide lots of advise on day trips and activities.

Only downside is the amount of stairs in hotel and the walk up the hill to it.

If you intend on doing any terkking or white water rafting then ask the hotel to contact Sontose who is a great guide. We spent some time trekking with him and we also took a white water rafting trip with him, couldnt have got a nicer person.

Hotel also has a panoramic rooftop view which provides as good a view as Tiger Hill. Hotel is also close to the zoo and Observatory Hill.

Down the road is Gelarys restaurant, this is recommended by most guide books but we found the quality to be very bad. ALL other travellers we spoke to had the same opinion. We all recommended the Park Restaurant which is Thai and Lemongrass style.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TommyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
0.8 mi away
Himalayan Brook
Himalayan Brook
#53 of 98 in Darjeeling
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finestays Shanti Priya
Finestays Shanti Priya
#67 of 98 in Darjeeling
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Address: PO Box 28,The Mall | The Mall, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £21 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Original Bellevue Hotel in Darjeeling. Traditional Tibetan hospitality at the heart of the Hill Station. Well-furnished rooms paneled in warm juniper and pine have attached bathrooms with running hot and cold water. Log fires are available in the guest rooms in winter. A beautiful garden graces the back of the building.An efficient and modern Internet Café at the ground floor of the Bellevue also provides free wireless Internet-Access for guests within the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing