We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved homestay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Snow Lion HomeStay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snow Lion HomeStay
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
hyderabad
1 review
“loved homestay”
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Deciding upon the hotel when you are not familiar with the place is quite a cumbersome task. All you have is to go through the reviews and trust the people what they say. I did the same thing and I am very much happy with my decision.

Our vacation is over but I still cherish the beautiful moments I spent there. The hotel Snow Lion Homestay is located at the hill top very near to the Mall road, the most happening place in Darjeeling.

We had pre-booking in the hotel and at the time of arrival we were welcomed like a family. The hotel room is magnificent with all the required amenities provided like TV, greaser, telephone etc. The service in the hotel is incredible; you name it and the staff will arrange for you. We never had such an experience before.

At the time of checkout we were acknowledged with an expression of goodwill.

Overall this hotel provides all the needs one look-out for a memorable trip, and the best part it doesn't hit hard on pocket too.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank one4all_inHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    85
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
62
60
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Poland
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Everything was fine, staff, rooms, etc

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dariusz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Stayed for a week at Snow Lion. Solo backpacker. Had a fantastic stay.

Highlights:

Central location
Price/value for money - not too high compared to other guesthouses in Darjeeling and breakfast is included in the sitting room upstairs (eggs/omlette/jam/toast etc)
Staff are amazing - nothing is too much for them.
Hot water lasts longer than another place with '24 hour' hot water I stayed in in DJ - lasts a whole 10 mins at snow lion before the boiler needs to re-heat another lot
Views - from their rooftop terrace you can get a clear view of the himalayas in the mornings
Room - large, comfortable, spotless (almost), comfiest beds/pillows I've ever had in Asia.
TV - seems to be limitless channels
Staff will wake you up at 4am if the day is clear enough to go to Tiger Hill for sunrise
They haven't got a restaurant but you can get room service - not sure where from but the food was good and the price was OK (menu in room)

Lowlights

The cold (but they can't help that (and I think they will give you a hot water bottle if you ask)
If you are staying for a while you have to ask for your bin to be emptied / room cleaned
Only small bad points really.

Great place - one not to be missed. Made my stay in DJ so much more comfotable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cambs_Running_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Trip was during slack time and hence very few guests at the hotel. Hotel is located in central area and easily accessible from railway station and taxi drivers know this place.

Rooms were clean, spacious and well maintained. Our room did not have a view and faced the building on opposite side of the street. We really did not miss the view because the weather had thick mist and visibility was a bit low.

Room service was quick and effective. The receptionist was responsive, courteous and gave inputs on sightseeing. Rates for local sightseeing tours were a bit pricey.

The hotel does not have a kitchen or travel desk. They depend on nearby restaurant. We have to order in advance and sometimes the food is cold by the time it reaches room.

Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kaatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

My sister & I (two 40+ year-old-women) stayed at Snow Lion during the Monsoon season. Tanzing is incredibly gracious. Pema is absolutely amazing. Also, the staff was right on! We had a front room and heard the Drummer each & every morning as she made her tantric rounds. Met the family, had lunch with Pema & Tanzing & learned of Tanzing's sojourn to Darjeeling in '59 w/ Dali Lama. We met Gilly, who was very nice. Pema took us to the Mother Teresa home. Quite a nice Home Stay in every sense of the word -- highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivienneWildes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Mr Gailly runs a warm, clean and cosy little property which is very centrally located in Darjeeling. With a small but friendly staff, he ensures you have a nice, peaceful holiday at a very affordable cost. Would highly recommend this to anyone going with their family for a quiet holiday in charming Darjeeling.
Best Experience: the entire booking process, the clean and spacious rooms with breathtaking views of the mountains, the smiling and friendly staff, the eminently affordable food, most things about Snow Lion make u want to return there. the best before I forget is meeting the ever smiling Mr Gailly and getting the white tibetan scarves when u depart..

  • Liked — the clean well lit rooms and the value for money proposition
  • Disliked — lack of internet access
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shulein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockingham western australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at snow lion with our two friends and absolutely loved it , we arrived in darjeeling after a busy time in varanasai and a 20 hour train ride and a 3 hour jeep ride , we were met with incredible hospitality and this continued throughout our stay,. each morning we had a delicious breakfast made to our requirements and each evening hot water bottles forour bed and hot water for our tea. The owner and his wife made us feel like family and they treat their staff well. we will definetly return on our next trip to india.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank takeiteasytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#15 of 95 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lion HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lion HomeStay

Property: Snow Lion HomeStay
Address: 27A Gandhi Road | Opposite Bethany primary school, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Snow Lion HomeStay 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Darjeeling, close to the Mall's shopping and entertainment, is "Snowlion Homestay." The hotel is owned & managed by a Tibetan family. Located on Gandhi Road, which is a continuation of the Mall Road, it provides an ideal base for the many local tourist attractions, whilst being in a central, upmarket area of the town. All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc). We provide room heaters and hot water bottles at no additional cost during the winter season. WI-FI is freely accessible in the lounge. We would be happy to arrange for a taxi to collect you at BGD airport or NJP station. We have pick-up from BGD airport or NJP station and travel to Darjeeling (one way). If you choose to use us to be dropped back to the Airport or Station at the end of your stay, we will arrange it. The drive up to Darjeeling is 3hrs and is in any event very scenic. Often tourists choose to use a slightly longer (and even more scenic) route via Mirik Lake. This latter route is approximately 4 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Snow Lion HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lion Homestay Darjeeling
Snow Lion Homestay Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing