We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Lion HomeStay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snow Lion HomeStay
Ranked #20 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

Trip was very enjoyable. Unfortunately we could not get to see the sunrise over Tiger Hill. Nice place to relax. The hotel was very good and so was the service.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shosayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    84
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
62
59
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed at SnowLion for 3 nights in December. The rooms were small but clean. Our room had a small space heater that only somewhat warmed the room. We were provided hot water bottles at night for the bed that really stayed warm all night long. They were still pretty hot in the morning. This helped battle the cold while we were sleeping but while we were awake we were chilly. I think all the budget hotels in Darjeeling are like this. We didn't find heat anywhere in India so make sure to bring warm clothes!

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank puddinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

We combined a trekking with a stay in Snow Lion Homestay.
Perfect place to feel real Tibetan hospitality. Correct prices and payment (Paypall 50% in advance).
The hotel suggested us to do the trekking with Nawang's Trek - www.nawangtrek.com-
The small Sonam Bhutia from Nawang's Trek has a very small restaurant on Robertson rd. and gives great trekking service at 50% of the big trekking agencies!!
After 12 years travelling all over India I can assure you that this was a perfect combination in Darjeeling.
Herman Vercoutter, Leuven, Belgium

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

I booked few months ago - made deposit using PayPal.
The owner, Mr. Gaily is a very nice man - few days prior to arrival, he sent an e-mail saying his driver will pick us at the airport.
The Hotel is very cozy with hot water 24 hours a day - we booked 2 rooms and were provided with heaters. I liked the heaters so much that I wanted to give one to my aunt.
Mr. Gaily sent one of his staff members to buy one - a long walk.....
The Staff is very nice and provide prompt service. I was even allowed to use Mr Gaily's laptop to get on the internet. EXCELLENT OWNER and Priced right - Good breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sood02491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyderabad
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Deciding upon the hotel when you are not familiar with the place is quite a cumbersome task. All you have is to go through the reviews and trust the people what they say. I did the same thing and I am very much happy with my decision.

Our vacation is over but I still cherish the beautiful moments I spent there. The hotel Snow Lion Homestay is located at the hill top very near to the Mall road, the most happening place in Darjeeling.

We had pre-booking in the hotel and at the time of arrival we were welcomed like a family. The hotel room is magnificent with all the required amenities provided like TV, greaser, telephone etc. The service in the hotel is incredible; you name it and the staff will arrange for you. We never had such an experience before.

At the time of checkout we were acknowledged with an expression of goodwill.

Overall this hotel provides all the needs one look-out for a memorable trip, and the best part it doesn't hit hard on pocket too.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank one4all_inHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Everything was fine, staff, rooms, etc

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dariusz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Stayed for a week at Snow Lion. Solo backpacker. Had a fantastic stay.

Highlights:

Central location
Price/value for money - not too high compared to other guesthouses in Darjeeling and breakfast is included in the sitting room upstairs (eggs/omlette/jam/toast etc)
Staff are amazing - nothing is too much for them.
Hot water lasts longer than another place with '24 hour' hot water I stayed in in DJ - lasts a whole 10 mins at snow lion before the boiler needs to re-heat another lot
Views - from their rooftop terrace you can get a clear view of the himalayas in the mornings
Room - large, comfortable, spotless (almost), comfiest beds/pillows I've ever had in Asia.
TV - seems to be limitless channels
Staff will wake you up at 4am if the day is clear enough to go to Tiger Hill for sunrise
They haven't got a restaurant but you can get room service - not sure where from but the food was good and the price was OK (menu in room)

Lowlights

The cold (but they can't help that (and I think they will give you a hot water bottle if you ask)
If you are staying for a while you have to ask for your bin to be emptied / room cleaned
Only small bad points really.

Great place - one not to be missed. Made my stay in DJ so much more comfotable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cambs_Running_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.1 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#8 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lion HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lion HomeStay

Property: Snow Lion HomeStay
Address: 27A Gandhi Road | Opposite Bethany primary school, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Snow Lion HomeStay 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Darjeeling, close to the Mall's shopping and entertainment, is "Snowlion Homestay." The hotel is owned & managed by a Tibetan family. Located on Gandhi Road, which is a continuation of the Mall Road, it provides an ideal base for the many local tourist attractions, whilst being in a central, upmarket area of the town. All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc). We provide room heaters and hot water bottles at no additional cost during the winter season. WI-FI is freely accessible in the lounge. We would be happy to arrange for a taxi to collect you at BGD airport or NJP station. We have pick-up from BGD airport or NJP station and travel to Darjeeling (one way). If you choose to use us to be dropped back to the Airport or Station at the end of your stay, we will arrange it. The drive up to Darjeeling is 3hrs and is in any event very scenic. Often tourists choose to use a slightly longer (and even more scenic) route via Mirik Lake. This latter route is approximately 4 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Snow Lion HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lion Homestay Darjeeling
Snow Lion Homestay Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing