We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, lovely food”
Review of Gatty's Cafe

Gatty's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 114 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Everyone who work's there is very friendly and sweet. They made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed hanging out at gatty's a lot. The food is nice too. It made our experience in Darjeeling amazing. Thankyou everyone at gatty's!!! I hope to see you next year!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazz92_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    32
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great experince...owners were really friendly. Although not a family place, took my kids there and they engaged them with crayons and activities. Food is decent but limited menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debroy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for backpackers”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The people here are super nice and the food is great! If you fell like having a fun night out and enjoy good music, drinks and good people come here!

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This place is little bit hidden, but once you get to know Darjeeling it is easy to find.

This bar/restaurant has two sections. One wider section for listening to music and hang-out. Second section is darker and there is a big screen and projector for watching sports, movies or whatever and in the corner you can also find tiny stage.

We sat in the "second section" and we were immediately brought two candles for more light because we were going yo have dinner. The atmosphere was perfect. While we waited our food we drank beer and wine and they brought us really good snack which was nice. We ordered pasta and arabic platter. It took about half an hour and they brought the pasta for me. We asked that how long it will take for the arabic platter and surprisingly they said one hour, so total one and a half hour. That was too much for us so we changed it and ordered another pasta. The pasta's were good, nothing mind-blowing but good.

All and all I would suggest to go here with lots of time. Its nice place to just sit down and grab few beers and listen to music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saku K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ambience, amazing place to chill and super food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife went to Gatty's on the 29th April for dinner ..loved the ambience .. 2 screens out of which one a giant projector screen .. Switching btw football and cricket, loads of options to chill (we played scrabble for an hour) .. Experience was very similar to a European hostel with stories of adventure hiking; biking making rounds..personalized treatment of the cafe felt very warm (we even requested for a real spicy chilly chicken which we were obliged with) food was nyc and the presentation rock solid ..

My wife had an instant crush on Gatty for his superbly sexy look !! Sad for you Gatty she is mine for life now :-)

Special thanks to Gatty for showing us around and see us off... Does count a lot !!

Cafe rocks !! Gr8 place to be in Darjeeling

Helpful?
Thank 608ankurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gatty's Cafe also viewed

Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
Darjeeling, Darjeeling District
 

Been to Gatty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing