We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Love Gattys!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gatty's Cafe

Gatty's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Love Gattys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was volunteering and living in Darjeeling for a few months and Gattys was like my second home there. I would go almost every day to use the wifi, eat food and drink. I got to know everyone that worked there and they are all so friendly and accommodating! The food is delicious and it is nice comfort food, especially when I was missing home. Gatty's is also a great place to hang out with friends and have a few drinks. The wifi is the best in town!!
I miss it so much! Definitely the best place around!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    29
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Varkala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to spend the evenings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

During our 2-weeks-stay in Darjeeling, we spent almost every evening in this lovely bar / cafe. In the later evenings, this is about the only (public) place, where you can find nice people and drinks. Enjoy a chat with the nice owner, the friedly stuff or the many travelers coming together here.


The food is not cheap but worth the money (try the french fries or the Lasagne!) and they play a nice variety of music. There are special evenings like open stage or sports / movie night on projector, and you can play games like Poker, Scrabble or the recently added Monopoly.


I felt always welcome and very comfortable at Gattys and had a really good time there!

Helpful?
Thank Flexliiixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pastafarian Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

To think of heaven...... comes by clouds in tufts of fluffy white against an ethereal turquoise mindscape....... Gattys cafe is a manifestation of sorts in this paradigm....... The ambience accentuated by the best Italian kitchen this side of the cosmos defines "heavenly pleasures" in dialects of the refined senses...... words fall sort of cascading the extra-sensorical pleasure waves that this more than a place commands nestled up in a cloudside heaven...... experience it for yourself.......

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jarofsmaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Place to relax and chillout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The food is ok but the ambience and the company is great! Since Gautam is a friends friend so i managed dawned a sous chef hat at the kitchen when I visited. Must do while at Darjeeling :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank varunkumar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect ambience ,great food and amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife visited gatty's cafe recently and we were amazed by the hospitality and food. What a food you name it you get it,all authentic food preparation like italian ,americian ,arabian continental ,nepali,and many more. What we really like about gatty's cafe is the perfect ambience where u can sit for hours using free internet wifi and and enjoying the mountain view .the cafe owner mr gatty is an amazing person where he is always ready to go out of his way to help people.if you visit gatty's cafe once you will definitely visit again.not only that if you are a bike lover that to a heavy one like royal enfield , yamaha 350 or bmw bike you can have them on hire from him in a very nominal charge, i took the red royal enfield which was a a very powerful bike for hilly road like darjeeling and Sikkim .apart from all these if you are planning a trip in a group or if you play any type of music like guitar or drums you could play by your self of you can request for a live music with rock bands.
We have been traveling around the globe extensively for quite sometime hardly seen such a nice cafe like gatty's cafe.
Rating From us 10/10
Lewis

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Samirlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gatty's Cafe also viewed

Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 
Darjeeling, West Bengal
Darjeeling, West Bengal
 

Been to Gatty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing