We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, Awesome hospitality”
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I simply loved this place. The view from balcony is breathtaking. They even arrange for local sight seeing and transfer back to NJP at a nominal cost. Because of rain, we could not go to sightseeing in the morning and we were not charged for that inspite of booking!! The only drawback is that it does not have restaurant attached and its around 400m from the hotel which is pretty much manageable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumit0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We visited this hotel on the 21st October and stayed in the Attic Room, which overlooks the magnificent Kangchenjunga Mountain. The view from the attic room was splendid. The attic room is spacious with wooden furniture which gives it a homely and warm feel. Besides basic amenities like a double bed, the room also has a TV, tea table with 2 chairs, Kettle and warm water from the shower.
The only drawback is you need to climb 5 floors to reach the attic room which could be a challenge for elders. Also in the night it gets very cold, as the room is on the last floor and facing the valley, hence one could ask the hotel for a heater but not sure if they have this facility as didn’t try asking them since we enjoyed the low temperature.

Room Tip: Please choose the attic room with the mountain facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a stay at Sangrila..Simply loved it...Had an awesome view from the window..though we travelled in September was lucky enough to get a glimpse of Kanchanjunga at 4 am in the morning.Though most of the time it was cloudy and was giving a feeling that we are staying in between clouds..The complementary breakfast was superb..You would not get that kind of breakfast in any budget accomadation.A complete English breakfast..Loved it..Loved everything about the Hotel.The Lounge was alos a great place to relax.Since we travelled in September got the off season rate as well.Would definitely recommend this to any who is travelling to Darjleeng.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A wonderful trip and we have come with some everlasting memories of the moments with full view of Kanchenjungha in backdrop during all three days from this well equipped hotel. The package tour included all that needed to make a trip successful without a headache.


The food was quite good and adequate in quantity. Room was moderately good. Special thanks must be given to Mr. Paul - our room attendant for his excellent service and behaviour with always smile in face.


I am thankful to the authority and all the staffs of this hotel for the facilities provided and appreciate the decorative roof top dining lounge and its ambience.

Really a worth of money experience with great facilities and support. Looking ahead to visit again in this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and value for money. The antique room is in top floor and has an excellent view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanc_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I along with my son planned our trip to Darjeeling for the chance to meet up old mates from North point and booked ourselves at shangrila regency which included pickup and drop to the bagdogra airport. we arrived a bit late on 3rd evening due to the bandh call by the gorkhaland movement, was surprised to recieve a call enroute by the hotel informing us about the situation and timings .
POSITIVES.
The hotel is ideally situated and all the rooms are well done up with all necessary facilities available at very reasonable rates. it even has a personal locker.
The supply of tea/coffee sachets are more than generous and it surprised me to see that the hotel staff were always willing to deliver immediately whenever required, contarary to many highend hotels I have stayed.
The whole ambiance is a delight and can be gauged from the fact that a lot of personal effort has gone into creating this hotel so beautifully.
The restuarant has an amazing view and the breakfast served is wholesome and fresh .
The staff are always smiling and courteous.
Negatives
If at all any negatives are to be pointed out, the only thing which crossed my mind was that the approach road needs repair, which though cannot be the sole responsibilty of the hotel as being an ex hill student I can understand the difficulty due to incessant rains which damage roads inspite of best efforts.

WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR A STAY WHENEVER YOU VISIT DARJEELING . ITS A BIG THUMS UP AND PURE VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

i stayed in this hotel with my husband on a trip to darjeeling for 2 nights and 3 days
just after the darjeeling bands were called off,the hotel is neat and clean and gives a homely feeling
attic rooms are the best rooms with fabulous breathtaking view of mount kanchenjunga and its peak,attic rooms are made of pinewood,room size is just enough for a couple and a child too aged below 12,rooms are clean and neat,best part of the hotel is its restau loacted at fourth floor,tastefully decorated and providing equally fab view of mount kanchenjonga,location of the hotel is central,centrally located,just a walking distance from mall road and darjeeling square and mahakal temple
staff is utterly well mannered and helpful
a homely and peaceful stay it was,hotel has basic amenities like geyser,tv,wifi,but the tym we stayed wifi wasnt working as all bsnl lines were disrupted because of darjeeling band ongoing in previous 1 month demanding gorkhaland
so i recommend this hotel to couples and best for family
but this hotel is a big no for all elderly people or those having problem in walking and knees as hotel has no lift and also we have to walk a little to reach up to the hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What I remember most fondly are the beautiful attic rooms and the very friendly staff. I walked into the warm wood and glass room (thankful for a respite from the late-January cold outside) and was smitten instantly! My husband and I stayed here for four days--revelling in their warm hospitality. They served a sumptuous English breakfast in bed every morning, spoiled us rotten with steaming kettles of their very special Darjeeling tea (we could not figure the brand, but a trip to Nathmull's on the Chowrasta/Mall will make sure you buy the finest teas at the best prices), and they would anticipate our return to the hotel every evening and keep the room ready with the heater on and with hot water bags tucked under the covers on the neatly made bed.

The attic rooms offer great views of the surroundings and are perfectly comfortable even in peak winters. The bath has a supply of running hot water and the waiters are an extremely friendly bunch. I am a great lover of the hills and every time I visit the hills, I am amazed at how difficult it is for the people there to even afford basic civic amenities that we take for granted. This is probably why we felt especially welcome and privileged to have been cocooned in the hospitality at Shangri La Regency.

Some of our best memories are the evenings spent by the toasty warmth of the fireside in the lounge area.

Our package at the hotel included airport pick up and drop, a trip to Tiger Hill, the Ghoom Monastery, and Batasiya Loop. We also hired their cab services for a day-trip to Mirik. In all these journeys we remember travelling in perfectly maintained Innova-s with the heating on and in the company of a friendly yet non-intrusive driver.

A couple words of caution, just to set the right expectations: First, like most hotels in Darjeeling, they do not have an elevator. It was a bit of a trek to the attic rooms for us--but the beauty of the hills makes it all worth the effort. Second, their food, other than the breakfast, is average. We did not mind it much because after scurrying to the comfort of the room after a day out in the freezing cold, we were very thankful for room service! Also, Keventer's and Glenary's being only a walk away, good food should be the least of your concerns!

P.S.: They maintain their website well and yeah, you get free wifi at the hotel. The wifi is meant to be for the lounge area, probably, but we could connect to it in our room too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suchismita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.1 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 99 in Darjeeling
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 99 in Darjeeling
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
666 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel White Yak
Hotel White Yak
#27 of 99 in Darjeeling
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#5 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: £19 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing