We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice name,but service was not that great.Rooms were very good.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice name,but service was not that great.Rooms were very good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Dear people,
During my summer break 2009 I we planned a trip to northeastern India.
I would like to write a review for the travelers, who wish to travel to Darjeeling,
And stay in the hotel named Shangri –la regency.

Don’t go with the name ‘Shangri la’, as it not the 7star hotel. It is a boutique hotel in midst of the queen of the hills.

The rooms are very nice, giving you views of the valley, but if you can afford and wish to get a attic room which is at the top of the 5th floor you can, see the magnificent views of kunchenjenga which you can see only from these rooms.

Note- there is no lift!!!

We stayed in the attic room, which was cozy and nice. But the main problems of these rooms were the bathrooms. The shower hardly worked and was less effective.
The hotels in Darjeeling state not to waste water by using a bucket bath, and rather use shower, but ladies and gentlemen you cannot use a shower if the water supply is poor, I mean the water coming was very less.

Also the other thing I dint like about this hotel was the service. The breakfast was horrible! But the dinner was good. We had to eat our breakfast outside the hotel on our last day.

Besides all of this everything was nice and we enjoyed our trip to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HeyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerCoventry, manager at Shangrila Regency, responded to this review, 5 June 2009
1Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel, as the many other reviews here on trip advisor show we work hard to make sure all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. In response to the other comments...
Clearly we should not be confused with the 7* Shangri-la chain of hotels whose prices are at least $200 a night!
Besides just 1 hotel (Viceroy) there are no hotels in Darjeeling with a lift. The electricity in the whole region is erratic and it is not possible to operate a lift on captive power.
During the High season in Darjeeling water is in very short supply. However, we buy water in tankers to make sure our hotel has water at all times. Some days the water pressure may be low during the time it takes the tanker to fill the water tanks up and we ask our guest to bear with us for an hour or so while this process takes place
As well as the view from our popular attic rooms there are great views from some of the Double deluxe rooms, where Kanchenjunga can be seen too, and of course the roof top lounge gives access to spectacular views for all our guests.
Many of the reviews in trip advisor have complimented the quality and quantity of our breakfast so I am surprised by your comments but we will be monitoring breakfast service in the coming weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    138
    29
    9
    13
See reviews for
134
122
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Shangrila Regency is a decent hotel with cosy & clean rooms and is overall well maintained. They are very prompt on email so booking a stay is quite simple. It is well located, so moving around town is easy. The staff are friendly. But food is a problem. Be prepared for very average quality of breakfast and long wait times (even for morning tea). They have recently started dinner service in the hotel, which is best avoided - terrible food & over priced. A tip for your stay: Try to avoid road facing rooms as the noise from vehicles & barking street dogs can be very disturbing..
Enjoy!

  • Liked — Clean & Cosy room
  • Disliked — Food & Slow Service
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogerCoventry, manager at Shangrila Regency, responded to this review, 5 June 2009
It is clearly stated in the information hotel pack and specified by the reception to every guest that morning tea will be served only after 7am. This guest called the reception at 6am asking for tea and when he was told that tea will be served after 7am he became very angry. From then on all he did was complain. Compare this guest’s comments with those in the trip advisor review entitled “Very comfortable stay at Shangrila Regency". Here the guest praises the quality of the food quote: "The food is excellent (much better than the famous Glenary's) all freshly prepared and with a changing daily menu for dinner".
Unfortunately vehicle noise and barking dogs during high season are always a problem in Darjeeling, and indeed all over India and is beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

Tired, wet, cold and dirty after the fascinating but prolonged (it is slow anyway but we also broke down for an hour so arrived late in the dark) steam train journey from Kurseong we were relieved to arrive at the warm and comfortable Shangri La Regency. It is not too far from the train station but it is very steeply uphill so take a taxi if you can find one (they are relatively rare and expensive in Darjeeling at night) or arrange in advance for collection by the hotel.

Staff were very helpful, ushering us to our room to clean up and keeping the restaurant open late so we could have dinner. The usual prolonged check in procedure was deferred to the next morning so we didn't have to wait.

We had chosen an attic room for the views (be prepared for 5 flights of stairs and no lift or ask for a room lower down!). Rooms are supplied with powerful heaters so they are always warm and cosy. Beds are very comfortable, the shower is good and there are comfortable armchairs overlooking the view.

We don't normally promote eating in your hotel but the Shangri La Regency restaurant is very good. The dining room is comfortable with a choice of seating areas, a separate bar (yes they serve beer) and great views from three sides. The food is excellent (much better than the famous Glenary's) all freshly prepared and with a changing daily menu for dinner. For breakfast the aloo paratha is great and comes in an enormous portion. They also have European option which we didn't try.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

This was our second time in Darjeeling and our first time at the Shangrila Regency. Upon arrival we were taken care of in the most gracious and courteous manner. The staff were amazingly helpful and most tolerant of my husband's incessant questions and requests.............they seemed happy to help on every occasion. The rooms were beautifully decorated and spotless and i cannot say enough about the rooftop lounge.... On our last day, over breakfast ,we were blessed with the most beautiful view of kanchan junga and it surrounding peaks, this made our farewell rather emotional. We will definetly be back. Thank You

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria_suarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

I stayed at the ShangriLa Regency from the 23rd to 27th dec with my wife and adult daughter. We had two adjacent attic rooms. We all agreed that while it was the least expensive hotel we used in our month long indian trip, it was the one we liked best. Why? The staff were very friendly but did not intrude.
We arrived in darkness after the long trip from Bagdogra very tired and a bit cold. First impression of the hotel was helped by the festive lighting outside. then when we were shown to our rooms we were delighted to find them toasty warm, with subdued lighting. The man who served us most, nima, brought us much needed coffee. The beds were very comfortable with good heavy blankets, we did not really need our nightly hot water bottles.
We ate in the restaurant of the same name that night. The food was good but the room was cold, it was near closing and the fire was going down.
The view from the hotel attic room was stunning.
The girl at reception and all the staff were most helpful. They always wore a broad smile, maybe they thought we were a bit funny. They arranged our trip to Tiger Hill on Christmas morning to view the sunrise (along with a couple of hundred others). It was a great experience and we visited Ghoom monastery on the way back at about 7am.
The next day We took the Toy Train to the Batasia loop. It was lovely.
Our days in darjeeling passed very quickly and we all agreed that the people here were the most relaxed and friendly we had met. The receptionist also arranged our jeep for the drive back down the mountain.
The booking experience with the hotel was very good. All e-mails and queries were answered promptly. All promised services were delivered.
This is not a luxury hotel but it is a homely and enjoyable stay.
(There were daily power cuts and some water shortage but this is a feature of the area rather than the hotel)
We recommend the Shangrila highly.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peadar-Fru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

Great hotel a very short walk from the centre of Darjeeling.

Style: very cosy and friendly hotel with fairly minimalist rooms. Lovely dining room with a grand view over the town - was very quiet when we were there, so they didn't light the fire, but they did rig up a gas heater for us. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were ill when we stayed there (not the hotel's fault) and they provided everything we needed and gave advice about a doctor. The town was also blockaded during our stay by ongoing unrest with the Gorkhas and those who oppose their desire for an independent state, and the hotel very helpfully arranged for us to extend our stay as a result. The manager also lent us her mobile to enable us to change our travel plans.

Cleanliness: reasonably clean rooms, especially for India, and clean (if slightly stained) bedlinen. Clean bathroom.

Room: we had an attic room with a huge kingsize bed. The hotel provided an oil radiator which kept the room lovely and warm, and hot water bottles in the evenings. The view over the town and the Himalaya was simply awesome - we were lucky in that it was clear every day we were there. TV in the room, and a separate seating area for Scrabble (Darjeeling basically closes down around 8-9pm at night apart from a couple of places).

Facilities: pick up was highly efficient from New Jalpaiguri, a very long drive up into the hills. The driver stopped half way up for morning chai, at a place with a beautiful view. The return to Bagdogra was also great with the driver finding us a tea estate to buy the local produce. Room service was great, friendly and reasonably prompt. The restaurant food isn't that appetising (although that may have been due to lack of food during the strike), although breakfast is fine.

Overall: I'm really glad we booked to stay here and would definitely re-book if we went back to Darjeeling.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

We arrived in the dark, so weren't able to view our surroundings but the hotel staff were very welcoming and our room was lovely and warm. The bathroom was clean and facilities good, Nothing was too much trouble.........staff were great!! They organised us a lovely packed lunch on our last day because we were travelling back on the 'Toy Train' (7 hour journey).
We had good breakfasts each day but did not eat there in the evening as we prefer to try local restaurants.
Great little find!!

  • Liked — Lovely furnishings in the bedroom and charming staff.
  • Disliked — The stray dogs meet and bark every night right outside the hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny redhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.9 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#8 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Property: Shangrila Regency
Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing