We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip”
Review of Viceroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viceroy Hotel
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A good hotel located in city centre with a very good restaurant serving excellent foot. Located in centre, you can go to nearby markets walking. However, rooms are quite small and very compact, believe that's the case with all the hotels in Darjeeling. Person staying should look for rooms on 4&5 th floor overlooking Mt. Kanchenjunga.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurabhaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    78
    47
    24
    25
See reviews for
109
67
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hopeless stay ever. I really curse THOMAS COOK for putting me there. Had taken the most premium package and were given Viceroy. Please guys never ever by mistake also land there. Awful food with all sort of flies and insects around in the restaurant and room. We ate all meals from breakfast to dinner outside inspite of the package which included meals. The rooms were stinking and couldnt sleep whole night. We just wished the trip to get over soon as those were the last two days. Please never book after seeing the pics on hotel website.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank namita1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Ludhiana, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

it was the worst stay ever i was unable to change it as it was already paid.
Very Bad service for rooms as well as at restaurant.
And the Worst thing is the front desk. It is just name sake the only thing you will hear from them is I am sorry sir.Don't even think of booking the rooms viewing the hotel website they have been Photoshop, the actual room size is half than showed in the pic
The Washrooms are in a really bad shape and there are big insects as well as spiders in the rooms. We opened the window of the room so that we can have fresh air as rooms was really small and they failed to provide a fan as well and by the time we returned back from market my room was full of insects. I also heard the next door guy screaming as they had a big spider in there room. I had to change my room after 1 hr of loud discussion with the front desk they don't even could provide a mosquito repent . The Buffet time was from 7 to 9 pm as was told by front desk and if you are going there at 8.30 you won't find a table to sit you have to wait for somebody to finish and after 9 they will say SIR THE KITCHEN is CLOSED.
My friend who was also with me had 2 kids we had booked an extra bed as well but when the Extra Bed was Placed in the room there was not even place to go to washroom as that was the only empty place they had in the room.

Room Tip: the Room 307 was little spacious than others but it is not worth checking this hotel the worst roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aminderpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

i booked this hotel with the spine chiling package which costed me 47.5 K as the hotel looked absolutely fantastic over the internet. But to my shock and surprise, the hotel in actual does not even fall in 4 star category. Rather it should have been rated as 2-3 star property. The food served is absolutely pathetic, tasted miserable. Not much options are available in breakfast and dinner. Most of the time the vegetables are not properly cooked(esp potatoes). The staff is absolute unfriendly and rude. My kid wanted water in the restaurant while having dinner since he was feeling pukish, i kept on shouting for water but none of the staff had the courtesy to give him water. He finally puked and to add to my wounds, no body cleaned it for almost 30-40 mins. When we complained at the reception, than it was cleaned.

The attic room we were given was "Queen room" which was so called the best one. But it does not give u the feel of a luxurious room rather u feel like u have wasted money. No mountains are visible from the room as all u can c are crowded houses from the window. The only good part was the sun deck which was on the 6th floor.

Also the day we checked in after using the wash basin we realised that it was choked which was rectified after a call to housekeeping department. This was another incident which has made us regret about our decision of choosing this hotel.

We stayed at Sheraton Udaipur which was much more cheaper and lavishing with amazing food in comparison to this viceroy hotel of darjeeling. Don't expect services and luxuries like any other 4/5 star hotel of any other place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shruti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is situated at heart of the town food is good rooms are very small not value for money room service is good hotel trace is very good we are two family stay for 3 days top floor room is good but some rooms are very small

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A nice hotel reflecting some heritage in their decor. Clean rooms, good food, pleasant service and hospitable staff. The location is perfect for a tourist. Very close to the mall road which makes it easy to stroll down in the evenings and do shopping or eating. It does get noisy early morning (people going for the sunrise view) but nothing much one can blame the hotel for. If you choose only breakfast in your plan, you could very well eat variety of food in the mall road.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nicer as they can be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family for two nights. I stayed in I floor which is not good as it has restaurant. Car parking can be tricky as the lane in which the hotel is situated is narrow. People are frinedly. Food is good.

Room Tip: Do not stay in First floor and in the rooms facing the road as they receive lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.1 mi away
Crescent Resort
Crescent Resort
#32 of 98 in Darjeeling
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 98 in Darjeeling
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Little Tibet Resort
Little Tibet Resort
#14 of 98 in Darjeeling
215 reviews
2.6 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#9 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Hotel

Property: Viceroy Hotel
Address: 17, Gandhi Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viceroy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Hotel is situated in the heart of the town, just next to the clock tower & all the rooms give a clear view of the mighty kanchanjunja's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing