We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Planning in Hotel Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited this hotel with lots of expectation as indicated in the web site, but were disappointed partially. First, the duplex room allotted was in the 7th floor with no lifts ( as is the custom in Darjeeling, I was told). The bed room in the top floor has no bathroom attached for which one has to come down through a wooden stair in the room below.The cleanliness of the rooms was below expectation.

Room Tip: Take a room facing east to enjoy the sun throughout the day.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank butterfly304558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel along with my family between 21st March to 23rd march'14, Stayed in double deluxe room; Room size is small however they given me mountain view room
I have experienced poor services ,room service takes 30-45 mins with several follow ups if you need B/F early (7.30 AM) , they can accommodate only toast & tea ....staff was OK
I did not find this hotel a great experience , Room heater is chargeable and food variety is also very limited and taste is OK
Location is certainly an advantage as this is near to Mall

Room Tip: Room on the back side with 4th & 5th floor have mountain view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Near_Far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I visited this hotel in Dec.2011with family. It was very good, comfort & location wise it was at right place, It is a budget hotel in winter and clean. Manager is also helpfull. It is near the Mall road and Chowrasta.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuldipchopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Every thing very good. Location wise very good, service very good, value for money, room facilities very good, restaurant food was homely made, staffs behaviour so good. Only two things the hotel to note please-More interior designs and room heater.

Room Tip: Rooms interior needs attention
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shukra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It was a good stay in this hotel. The room that I booked using make my trip doesn't have a private balcony but it has a full view window through which you can view the peaks. The foods were good and tasty. The rooms a clean and tidy. This hotel is very closest to the mall and one can reach mall simply by walking. Overall, its a budgeted good hotel one can look for....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankush G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish27virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very nice hotel and helpful manager and front desk. Its location is excellent. Only set back is rooms are poorly ventilated and need better maintenance and cleanliness. And upper floors only has hill views. Restaurant is not up to the mark. Excellent LCD modern TVs with dish TV arrangement. Budget hotel. Expect good Travel assistance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASMTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 mi away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#78 of 98 in Darjeeling
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
2.4 mi away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#16 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 98 in Darjeeling
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range: £24 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing