We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darjeeling Gymkhana Resort
Ranked #77 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had been to Gymkhana Resort in 2008. I just love the experince and was very sorry we just stayed one night.The food was AWESOME and we hogged like pigs. It was very cold and the lit the fire making us very comfortable. I look forward to visiting Gymkhana again.The view from the rooms are also great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdgsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Cleanliness : No Tissue Papers in toilet, red stain on a towel, don't even know if mattresses were washed or not...?

Service : We asked for ice, he brought 4 cubes when asked for more he said "we only have this much with us"; person broke handle of our luggage by mishandling it; very very rude, i thought he was paying me to stay there.

Location : No View, if you wanna see the valley. Could only see the trees.

Food : I ordered Paneer and it left like i am eating uncooked potato(it was very very hard)

Rooms : Good, only because it was made by Britishers. But not maintained - window glass was broken in the windy cold night. Even the cupboard was broken.

Sleep Quality : Spooky and scary environment makes you feel like you staying with ghosts.

I took my money back from the person who booked my room and never in my life i would advise even my enemies to go there.

I was happy that I had to stay there for a night only.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyushM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Cupertino, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I have been to this place when there was a lot of tension in Darjeeling Valley in last week of April 2010 with family and a young children. Found it really good and reasonably priced, good food, fantastic service. Very closed to market - walkable. I will certainly recommend this for family tourists.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prashant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Well location wise its okay, tea gardens are close by @ walking distance, Himalayan mountaineering institute is also near by, zoo and the market place to shop are also at walking distance. rooms are not bad but not very good. room service is good u order and will get the food of ur choice depending on the availabilty of stuff to cook in half n hour. staff is good & humble. can be stayed in - no harm.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I stayed at gymkhana resort with my family and we had courteous staff to welcome and we prefrebally liked its location and interior of the rooms was done very royal. it was kind of old heritage hotel and staff was good and manager was very helpful. its nice place honeymooners as well since its location is very exotic. we found it value for money hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank londontravelexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

One of the places in Darjeeling that offers Good rooms,better room services and the food is alos quite good.
Again its location away form the Main market makes it quite relaxing, though not quite that far that you cannot walk your way to the market

  • Liked — Its a quiet place and not far away from the main marketplace
  • Disliked — The Bathrooms can be a bit bigger
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntpasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#23 of 98 in Darjeeling
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
1.1 mi away
Seven Seas Hotel
Seven Seas Hotel
#41 of 98 in Darjeeling
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 98 in Darjeeling
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ivanhoe House
The Ivanhoe House
#45 of 98 in Darjeeling
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darjeeling Gymkhana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darjeeling Gymkhana Resort

Property: Darjeeling Gymkhana Resort
Address: The Mall,, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Darjeeling Gymkhana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Darjeeling Gymkhana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darjeeling Gymkhana Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing