We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Location but................”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Walson Spa "O" Tel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Ranked #113 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better Location but................”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel, its very good location but need to improve their services in all areas, especially in restaurant. I stayed in double bedroom its very very small room, I never see that kind of small double bedroom but its ok coz its my business trip so I came to hotel for only sleep, construction is going on some where very near I can't sleep that days...Restaurant - complementary breakfast very very limited items.

Overall its ok for one or two day business trip, but not suitable for family...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nKrishnakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAWACONTINENTAL, Manager at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenienced caused to you during your stay at Hotel Bawa Walson in terms of the noise which was due to the renovation work of upgrading our facilities. The renovation work is now completed we would like to invite to you to experience our upgraded facilities in your next visit.


We regret that your experience did not match up to your expectations and we trust you will appreciate that this does not in any way reflect our usual service levels and hope you will give us a chance to showcase the quality of our hotel and regain your confidence.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    82
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
40
44
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked 5 days to stay here, while visiting some friends in Kolkata. We chose here because the trip advisor pictures showed clean rooms, and had pleasant reviews. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were appalled to see the condition of the rooms, the rude and unpleasant staff and the mediocrity of food and drink services.

Firstly, please see the pictures we have uploaded for the mold, tatty linen and extremely poor conditions of the room we had to endure. The windows were covered in mold and the whole room had a very damp smell. The air conditioning only seemed to make the smell worse and our experience more arduous. The linen, was ripped, tatty and had obviously seen better days.

The first morning we went down for breakfast (included) the cutlery was very dirty, the bread for toast was stale - the alternatives limited and unappealing. We ended up making a cup of awful coffee and leaving to find somewhere better to eat! Breakfast buffets throughout our stay in India were never great but certainly considerably above the standard set out by this hotel.

We then planned to go out to a bar for drinks and one of our friends came back to the hotel to get ready(she lived further out of Kolkata), to which we were rudely told that we would have to pay a 2500 rupee charge. We explained that our friend would just be getting changed and not staying the night. The staff argued with us and became very threatening in their behaviour. After considerable and unpleasant debate they agreed to let our friend get changed but said that we only had 20 minutes. We dashed to our room and proceeded to get ready. After 20 minutes our friend was almost ready when the staff began banging on the door - we explained that we needed a few more minutes to get ready to which they would not oblige. Our friend was not ready and had no intentions of staying but they continued to aggressively assault our room door and became very intimidating. After a heated discussion with the staff about their behaviour - we proceeded out to celebrate our friends birthday; the whole experienced marred by the simply shocking behaviour of the staff.

The next day we were accosted by the hotel manager, I explained in-depth the appalling behaviour of his staff - to which he insisted that we owed the 2500 rupees. After an unpleasant exchange with him, we packed our things and arranged to stay with our friend instead of the hotel - cutting our stay by two nights.

I understand that hotels have policies but discretion is absolutely necessary and did not in any way justify their intimidating behaviour and obvious lack of interest in our custom beyond the monetary exchange.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cerise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAWACONTINENTAL, Manager at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenienced caused to you during your stay at Hotel Bawa Walson in terms of the cleanliness & the behaviour of our employees. We assure you that we have initiated corrective measures to rectify the said.

We regret that your experience did not match up to your expectations and we trust you will appreciate that this does not in any way reflect our usual service levels and hope you will give us a chance to showcase the quality of our hotel and regain your confidence.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel on return from Darjeeling. The hotel is 1 minute walking distance from the Museum and 5 minutes from the new market, lindsay street area. Getting metro, cabs and trams was never a problem. The rooms were okay-ish (we stayed on the ground floor rooms) - First we were provided with a small room ( we checked in early), however, on request, we were immediately provided with a better and bigger room. the ambiance of the hotel inside is really very good. It's completely based on a Buddhist theme, hence one would find statuettes, Buddhist signs and hymns everywhere. the chants are heard in the lobby through the sound system - but it's quite easy on the ears and feel very enchanted (Of course, it is a Spatel - as they say).
There is 24/7 hot water, however, the water sorts gave out a stink in my room - may the faucets were not good, as the accompanying families did not have any issues.
The beds were okay types - not very firm - 2 out of 3 beds in our rooms were not steady.
Food quality is good and reasonable. The breakfast spread was limited - but okay.
If you have shopping and visiting the Kolkata Monuments in mind - This Hotel can be a choice. But the surrounding area is typical Kolkata - all hustle bustle and not very easy on the eyes. However, once in the hotel - it's different story.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the floors except the ground ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preetamkabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed this hotel with my wife on our way to Darjeeling.Rooms are well decorated and standard are quite good. location wise its in the center of our activities. Staffs are helpful.We kept our luggage in our way to darjeeling.On our return everything was in order.
We recommend traveler to choose this hotel. Though improvement needed in the Breakfast menu.All in all one can relax without any hassle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashak1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My second visit to bawa, unlike last time, elevator was functional and everything else was as it was. Room I stayed were rather very small, but I was aware of the size so it was not unexpected. Price that I pay for, probably will go back again. Check in, room service, check out all were 10 out of 10 but I would request them to improve breakfast services like refilling. My rating for this property would be 7/10.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderExe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I totally loved this hotel, its beautiful decor and the serene music in the background. It was wonderful to come back from the hot noisy street into the cool and quiet corridors. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shulinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

It all depends whether you want to be on Sudder Street, which is the foreigner/backpacker ghetto. If you do, the Bawa Walson is a good option. Three minutes from the India Museum, five minutes from Park Street. The property is new and well-maintained, with nice Buddhist-themed art everywhere. Staff are helpful and attentive, and the rooms, while a bit standard-issue, are clean and comfortable. Food in the restaurant is OK, but it's outdoors without a/c, which can be a problem in Calcutta.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#60 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#33 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#44 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#128 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walson Spa "O" Tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walson Spa "O" Tel

Property: Walson Spa "O" Tel
Address: 5-A Sudder Street, Taltala, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Walson Spa "O" Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walson known as erstwhile Walson Hotel, the newly refurbished Walson Spa o Tel, opened its doors to the indulgence seeking populace on 1st Sept 2010 in the city's central districts such as park street and the new market, make it a sought after location to be in. The vibrance & the exuberance of the city are at an arm's reach as major shopping markets, cinema hall, the Victoria Memorial and underground metro network and famous Hawarah station and corporate sector in Park Street all situated in the vicinity. This makes the hotel an ideal place of convenience and indulgence both for business travelers and tourists. The rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities and are luxuriously furnished o allow the patrons to sink into leisurely & delightful stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walson Spa "O" Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawa Walson Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Walson Spa "O" Tel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing