We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and a good base.”
Review of Walson Spa "O" Tel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Ranked #149 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Central location and a good base.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We spent the first of two weeks in Kolkata here. Small room but we were assured that we had the biggest room in the hotel. The breakfasts were very ample once we got the hang of what was on offer. Do ask for an omelette etc and the hotel is happy to oblige. As we were teaching all day we spent very little time here but its closeness to good restaurants and the New Market was a bonus.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately even they could not persuade taxi drivers outside the hotel to use the meter!
The room was a bit tired looking despite the age of the hotel. The water a bit brown and the towels grey. On one occasion the towel was really dirty and the staff bought up a brand new one.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    81
    72
    32
    25
See reviews for
40
44
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As compared to the other properties of BAWA hotels, this one simply puts you off from its approach road, the ambiance and the reception area. The rooms are too small to fit in comfortably and top of that adjoining rooms are too close to simply hinder ones privacy and peace.

Room Tip: Better opt for a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aug703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

food is good for money, staff is also very good
toilet are clean and rooms are tidy and comfortable

metro station is at walking distance and you get taxi parked outside the hotel at any time of the day

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaur82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in bawa walson for one night.The hotel was in sudder street,which is a very narrow one way street.Crowded and shaddy area.The room provided to us was very small and not renovated as they advertise on the web.
The welcome at the reception was below average.
Bathrooms were average and the water was dirty.The did not provide hot water on the first day,and the refused to give me a shower cap.The buffet breakfast at the restaurant was not a good spread,and it was located on the 4 floor.
Overall it was a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: No comments !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I really enjoyed my 3-day stay at E-Hotel. Every member of staff was extremely courteous and helpful, and went the extra mile to make sure that I was having a good stay.

Location is excellent with both shopping and cultural / historical areas nearby. Having the huge New Market next door is a plus because there are many food options and you can easily pick up anything you may need.

The room was extremely comfortable and well-decorated, with great, reliable WiFi, great TV service, and great AC.

The only minor drawback is Room Service / Restaurent was too Slow

Next time I'll probably just stay at the Bawa Walson as the location is much better too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avnitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel, its very good location but need to improve their services in all areas, especially in restaurant. I stayed in double bedroom its very very small room, I never see that kind of small double bedroom but its ok coz its my business trip so I came to hotel for only sleep, construction is going on some where very near I can't sleep that days...Restaurant - complementary breakfast very very limited items.

Overall its ok for one or two day business trip, but not suitable for family...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nKrishnakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAWACONTINENTAL, Manager at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenienced caused to you during your stay at Hotel Bawa Walson in terms of the noise which was due to the renovation work of upgrading our facilities. The renovation work is now completed we would like to invite to you to experience our upgraded facilities in your next visit.


We regret that your experience did not match up to your expectations and we trust you will appreciate that this does not in any way reflect our usual service levels and hope you will give us a chance to showcase the quality of our hotel and regain your confidence.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked 5 days to stay here, while visiting some friends in Kolkata. We chose here because the trip advisor pictures showed clean rooms, and had pleasant reviews. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were appalled to see the condition of the rooms, the rude and unpleasant staff and the mediocrity of food and drink services.

Firstly, please see the pictures we have uploaded for the mold, tatty linen and extremely poor conditions of the room we had to endure. The windows were covered in mold and the whole room had a very damp smell. The air conditioning only seemed to make the smell worse and our experience more arduous. The linen, was ripped, tatty and had obviously seen better days.

The first morning we went down for breakfast (included) the cutlery was very dirty, the bread for toast was stale - the alternatives limited and unappealing. We ended up making a cup of awful coffee and leaving to find somewhere better to eat! Breakfast buffets throughout our stay in India were never great but certainly considerably above the standard set out by this hotel.

We then planned to go out to a bar for drinks and one of our friends came back to the hotel to get ready(she lived further out of Kolkata), to which we were rudely told that we would have to pay a 2500 rupee charge. We explained that our friend would just be getting changed and not staying the night. The staff argued with us and became very threatening in their behaviour. After considerable and unpleasant debate they agreed to let our friend get changed but said that we only had 20 minutes. We dashed to our room and proceeded to get ready. After 20 minutes our friend was almost ready when the staff began banging on the door - we explained that we needed a few more minutes to get ready to which they would not oblige. Our friend was not ready and had no intentions of staying but they continued to aggressively assault our room door and became very intimidating. After a heated discussion with the staff about their behaviour - we proceeded out to celebrate our friends birthday; the whole experienced marred by the simply shocking behaviour of the staff.

The next day we were accosted by the hotel manager, I explained in-depth the appalling behaviour of his staff - to which he insisted that we owed the 2500 rupees. After an unpleasant exchange with him, we packed our things and arranged to stay with our friend instead of the hotel - cutting our stay by two nights.

I understand that hotels have policies but discretion is absolutely necessary and did not in any way justify their intimidating behaviour and obvious lack of interest in our custom beyond the monetary exchange.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cerise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAWACONTINENTAL, Manager at Walson Spa "O" Tel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenienced caused to you during your stay at Hotel Bawa Walson in terms of the cleanliness & the behaviour of our employees. We assure you that we have initiated corrective measures to rectify the said.

We regret that your experience did not match up to your expectations and we trust you will appreciate that this does not in any way reflect our usual service levels and hope you will give us a chance to showcase the quality of our hotel and regain your confidence.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#172 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#43 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#79 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#48 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#35 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#176 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walson Spa "O" Tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walson Spa "O" Tel

Property: Walson Spa "O" Tel
Address: 5-A Sudder Street, Taltala, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walson Spa "O" Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walson known as erstwhile Walson Hotel, the newly refurbished Walson Spa o Tel, opened its doors to the indulgence seeking populace on 1st Sept 2010 in the city's central districts such as park street and the new market, make it a sought after location to be in. The vibrance & the exuberance of the city are at an arm's reach as major shopping markets, cinema hall, the Victoria Memorial and underground metro network and famous Hawarah station and corporate sector in Park Street all situated in the vicinity. This makes the hotel an ideal place of convenience and indulgence both for business travelers and tourists. The rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities and are luxuriously furnished o allow the patrons to sink into leisurely & delightful stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walson Spa "O" Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawa Walson Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Walson Spa "O" Tel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing