We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean budget hotel”
Review of Mangalam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mangalam Hotel
Ranked #140 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Panjim, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean budget hotel”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Well located for business-like activities. Not close to the metro but plenty of taxis in the vicinity. Very well maintained & clean with excellent bathrooms though small rooms. Complimentary breakfast of the no frills type is served in a small dining room. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chemengg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
2
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my mother. My room was Executive Room. The room was small, but clean. Bathroom and Toilets were also clean. They clean your room everyday or whenever you ask them to do so.The hotel staff were friendly and quite helpful.

Breakfast was included in my booking (I booked the room online) and it was quite delicious. Breakfast normally includes 1 or 2 south Indian dishes like Dosa, Idli, Sambhar Vada, Toast, Butter, JAM, Aaloo Parantha, Tea or Coffee.

We also had dinner in this hotel. The food was delicious, but bit expensive. You can directly go to their restaurant for lunch and dinner OR order the food directly in your room (includes Service Charge/TAX)

Other facilities included/present in my room were:

1. Wi-Fi - You need to get WiFonic Username and Password from the front desk. AFAIK the Username and Password is valid for 24 Hours and doesn't work with multiple Wi-Fi enabled devices. You need to use it for one device only, else it expires automatically.

2. Mini Bar with NO alcoholic drinks - That's great!

3. 24 Hours Room Service - I always used the room service for refilling my Water Bottles for FREE, instead of using small paid Mineral Water Bottles from Mini Bar. Keep in mind, the water everywhere at Kolkata is very hard, but the Hotel use Aqua Guard Water Purifier.

The hotel in 21 KM from Air Port and you can get a YELLOW Taxi for almost anywhere. The nearest Metro Station from this Hotel is NETAJI BHAWAN

Overall, I had a pleasant experience in this hotel and I can recommend this hotel to everyone. Will stay again in this hotel :)

P.S. This is my first review on TripAdvisor. Hope I have included all the possible details :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrinTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Considering the pictures and description, and forgetting to read all comments I booked this hotel for 3 nights. Wall paint in the hall is decrepit. The room was terrible, walls full of stains , bedsheets were half clean (?), bathroom dreadful. I managed to have bedsheets changed for clean ones as well as towels. They even gave us toiletpaper!! But still room was shabby. I visited somme others they were all in same dishevelled conditionTop of all, one fully benefits of the air conditionning of the restaurant on ground floor and it is very noisy. Breakfast is also poor, mainly indian food not much choice. I would not at all recommend this place. It seems it is hardly better than a guesthouse but a lot more expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erythrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We had stayed In Mangalam a few months back. Reception staff were good and polite. Rooms were neat and clean. Breakfast included in the tarrif was great. Rooms were spacious and well maintained. As for the other hotels on Sarat Bose Road this hotel has great connectivity to the central Kolkata. Nothing to complain about. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vrfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Would stay again if my usual guesthouse was not available. Expensive for what you get but that's Calcutta .
Staff friendly . Room service meal was slow but good . Reasonable breakfast included .
Street noise was intrusive during the night.
Location - not bad and room was fine. Bathroom fine.
A non veg restaurant opposite and veg restaurant on site

A good option for Calcutta if you want moderately priced.





  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I'd give this hotel 3.5 stars. There were some problems with my stay- at first they had no record of my reservation and it was 2 am so I may have had to go back out into the street (but they let me stay and it turned out to be fine), a number of the staff didn't speak English, there was sometimes no hot water, and I found a bed bug in my jacket- but they changed my room promptly when I complained and I had no more problems (with bed bugs) and it is very inexpensive for what you get. Rooms are decent, breakfast is decent, and they even brought it to my room for no charge. I had extremely inexpensive massages in my room each day, about $500 rupees for an hour, which was great. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddhistTourist Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Hotel Mangalam is a relatively new hotel ; just about a 15 minute ride away from the very well known Park Street. The small hotel itself looks neat. The staff is attentive and helpful.

We checked in to our executive room, not large but good enough to accommodate 3 individuals with an extra bed. The beds were extremely comfortable with crisp linens and soft pillows. The room service is quick. The bathrooms are relatively big and clean.

The hotel has just one restaurant – with an extensive menu though. The food is relatively good. The breakfast buffet is not an extravagant spread. A choice of continental and Indian breakfast; with either South Indian or Punjabi dish on a rotational basis.

The hotel is extremely simple hence one must not go with a fancy picture in mind. The hotel is value for money with good basic facilities. We had no complains.

Room Tip: advance booking since the hotel is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khyati11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.6 mi away
Shila International Hotel
Shila International Hotel
#111 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ratnakar Inn Hotel
Ratnakar Inn Hotel
#101 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#41 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#73 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Chip
Blue Chip
#80 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Palace Hotel
Park Palace Hotel
#142 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangalam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangalam Hotel

Property: Mangalam Hotel
Address: 44 Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mangalam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the city , with the best of the amenities available at your hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mangalam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangalam Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing