We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, centrally located”
Review of Avenue Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenue Club Hotel
Ranked #119 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Burdwan
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean, centrally located”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is an old hotel but maintained nicely.
Located just opposite to the gate of the famous 'Medical College, Calcutta'. Presidency College, Calcutta University, Calcutta School of Tropical Medicine and the Book market of College Street are all nearby and walking distance. Very close to 'Central' Metro station and on the Chittaranjan Avenue. So finding the hotel is never a problem.
Room are good, well maintained.
They have room service, but no restaurant.
Entrance of the hotel is not attractive.
Stay and sleep is good. But higher priced compared to the standard. At the price, breakfast should have been included with stay.
However, good for short stay if you have work in Central Kolkata, Sealdah, or the Calcutta University/ Medical College area.

Room Tip: This is for short stay only. Try room in the lower floors as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandyBurdwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our stay was comfortable and food was good. I really liked the location as it was at walking distance from the Central Metro station. The staff were courteous and helpful. Overall, a budget hotel for a short stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AbhinavSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The location is good for stay if you are on business as this is located close to the business district.

Very poor service, the attitude of the front desk and other in the hotel is very rude and more like telling you "you don't like it then leave, we have booking".

If you want to spend a lot more than just the hotel rent then check into this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iman1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Satara, India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel & I would recommend this hotel if one is looking for a budget stay (Rs 2100 for a Delux Room). This is a small hotel with about only 15-16 rooms but it's location is what makes it special. Located in heart of central Kolkata on a busy chittaranjan street exactly in front of kolkata medical college with the famous park street only 2 stations away & one can go there by a metro as metro station is only 2-3 mins away from this hotel. Rooms were clean & decent but I felt the bed linen could hav been more cleaner. Also food is good but a bit expensive for a budget hotel. The only part I would like to warn about is tip hungry staff. I was really surprised when a waiter serving food indirectly asked me for tip & offered to give me back change when I told him that I was not having any change at that moment. But as I have said in my previous review this hotel is good overall for a budget stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We got to this hotel at 3am after a very long day of delayed flights. The staff were fantastic, they were friendly and welcoming even at 3 am! The room was big enough, and very clean. There was no hot water though. The food was tasty. We got a newspaper at our door every morning. The only negative thing I have to say about this hotel was that we felt under pressure to eat at the hotel every day. When we were leaving/entering the hotel, the staff would constantly ask us if we wanted food etc. But overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dub26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satara, India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This is small hotel located on busy chittaranjan street in heart of central Kolkata. My 2 days stay at this hotel was comfortable. Rooms are good with decent service & proof food. It is a perfect budget hotel in central Kolkata with very good connectivity as metro station is about 5 mins away from here. Also the famous park street is also couple of stations away. Overall a good hotel at budget price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalpakkam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 19:30 hrs on 22nd May 2012 to 16:00 hrs on 24th May. The hotel is situated just opp to Kolkata Medical college hospital on the main road. The prepaid taxi from airport charged Rs 220/-. Initially booking was difficult as they generally do not respond to window shoppers. Once I sent the scanned copies of my air ticket to clubinn@cal2.vsnl.net.in> they asked for just a token amount of Rs 1000/- and had the rooms (i had booked two rooms) ready. The rooms are located on the first and second floors. The entry to the hotel in ground floor is just an aisle. The check in procedure of taking photos instilled a better sense of security. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds and toilets were pretty neat. The food served by room service was good. The staff were courteous, friendly and highly co-operative. Though the checkout time was 12:00 noon they were gracious enough to allow us to use the rooms for 4 hours extra without any additional charges and arguements.The disadvantages are lack of lift service and lack of travel desk. But as the hotel is situated on the main road enough taxis are available. Would definitely advise travellers to choose this hotel for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPRML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolkata (Calcutta)
0.0 mi away
Treebo Diamond Plaza
Treebo Diamond Plaza
#65 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalay
Hotel Himalay
#170 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beeu Hotel
Beeu Hotel
#75 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#136 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Utsav Plaza
Hotel Utsav Plaza
#2 of 6 in Howrah
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heera
Hotel Heera
#82 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Club Hotel

Property: Avenue Club Hotel
Address: 95 A, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700073, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing