We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shila International Hotel
Ranked #120 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed a couple of nights on our way home in late 2013. Hotel is up a flight of steps above a shop in a location that is walking distance from the Victoria Memorial and a hike to the New Market.
Room was dingy but big, up a flight of rickety stairs and past an open corridor which seemed to run just to the side and below the elevated section of the main road. Adequately clean and facilities worked as advertised.
For a city centre budget hotel, this hotel is adequate for the price and location is good. The airport bus stops just opposite and there is a a modern shopping centre and a bookstore a short walk around the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolphin712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Recently i stayed in this hotel for two days. The worst hotel in the world. Lots of problems. Dirty pillos, dirty bed, the tab water comes with germs, if you bath your body will be itching. The room was stining badly. No credit card payment acceptable. And al the above, the charges are exorbitant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank sridhar1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at this place for 2 days just before the new year. Its a good budget hotel - If you are looking at Just crashing for the night and are looking for hot steaming good food (I am a vegetarian!). My parents were travelling for the first time to calcutta and I took my chance by booking this hotel online. The hotel guys did not let me down. Its at the centre of the city (About 50 mins from the airport!) and the tariff was reasonable.The rooms are a bit small, but if you are looking for a good clean place to just eat and relax after a hectic day of travelling all across Calcutta (as a tourist!) - then do prefer this. The rooms close to the reception are a bit more spacious than the others. The long corridors some times give the feel of moving through a railway compartment. The food was good and the service was very prompt. I have a penchant for cleanliness and the housekeeping staff worked to maintain the standards (But you have to guide them a bit!). Once I felt that somebody had smoked in the corridors as the air was a bit smelly; informed the reception and they immediately opened up all the windows and doors and cleaned up the corridors. The photos uploaded here - did not give me a complete picture of the hotel and I hope to fill up that gap; An Overall rating of 3.5/5;

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms facing the Acharya jagadish Chandra Bose Road; Prefer rooms closer to the Reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psaiguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights and my first impression of hotel was ok. However when i entered the room it was disappointingly small with practically no space to even keep some luggage. Bathroom was ok, geyser not working. There is no restaurant in hotel but room service is prompt and food is good(i had vegetarian). The best thing about hotel is its location. At 500 metres from Rabindra Sadan metro and 1 km walk through arterial raods to Park street, it is really in the heart of Kolkata. Staff was polite and eager to help which was helpful in otherwise a strictly average hotel.

Room Tip: choose on facing the ACJ Bose road as rooms in the backside are terrible in size and view both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kulbhushan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A good option for a budget stay in Kolkata. The location is the biggest plus point of the hotel. Good food. The complimentary breakfast is quite sumptuous. The ambience is old fashioned and the windows face other buildings or the road. Best option if booking for a business/overnight trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Payal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Considering that this hotel is in one of the most expensive areas of Kolkata, I found the rates very reasonable. The room was well maintained and clean. Room service was good and you get complimentary wi-fi as well. Public amenities are easily available and it's walking distance from Park Street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Ankit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

i really cant square the reviews iv seen on this hotel on trip advisor with the hotel itself. how anyone can rate this 4 out of 5 is beyond me. When you walk into the hotel itself the first think that hits you is the smell of stale smoke, it stinks and its not helped by the gang of men hanging about outside our room smoking and watching cricket all night.

We got shown to our choice of two rooms, both tiny both damp both in dire need of repair. The dampness in the largest of the rooms was terrible and after waking up after one noisy polluted( the air con is directly onto the busy street so fumes are the order of the night) night we headed up the road to another hotel abandoning our further two day in Shila for the comfort of Hotel Casa Fortuna.

Staff are lovely and helpful but this is a terrible hotel DO NOT BOOK

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.7 mi away
FabHotel Pawan Putra Kakurgachi
FabHotel Pawan Putra Kakurgachi
#99 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
28 reviews
2.6 mi away
Treebo Vedanta
Treebo Vedanta
#34 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
21 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#45 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Garden
Hotel Royal Garden
#128 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bengal Inn
Bengal Inn
#66 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
14 reviews
1.0 mi away
OYO 3055 Hotel Beeu
OYO 3055 Hotel Beeu
#60 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shila International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shila International Hotel

Address: 233/3 Acharya Jagadish Chandra Bose Road | Opp. Gorky Sadan, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £23 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shila International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shila International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shila International Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing