We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Suites(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jameson Inn Shiraz(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vedic Village Spa Resort(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
160
275
194
72
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
275
194
72
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe heart of the cityswimming poolcamac streetcoffee shopbreakfast spreadbusiness hotelbusiness triphotel is centrally locatedcheck in was smoothmetro stationrooms are spaciousvictoria memorialfood qualitycomfortable stayfront officehhidisco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Talking about the general staff on the floor nnothing the ones behind the counter
1.an illiterate staff goes around giving orange juice to anyone who has just arrived and he misses over 70% guests there
2.when the bell boy reached with our luggage we tipped him before he could ask for it as a general courtesy. The complimentary water was missing and we asked him to get it for us. Instantly he called the house keeping staff of tht floor and iNTRODUCED him to us sayn 'sir he is looking after this floor n he will provide you with what you need'. He got the water for us which was missing and stood there expecting a TIP.
3. The attendant outside was negotiating the rates of a cool cab us and when the cab driver did not agree the attendant asked us to go in and ask the travel desk to arrange a taxi. Attendant of a good 5 star hotel wud have gone himself instead of ordering their guests
4. Evening I was on a call and walking in the passage on my floor near the lift, now this staff walks out of the lift and stood in front of me, constantly kept on greeting me and kept on looking at me even after I greeted him back ,expecting a tip.
5. While checking out on our way to the lift this staff there saw us and instanly asked us if we were checking out, we said yes, instantly he asked us how did you find the service to be and kept on looking at us for a tip untill we left.
6. When we got down the stairs of the hotel and got near the car with the bell boy who was carrying our luggage, about 6 other people including guards attendants drivers surrounded us n started greeting us opened the door of the car expecting a tip.
7. The ceiling is damp and has fungal growth at quite a few places
8. I REQUEST THE MANAGEMENT TO CHARGE RS 500 PER NIGHT MORE THEN WHAT THEY INTEND TO CHARGE N PAY THEIR GREEDY EMPLOYEES MORE N TELL THEM NOT TO BRING ANY MORE DISGRACE TO THE HOTEL

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saumitra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Kolkatta was the last destination as we arrived early morning from hongkong looked for nice sleep. But was very upset seeing the room and on top of that the bed size whic cannot accomodate 2 people at a time properly. We didnot have more options as it was too early morning and we were thoroghly tired. But what i liked about the hotel was good food. And central location of the hotel otherwise average.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank raviGuwahati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time out to reviewing the hotel as your feedback is very valuable to us.

We are glad that you liked our food and and our central location. We pride ourselves in our food and beverage department and are coming with a new pan asian outlet called The Oriental Express. We hope that you would like that as well.

We are very disappointed to hear that the other aspects of your stay did not exceed your expectations. We are constantly trying to improve guest experiences. We will brief the Front Office team regarding the allocation of beds based on the guest requirement.

We hope that you would stay with us once again in the not too distant further and would also request you to put in a special request at the time of booking to book our rooms with the king size beds.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Shashank Jaiswal
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Its a nice hotel , very good location,, room & bath rooms are bit congested but are nicely done...
stayed during a marriage event... housekeeping was good but took along time...
Food at Kalash was nice,, bit pricey !

Overall stay was nice...Good Hotel :)

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GauravJalan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from The HHI Kolkata and thank you for taking time out to reviewing the hotel.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us and we are glad that you like our hospitality. We are one of Kolkata's most centrally located hotels and have a wide variety of dining and entertainment options within the hotel.

We will try to improve the turn around times within the housekeeping and it is a constant endeavour to reduce service times.

We hope that you would stay with us once again in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very good business hotel. Complimentary fruits and cookies were served at room. Breakfast was excellent with different of indian, continental and other cuisine.The pool was small but clean. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KA_Kabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for taking time out to reviewing The HHI Kolkata! It was indeed a pleasure to have you staying at the hotel.

We are extremely glad that you were satisfied with our hospitality and services. We constantly try to exceed our guests expectations. Being one of the most centrally located hotels we are never too far from any place in Kolkata. We always try to combine the best of value, product and services for our guests. For Shopping and leisure we are very close to the Forum and Quest malls, Park Street and New Market area are just a 10min taxi ride away.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Kolkata and look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future and hope that you would stay with once again.

Warm Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my second stay at HHI Kolkata after almost 2 years, and they have certainly improved in service. No doubt hotel is located very centrally in Kolkata but it lacked the service promptness previously. This time I found the staff more friendly, accommodating and prompt with service requests.
In fact one of my colleague who was staying in the next room to me found a small cockroach in the bathroom, they immediately changed his room and even sent an apology chocolate cake :)
I ordered food and some other things in the room at various times of the day and they were not only very prompt in service but did it with a smile at all times.
Their buffet breakfast has a good spread and quality.
The only negative of this hotel is the price of the restaurant food. Food is obnoxiously costly, most basic dish is also not less that rupees 550-600. A dinner for one person would be easily 2000 rupees. And that is the reason I saw many people in elevators walking in with their packed food from outside during the evening. They must look into it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SwetankJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time out to review The HHI Kolkata as your words of encouragement are the driving force behind delivering great guest experiences.

We are very glad to know that you have noticed an improvement in our services. We take constant training sessions with our team to ensure that they are always ready for delivering a service with a smile. We always insist on the fact that even the best hotels have issues but it is how sensitive the staff are towards the demands of their guest which ultimately is the difference.

One tip that we give to travellers is to book a meal inclusive rate with their company or the booking channel they have used as that provides excellent value.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews