We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel perfectly located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Ranked #34 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located near park street on AJC bose road and is in close proximity to the heart of the city. Rooms are good though new amenities are lacking . Breakfast is good and room service is also ok. Swimming pool and health centre is present which is lacking in many other similar hotels nearby. Disc by the name of underground is a great place to unwind.
Overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank raka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We Thank you for taking time out to reviewing The HHI Kolkata! It has been our pleasure to have you staying with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and it is the driver for constant improvement.

The team is glad to learn that your stay has been satisfactory and that you are happy with our rooms and central location. We have passed on your feedback to the management with regards to improving the in room amenities.

The HHI has many dining options for our guests to choose from and we are very happy to announce the opening of our new pan asian cuisine restaurant, The Oriental Express. We hope that you would be able to experience that in your next stay with us.

Looking forward to your next visit to the City Of Joy, Kolkata and to The HHI in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    261
    170
    69
    47
See reviews for
111
50
72
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My first stay at the property and it was very good indeed. The hotel's central location is excellent and is right on AJC Bose Road which is one of the main roads of Kolkata. Traffic can sometimes be an issue but that just seems to be stating the obvious, an issue that the whole country is facing! The rooms of the hotel were nice and well maintained. Housekeeping staff were very helpful and prompt with the services. Check in and checkout was quick too. Breakfast spread was lavish and we could not have asked for more. We could not use some of the restaurants in the hotel but would certainly give it a go in our next visit to the city and the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raji_Vizag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We Thank You for taking time out to review The HHI Kolkata! Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are very glad to know that you are extremely satisfied with your stay and have recommended the hotel to others. It is our constant endeavour to make improvements to our property and services to ensure the highest standards in guest satisfaction.

The HHI has many dining options for our guests to choose from and we are very happy to announce the opening of our new pan asian cuisine restaurant, The Oriental Express. We hope that you would be able to experience that in your next stay with us.

Looking forward to your next visit to the City Of Joy, Kolkata and to The HHI in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal,
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was my second stay at The HHI, Kolkata. But unlike the Taj Group, they do not have a CRM that recognizes that. That, I think, can pass as an unfair comparison between a global hospitality giant and a homegrown brand that started with 1 property.

That brings me to the good points about the hotel. It is one of the older properties in Kolkata, but is well maintained for its vintage. As some TripAdvisors have said, it could still do better with maintenance of rooms etc., but I would rate it higher in terms of upkeep compared to say the much more fancied The Park in New Delhi. You can read my review of The Park to know why.

My room was spacious and clean, and it did not have the typical smell that you get in old or less used rooms. Pointer to both good patronage and good maintenance. The bathroom was evidently re-done with modern fitments. The wardrobe door was hanging precariously; not sure by design or default. I did not like the twin bed, but I had not specifically asked for a King bed, as I do when I stay at the other properties. Also, I'm not sure if my room was the 'Imperial' category, as my reservation details mentioned. There was no way to find out.

The hotel has multiple dining and entertainment options. I could only visit Mytth, the all day dining restaurant for breakfast. The spread was good but not great.

The staff was helpful during check in and check out. They appear to have a CRM in place as I was handed over a feedback form and I got an email requesting for feedback as well.

My final verdict on the CRM will come when I receive the mobile charger that I had forgotten in my room. I mentioned that in my feedback email and have been promised that the charger will be sent to my address. Great if that happens.

Room Tip: Just check on what the room types mean in terms of size, facilities etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piush_Jha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us! We thank you for your insightful feedback as it is very valuable to us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and have recommended us. We are a 44 year hotel but always try to improve and innovate in order to stay in tune with the times.

We have passed on your feedback to our housekeeping and engineering teams with regards to the wardrobe door to have it rectified. We are trying out a new system where it provides our guests with more recognition at the point of Check in specially if they have stayed with us previously. We hope that you would get to experience it in your next visit.

We have already couriered your charger and you should be receiving it within the next few days. We apologise for not having sent to you earlier due to the independence day weekend.

We look forward to your next visit to Kolkata and the The HHI.

Warm Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal.
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I really liked their spacious rooms and breakfast spread! They also have nice baked stuff that can be bought anytime. The location is also perfect and very easy to locate while in Kolkota.

Overall, it is definitely value for money. Don't go there if you are looking for a more green and elaborate "resort" kind of stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeviHaridas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank You for taking time out to review The HHI Kolkata!

It was a pleasure to have you staying at the hotel and the entire team is very glad to know that your experience was very pleasant. We constantly try to innovate and ensure that we are providing top class service at an affordable price.

The HHI Kolkata is one of the best located hotels in the city and our guests have so many ways to unwind after a long hard days work. Either try one of our many in house restaurants or one can find the cuisine of their choice in the nearby Park Street, the newly opened Quest Mall or Forum mall which is literally behind the hotel. Truly an city explorers delight as our guests are never away from the action, be it business or leisure.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Kolkata and The HHI in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal.
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Abysmal service for a hotel.
1. Refused to accept that my travel desk had already made payment.bi had to come back to the hotel later to collect my bags while they checked about payment
2. TV in the room did not work. When I complained to the reception at night the person had the cheek to tell me to use the remote controls for using the tv. On being told that I know how to use the remote to switch on he was supposed to find out problem and call me back which did not happen till the morning
3. They claim free wifi - but speeds are less that 0.10 Mbps
4. There was no hotel car at night that I could rent and use

All in all - a very poor choice of hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Avneeshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time out to review The HHI Kolkata! We were very disappointed to learn that your stay was far below your expectations. We sincerely apologise for all the shortcomings and assure you that your next stay would be perfect.

We apologise for the confusion at the check out counter with regards to your billing instructions. There was a gap in communication system between your travel desk and our reservation system which was subsequently resolved.

We also do apologise for not being able to arrange a car from the travel desk as the city was experiencing a taxi strike and all the hotel vehicles were pre booked or out on duties. We could have arranged a vehicle but would have required an hours prior notice. Usually we are able to arrange taxis either on the spot with the numerous yellow taxis available or with a notice of less than 30 mins for a luxury vehicle. Unfortunately both these options were unavailable to the hotel due to the taxi strike.

We do not accept the shortcomings in service when the TV was not working and the staff who handled the query was more patronising rather than helpful. We have taken this up seriously with that department. We apologise for that and can ensure this is not repeated again. We have also spoken to the management regarding the wifi speed and are working out ways to increase the speed and connectivity.

We are extremely disappointed with the factors that lead to a unsatisfactory stay for you, some within our control other not so much in our hands. However I assure you that if you gave us an opportunity and stay with us we would exceed your expectations.

Looking forward to your next visit to the city and to the HHI.

Best Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Staff is EXCELLENT and very pleasant/responsive. I would like to make a special mention of Puja & Priya in the front desk. As far as the condition of the hotel....it needs to be improved.... Outer Portico flooring, Rooms appear to be very sparse, bathroom sink too small (causes undesired splash-outs).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sraizada2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank You for taking time out to reviewing The HHI Kolkata! We value you opinion and your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

We are glad to know that you are very happy with our staff at the Front Office and we shall most definitely pass the feedback on to the team. The hotel takes constant training to ensure that our staff are always trying to provide guests the simple act of service with a smile which can get very difficult to achieve.

We have also passed on your observation regarding the main porch area and the feedback regarding our washrooms to the engineering team for them to come up with a solution.

We hope that you would come and visit the city once again in the not so distant future and in that visit once again choose the HHI Kolkata.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal.
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is probably one of those old places which goes down steadily over the years, either due to apathy or due to financial stress. The room was just about fine- and linen were OK. But the bathrooms are downright dangerous, with all sorts of stains and creatures- I half expected to see a Bengal Tiger in my bathroom early in the morning- there were enough insects to make me fear the worst. The food was OK and the service indifferent but not bad. It appears that the management finds customers without trying too hard.

Room Tip: Ask specifically if the bathroom is in good shape- in fact, check it out before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarthickBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_HHI_Kolkata, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for taking time out to reviewing The HHI Kolkata! Your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

We are very disappointed to know that your stay was not satisfactory. The condition of the washrooms described by you in your review is not acceptable and in any hotel let alone ours. We have shared this review with our team and they are working on solutions. We care about our guests and try to offer services which are guest centric.

We apologise for this and would request you to try our hotel once again. We are confident of our product and can assure you that we will exceed your expectations in your next visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Shashank Jaiswal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#32 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata

Property: Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Address: 235 / 1 AJC Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HHI Kolkata needs no introduction, yet a walk into the place might make you wonder if you have reached a wrong destination. An overhauled new property, a premium fascia and a new-look lobby, welcome you into a whole new world. At every turn you discover a new face of your well-versed hotel. From the well-groomed staff to the friendly new outlets like the health-club or the swimming pool, everything throws a vibe of warmth around and reflects a sense of trendy living that enchants guests from world over. Ideally located in the center of the city, the hotel offers more than just good lodging. No wonder it is the preferred choice for fairy-tale weddings as much as for corporate power-talks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hindustan International
Hindustan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing