We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Bengali cuisine”
Review of Aaheli

Aaheli
Ranked #13 of 4,184 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good Bengali cuisine”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We ordered Shukto, Mochar Ghanta, Postor Bada and Hilsha fish curry in mustard sauce. I still remember the taste. We had late lunch that day , 15th Feb 2014, started at 2pm and we are the last one to leave almost at 4pm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satrombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    173
    41
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Bengali Cusine”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had our lunch in this restaurant on 15th Feb 2014. Since my wife is pure vegetarian, we ordered Bengali Shukto, Mochar Ghanto and Barishal Hilsha in mustard curry for myself. Food was superb and our bill was Rs 2100 plus.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shyam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Two years ago we had the best meal of our trip at this restaurant. Last night we had one of the worst--and the most expensive. What happened?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjmexicocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Over-Hyped Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The food and service is quite good but not as compared to prices. Just think twice with your pocket before planning a visit. Final comment : Not worth for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“grossly overpriced”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

the food was good but was extremely overpriced. the notun gurer roshogolla was a disappointment as it did not look or taste like it had any kind of gur in it. the chef sent us a replacement with the same disappointing results. i will choose Kewpie's Kitchen over this place any day, when it comes to eating out Bong in Kolkata.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aaheli also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Aaheli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing