We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #17 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our stay was completely enjoyable and the staff was very helpful. In my opinion, this is certainly a no-fault hotel. I cannot think of any suggestions for improvement. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating. The evening buffet offers a wide variety and the choices change every day. The Victoria Memorial, a metro station and a Indian Tourist Office are within easy walking distance. If this hotel is in your budget range, go for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a part of the Kenilworth family and sharing your experience.

We are glad that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the services and facilities offered at our hotel. It is good to hear that the courteousness of our associates’ added value to your stay and you felt well taken care off in the city. We always look forward to please our guests with great food and are happy to know that you enjoyed dining at our restaurant. Besides, our location being near to various tourist attractions acts as an advantage to the guests. It was a pleasure for us to host you and we appreciate your warm words for us.

We would be more than delighted to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    269
    81
    12
    23
See reviews for
64
70
43
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I would say that there are lot of unprofessional people working in this property. The reception staffs are not aware of there products, & the service people do not know the menu...The coffee shop people are not aware of the buffet, its a sheer non sense hotel...The MD should look for something better other than hotels business...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majumdar_madhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the review of your stay with us.

We appreciate your candid views about the services rendered by our associate and they are valuable to us. We regret that we were unable to provide services upto your expectations. Needless to say, appropriate action will be taken on any shortcomings.

We hope that this one off occurrence doesn't dissuade you from visiting our hotel in the future.
Hope to welcome you with amended services.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our first visit to Kolkata. They sent a driver to pick us up at the airport and we could not have had a better introduction to the city. He knew the ropes but he wasn't aggressive (or crazy) like some of the other drivers we hired. The hotel was clean and everything worked, and the concierge was very helpful. The entire staff was quite friendly and competent. The breakfast is excellent, and you can eat outside weather permitting. Dinner smelled delicious but we didn't partake - too many other choices in the neighborhood. The hotel is located near the Victoria Memorial; the Indian Museum is within walking distance as is the subway and street markets. The tariff is higher than some others but we felt safe here and considering the location, good food, and excellent service we were quite pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know about your wonderful experience.

The team is quite happy to know that they were able to provide you a fantastic stay. We at Kenilworth believe in offering comfort right from the moment we pick our guests from the airport. We are glad that you were impressed by the pickup service and found it convenient. We are delighted to note that the service, food and location of our hotel were at par with your expectations. We hope during your next visit you would provide us with an opportunity to please your palate.

The team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visited the place after almost 4 years and was a pleasure to feel at home and see old faces
Was made to feel the warmth and Respect which was there even earlier days

It was a friends bday celebration and we went for dining and the hospitality was excellent

Only Suggestion is to increase choices on starters

Always Suggested to Visit this Hotel for its People and Friendly Atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us after such a long period of time.

We are delighted that you felt a ‘home away from home’ experience at our hotel. Our associates value the patronage of our guests and make them feel the warmth of Kenilworth hospitality throughout the stay and your appreciation for the same has inspired and motivated them. We are glad to have pleased your taste buds at the restaurant. Your suggestion for the starters is welcome and we will look into the feasibility of incorporating the same.

We are happy that you would be recommending us and we look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I remember those days of past when this Hotel used to be my favourite one, though it has developed today by the service delivery with affection is missing, rooms are well done but view from the room was boring.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaganj1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued patronage at our hotel.

We are glad that the accommodation was at par with your expectations. Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata follows a motto of impressing all its guests with their impeccable service but the team is disappointed to know that your stay was not up to the expectations.

We are at a loss as you did not give details of the incident which took place which led to your dissatisfaction. Having said this, we would take your feedback as a learning experience and ensure that our key pillars of Hospitality and service our resurfaced to the associates.

We value your patronage and hope to welcome you with amended services on your future visits to the city of joy.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Neat, modern rooms with all facilities, excellent full course breakfast, good location at the junction of Shakespeare Sarani and Little Russell Street, friendly staff and a concierge will guide you and also ask for a feedback. The tarriff is bit high.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iamkhyati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review.

It is a delight for us to receive your feedback and we are glad to know that you had a memorable Kenilworth experience. We were more than happy to make your stay comfortable in Kolkata. It is good to know that the services and facilities offered were up to your expectations and our associates took good care of your needs. It was pleasing for us to delight you with our exuberant hospitality. Your point regarding the tariff has been noted and we would like to add that our fares are set as per the industry standards.

We were more than happy to host you in the city and look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotels, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a business trip recently and had a very pleasant experience. The previous week I had stated at another hotel on Park Street and wasn't expecting much. However Kenilworth was able to delight!

Great food during breakfast, lunch conference menu and dinner. The location is walking distance from Park Street which is great. There are some amazing restaurants at Park Street which are a must visit.

The rooms are clean and the infrastructure in the room I was in was great. The service of reception staff, housekeeping and restaurant was most amazing. I would recommend this hotel for Business and family stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshirvadLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank You for staying with us at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and for taking out time to write this review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read such encouraging comments for the hotel and the team who are equally pleased with your feedback. It has been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and warmth and personalised service to all our guests. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the associates who will continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,365 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,898 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#25 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
236 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#21 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Property: Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing