We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean.”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Galaxy
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice and clean.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This room was probably the cleanest we've had in India. We're mostly budget travelers but this time of the year we had to have AC, this building gets hot! Our room was new and the lights were very nice, bathroom was new and clean. We paid around Rs 900. The hotel is near the center, you have good food, new market and a beer bar very close. Staff is very friendly and holds your luggage till your departure (and you can use the shared toilet). Good option in Kolkata!

Room Tip: Room 16 is new and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    74
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
56
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the room by the office for 4 nights and can't fault it. The room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

This place is really good value for money and just off Sudder Street where there are cafés with free wifi.

Only downside was being asked for tips when checking out.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Epatton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 8 days. Room is great with AC and hot water. Spacious and comfortable. But a staff, who i saw him for the first time in these 8 days, started to ask for tip one day before we check out. It was late in evening and we just got back from mother house, super tired and badly need to shower but he just kept on koncking at the door for money. Sooo annoying. I dont mind tipping before i leave but hate to be forced to tip!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Echo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgalxy_kol, Owner at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest

We have read your complaint about the staff of our hotel for demand of tip from you.

We are extremely sorry that you had faced a problem while staying in our hotel.

We had made a proper inquiry to pin point the staff who has done such wrong thing with you. The boy who knocked to your room door for demand of top is the sweeper who come for part time cleaning in the evening time and he comes only in the evening that is reason that you have not seen him before the incident.

We have given strong warning to him so that in future no such incident of tip demand is repeated by him.

We apologies for this wrong incident.

Regards
HOTEL GALAXY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Lombardia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Lots of volunteers stay here. Place to meet people with the same target in Kolkata.
Rooms are just fine. The best thing is that it is like your home. Harry always helps everybody. And you can leave all your valuables safely. Thanks for everything!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank puffa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great hotel. Very cheap, theirs hot water and seconds away from wi-fi cafes. My room was a double AC and i have no complaints atall. Book in advance if you can as its very popular. If your going when Holi Festival of colour is going to be on then your be in a great location as your right next to the main street and the dancing and music actually goes right passed the hotel. The staff and management are very helpful. If you have any problems just ask Harry the manager for help. Its also located 20mins walk away from the Mother Teresa House so if your thinking of volunteering its a good place to be staying. Its also walking distance to the river, Victoria memorial and India museum. Theirs market stools very close by if you wanted to do any shopping. Theirs lots of travelers staying in this hotel so theirs plenty of opportunity to meet new people and also meet the locals. Yoga classes are on in the morning i went to a class and loved it. Again just ask the staff for details their always happy to help

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiebrighton1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a very inexpensive hotel and while it doesnt provide any luxuries it does provide all the basics you need. Ive stayed in far more expensive places and still not managed to get hot water so I was impressed with the great hot water supply here. My room had a fair bit of mould but like I said i still think you cant complain when you get a room at this exceptional price. It was in a great location, we felt safe and the owners were very polite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoobylooTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After traveling round India and experiencing a whole range of different good, bad and even ugly hotels this place was such a find! Really friendly and helpful staff. Very clean with comfortable beds, fresh sheets, shower and HOT water.

Location is very central but just off busy Sudder street so not too noisy, perfect place to recuperate for the night.

After checking out several other places on Sudder street before the standard of this place for the price was far superior!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#164 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#34 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#22 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Property: Hotel Galaxy
Address: 3 Stuart Lane, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Hotel Galaxy Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing