We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in all the aspect, please avoid it on any cost…”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mark Hotel
Ranked #174 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in all the aspect, please avoid it on any cost…”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is worst hotel I have ever stayed in any location. No TV working , No internet working, no hot water flowing, you need to ask for every basic things which you would expect in a hotel. Lot of mosquitoes, extremely awful bed and I couldn’t sleep whole and it has lead to severe back pain. Very very limted options in breakfast. No privacy, you can hear clear voice from near by buildings. Very rude staff and no ready to share number of hotel management. Please never ever stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrishnaSinghal1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

It was very unfortunate that you had to face such issues at our hotel and we apologize for the same.
However, we now have placed basic amenities and individual geysers in all of our rooms to resolve the issues. We have also replaced old mattresses with new 10inch luxurious mattress for guest comfort. windows have been made air and sound tight for lesser outside noise. We have also put up a direct call button to the manager on every phone in all of the rooms.

we understand the need of a good sleep and have done our best over the years to earn valuable guest like yourself.

We are delighted to let you know that we have introduced Live South Indian Breakfast to add more indian-ness to the Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and also change menu every day.

We thank for your stay with us and hope for your continuous support.

General Manager
Mark Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
6
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night while on a 2 day business trip to Kolkata, to start off I was given a 60% discount on the rack rates printed on their tariff card! Now I dont believe that they end up giving out rooms on their rack rates, that would be criminal. Because in their rack rates you could stay in 5 star in Kolkata. The hotel is located in the by-lanes off the Park street, which is a good 400-500 metres walk from the hotel. The hotel entrance is quite shady its a covered alley and is a good 10 metres inside the street. So the Hotel does not have a facade, all you see in the front is a small sign indicating the hotel. The checkin was efficient, however the reception is cramped for space. Post this you have to walk further inside towards the backside of the hotel towards the lift, I actually was not acompanied to the room so I wasnt sure if I was going into the hotel or heading out of the hotel through the rear exit. At the rear of the hotel there is an elevator which leads you to a landing which is between floors. So in case you are on the 4th floor your elevator will either drop you to 3.5 or 4.5 then you need to take flight of steps to get to the room area.
The rooms are big, there is a small LCD which is not in proportion to the room size, there is a well mini fridge which is stocked with cold drinks and water, the bottle of water is not complementary there is coffee machine and also a safe in the cupboard. What i didnt like about the room were the sheets and the pillows they could ve been a bit more hygienic. The bathroom was clean and had a separate shower area, there is no 24 hour hot water so you will have to switch on the geyser. Also in case you can avoid using the toiletries in the bathroom, i used their shampoo and my hair was very rough throughout the day. The towels are also not very nice. Couple of incidents that I should mention, in case you are in your room and dont want to be disturbed please keep the do not disturb sign outside. To my amazement in the morning the housekeeping knocked three times and then entered the room whilst i was in the bathroom. I guess they did not communicate with the reception whether the guest was still in the room or not. Another one was while having the buffet bf (normal stuff upma, poori alloo, eggs, toast, tea) i heard the restaurant person call up rooms which had not come for bf asking them if they would be coming down for bf. I did not see any sense of privacy in the hotel, too meddling in the affairs.
In case you are looking for a 1 night stay then this hotel might work for you if the reception is willing to give you 60% off the rack rate, in case you are staying here at full rate then please explore other renowned places in Kolkata

Room Tip: You dont need a tip none of the rooms have view, they all overlook buildings and houses which are an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajay7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hotel is very elegant but littel over priced. You have to book room well in advance otherwise you won't get it. Room are very spacious and comfortable , staff is is very coperative. Hotel is situated in very prime location of parkstreet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anuragchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Seems reasonable at first glance, but....
Overpriced, unkempt, and ridiculous service.
Toilet room window faces building shaft - disgusting scene
We were harassed multiple times a day by the impatient receptionist/concierge about all sorts of issues - "What items have you consumed from the mini bar?",or " When will u leave the room so it can be cleaned etc?" etc'

Basically - India at its best

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leon_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Patron,

It was very unfortunate that you had to face such issues at our hotel and we apologize for the same.
However, we now have placed basic amenities and individual geysers in all of our rooms to resolve the issues. We have also replaced old mattresses with new 10inch luxurious mattress for guest comfort. windows have been made air and sound tight for lesser outside noise. We have also put up a direct call button to the manager on every phone in all of the rooms. We now have professional and responsible front office staff who take full care of guest privacy and comfort.
Over these last few years we have come to understand the need of a guests and have done our best to re-earn valuable guest like yourself.

We thank you for your stay and hope you would continue your support.

General Manager.
Mark Hotel.
Kolkata.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The entrance of Hotel Mark does not do any justice to what lies within. The reception area is tiny, the elevator seems to be from a different era altogether, making one wonder "have I made a mistake booking my room here?". But when once you enter the room, you realize that Hotel Mark is definitely a good choice. They have well appointed rooms and spacious and clean bathrooms. The hotel staff a efficient and helpful. It is definitely a good place to stay while on business in Kolkata.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chitra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

When we stayed at Mark it was brand new addition to the list of small and medium sized hotels in and around Kolkata's New Market. There was still work going in parts of it and the restaurant was under construction. So everything was fresh and clean but what struck us about the hotel was the contemporary decor and cosiness.
We stayed at one of the deluxe rooms and it was stylishly decorated with an LCD tv, not typical of hotels this size in my experience. The room was cozy and clean and the service excellent. We gorged on the yummy Bengali/Indian roomservice breakfasts every morning which were served in good quantity for a very small price. The staff was helpful and very service oriented and given that its a small hotel, well managed. The only minor complaint I had of the hotel was although they cleaned up the rooms very nicely, I felt that the bathrooms were only simply dried up and the thrash emptied and not really properly cleaned. However, this wasn't the case with the room as it was impeccably cleaned with the bed linen and everything else seeming as though they were freshly placed. The other plus-side of this hotel is the location. It's near the New Market and therefore close to all public transport, major shops/malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtravellerWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

After searching through a rather disappointing selection of hotels in the Sudder St. area, we came upon this gem of a hotel, tucked away around the corner from the main street. The receptionist offered us a steal at 2100 for a room that turned out to be one of the nicest we've stayed at in India. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the bathroom was clean and modern- marble top counters and a proper shower! The cable TV and air conditioner were welcome respites after a long day of wandering around the city. Did I mention breakfast is also included? A great deal, and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#33 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#60 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aafreen International Hotel
Aafreen International Hotel
#106 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#160 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Corporate
The Corporate
#133 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Hotel

Property: Mark Hotel
Address: 31/2 A Marquis Street. | Beside Jamuna Banquets,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing