We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth Hostel Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Youth hostel Kolkata is very clean.The management and staff very supportive,infact they arranged for a courier immediately to send my stuff.Relevant information on the city ,travel mode ,places of interest prepared by the hostel very very useful.I have stayed twice in the hostel,food is good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank krishdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    34
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
8
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Youth hostel Kolkata is just superb. It is clean and hygienic. Only 2 places in CCU are clean: Airport and this hostel.
We stayed foe 3 days and felt as if we were at home. Food was excellent. Rooms were airy. Hot water was readily available. But if you want a T.V. well you don't have it in your room. Just go downstairs and watch it in the canteen.
nice homely experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acagastya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had been staying at the youth hostel for the last 3 to 4 times with my family whenever I am in kolkata as I am from Varanasi. The rooms are comfortable and the services are good. The food is homely and hygienic. It was overall good ambiance stay. this place has become my favorite accommodation every time I visit the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shreya1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Travelled with family n friends. Was quite approachable from the airport, but pretty far from the tourist places in Kolkata. more over the taxis get heavier on pocket, but if one has time, can use the metro etc to reach to desired destinations.
Cleanliness of the hostel is excellent, the main reason probably being that the food, tea, coffee etc is strictly served in the common dinning area, shoes are not allowed beyond the entrance, but they do provide slippers. TV, books, and a good collection of tourist guides n magazines to be used in the common area. Food is served hot and in good quantity, the vegetable preparations though are almost of the same taste, which gets monotonous after a few meals. Staff is helpful (if asked for), though not spontaneous.
Overall a nice place to repose.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSaudamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I booked the hotel online through their website and Mr. Bose confirmed the booking on the first floor. But when we reached we were asked to climb up to the second floor. WE WERE ASKED TO EVEN REMOVE OUR SHOES BEFORE GOING UP! The location is a nightmare. it literally takes more than an hour to reach anywhere from this no man's land.There isn't even a restaurant or convenience store around - and taxi drivers never had any idea where the hostel was.The rooms are horrible, the walls are disgusting, the beds were hard as stone, lots of BEDBUGS. Behavior of the staff especially Mr. Bose was horrible. He is uneducated & unprofessional. So, book & stay the hotel completely at your own risk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D_Banerjee1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeinkolkata, Public Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Kolkata, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We feel sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay in our Hostel. Location is adjacent to the Rabindra Bharati University on B.T.Road. Outside shoes are not allowed to keep the hostel clean and hygienic. Bedbugs can only come if someone brings it. Periodically pest-control done by professionals. Instead of sponge we use branded coir mattress for comfort. Shops/ Restaurants/ departmental stores are 2-5 minutes of walk which are mentioned in our hostel map.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

For the second time we had a great experience overhere. Staying with 20 students this was our home for exploring the city, away from all the hassle in the centre of the city, but with good transportation available to go everywhere. The hostel is very clean and the food is good. In two weeks time we never had the same meal twice.
We got a lot of advises and good help whenever we asked for it.
I can sincerely advise this place to you!

Have a nice stay in Kolkata,
Ludovic Wallaart from the Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schermnaam2014fe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I was booked the hotel through phone & their manager Mr. Ashoke Bose has confirmed the booking. But when reached he told that the room alreay allocated to another person & my booking cancelled.
Behaviour of the staff was horrible. Both of them are ineducated & unprofessional.
So, book & stay the hotel at your own risk.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank samiksaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifeinkolkata, Public Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Kolkata, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Hostel booking is first come first serve basis and against 100% payment in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Inn
Golden Inn
#117 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
4.5 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Eastern Plaza
Hotel Eastern Plaza
#154 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sremon Inn
Sremon Inn
#155 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#40 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Kolkata

Property: Youth Hostel Kolkata
Address: 1D, Hem Dey Lane | (Adjacent to Rabindra Bharati University, B.T.Road), Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 050, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 436 Speciality Lodging in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Kolkata Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing