We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”
Review of The Corporate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corporate
Ranked #171 of 250 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Extremely small rooms. If you are carrying anything more than a small bag, forget about having any place to move around.
There was no running water available in the morning - so if you are in a rush, you have no where to go
The hotel has smelly carpets all around and has an extremely claustrophobic feel to it.
The staff - especially one receptionist and the reservation manager saikat chakraborty were extraordinarily rude - in fact they went to great lengths to be rude and shout at me.
Their room service menu shuts at 11pm, I called at 11:02 and they were unwilling to get me anything apart from the snacks all day.
Refused to give me a bill for the stay since I had booked through expedia - wonder if they are trying to avoid tax.
Overall very unfriendly and rude experience in really cramped and claustrophobic environment

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank pushng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed there for one night. Location of the hotel is good with all facilities around on a walking distance. Rooms are very small. But the major problem is that of the staff. They are very uncooperative, reluctant and unwilling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cparora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It was reasonably ok and normal. It is in the heart of the City, close to Markets. Restaurents good eating places are close by, Cabs are easily available. We enjoyed our stay. Infact this was our repeat stay at the Hotel. Value for the rates.






  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Kusum K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The rooms are too small and over valued. The cleanliness is good. Food is very good. Staff is disinterested. The location is a bit remote. Rest OK. Felt a bit insecure for ladies. The hotel doesnt have its own cab service !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Sanjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel is seems to be so neat & clean, and house keeping staffs are also nice by their behaviour.Rooms are also neighther so small nor very big. Complimentory breakfast served in the ground floor restaurant are also good, everyday they are changing the the menu but Idli is always provided.
My overall experience during my 10 days stay continuosly was very good except one instance happened during check out, the supervisor was not given proper guidance/training and as a result he speaks a little loudly, and want to prove it that he is the owner which was never expected from reception desk. Earlier also when I was sitting in the lobby in front of Reeption Desk to read some magazines, I saw him misbehaving other guest also.

Also I would like to request you to send the Tax Invoices / Cash Memo for my 2 booking made for this hotel from 16th Sep - 26 Sep '13 as I have to submit it immediately to claim the amount from my company as it was my official trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Karnab Chandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

i was on business trip, hotel is on park street, very convenient to move around.
rooms are decent, room service was good, over all its was good. Front desk staff's are very helpful, Breakfast was good,



  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank shamimkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The price for the rooms for this hotel is not in par with the services provided. Luckily, I got a very nice deal from an online travel site. Overall, the rooms are good and the bathroom are clean but could be cleaner. I have found the security guards to be very helpful, friendly and polite as opposed to the staff working inside the hotel. There are some issues with the service of the hotel:
1. Linens are not crisp and not very clean 2. The staff needs extreme grooming as they are disheveled most of the time and in dirty uniforms 3. The front desk staff needs more personality and professional look - when I checked in, the front desk was managed by an amateur boy in his teens. 4. their service trays are dirty and it is covered with paper doilies to conceal the dirt but it shows
The hotel has great potential to be a good budget hotel as the location is good and so are the room layouts. Major tweaking with food, staff etiquette and grooming, service presentation will really help boost its popularity. I have found the hotel to be safe as the security is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renovung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 mi away
Mayur Residency
Mayur Residency
#182 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulshan International
Hotel Gulshan International
#143 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#137 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dee Empresa Hotel
Dee Empresa Hotel
#39 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corporate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corporate

Address: 4 Royd Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 250 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corporate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Corporate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corporate Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Corporate Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing