We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Corporate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corporate
Ranked #171 of 250 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I found this hotel average. Rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. Service also good. Reception people are polite and cordial and extend nice hospitality. Food quality is OK. Main attraction is its location on Near Park street from where you can move easily to any part of the city. Shopping malls and multiplex are nearby. You can find good restaurants...

Room Tip: Rooms in The 5th floor which will be Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alok B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is probably only a 2 star hotel. The rooms are small but work well if you are travelling on business and need to be near the city centre. The hotel is close to markets with lot of eating options nearby. I stayed here for one night and it worked because I only needed a clean space to bunk for the night. no cab available near by hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayur1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I read all reviews good, bad & ugly, but still had a look at property and decided to book via MMT.

Did a check out from my office guest to this hotel in expectation of some peace and harmony... But...

The best person i met in this hotel was the security guard.

The front office far from maturity and being courteous.

Finally after the check in formalities i moved in to room.

Initially i was felt that room was okay buttttttttt..

1. There is fridge which will not cool any thing. Did not try it as a microwave oven though.

2. There was a big window with out a latch, hence it would remain open. And front office dared to say that technician has left for the day and may fix this the next day.

3. They offered me a different room which was tooo small to even accommodate my cabin baggage. And bathroom size reminded me the size great indian railways.

4. While the hotel staff was running like headless chicken to fix this one, ine noticed a very weird noise in room. Upon investigating i was told that this the pressure room used maintain tap water pressure hence will stay on. This was enuf...
Had to get some numbers and then few calls to get my booking cancelled ... Suddenly a guy comes to the room and says sir we have turned the pump and now noise would disturb me..

While i am writing this review just observed two more weird sounds
1. air conditioner of the room above me is audible in my rooom..
2. Zero insulation to the Road noise.

Suggest to stay at this place if there is deal like 1000 rs per night with free meals etc.

Not to mention the pros of the hotel.
Location.

So if some is looking for a place on the park street and has no better or worse options and Hotel corporate can be thought off..

I have already raised a request with MMT for early termination of my booking.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Agarg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was an average hotel, near to many amenities. Rooms small but ok, breakfast sustainable, staff accommodating except for the senior staff. The senior staff do their best to overcharge wherever possible. When errors are pointed out there is no 'sorry'. The security people at the door were very pleasant and helpful, not so the bell boys. They only appeared for the tips. If you plan to stay here, keep track of your bills and check on them carefully.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeswant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is probably only a 2 star hotel. The rooms are small but work well if you are travelling on business and need to be near the city centre. The hotel is close to markets with lot of eating options nearby. I stayed here for one night and it worked because I only needed a clean space to bunk for the night. There are cabs easily available for getting to any part of town. The hotel itself doesn't have any great eating space and the breakfast is served in almost a garage like location at the back of the hotel. Minus the food, the hotel seemed ok for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy123S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Extremely small rooms. If you are carrying anything more than a small bag, forget about having any place to move around.
There was no running water available in the morning - so if you are in a rush, you have no where to go
The hotel has smelly carpets all around and has an extremely claustrophobic feel to it.
The staff - especially one receptionist and the reservation manager saikat chakraborty were extraordinarily rude - in fact they went to great lengths to be rude and shout at me.
Their room service menu shuts at 11pm, I called at 11:02 and they were unwilling to get me anything apart from the snacks all day.
Refused to give me a bill for the stay since I had booked through expedia - wonder if they are trying to avoid tax.
Overall very unfriendly and rude experience in really cramped and claustrophobic environment

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank pushng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed there for one night. Location of the hotel is good with all facilities around on a walking distance. Rooms are very small. But the major problem is that of the staff. They are very uncooperative, reluctant and unwilling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cparora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 mi away
Mayur Residency
Mayur Residency
#182 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulshan International
Hotel Gulshan International
#143 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#137 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dee Empresa Hotel
Dee Empresa Hotel
#39 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corporate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corporate

Address: 4 Royd Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 250 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corporate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Corporate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corporate Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Corporate Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing