We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate kolkatta run by unprofessionals”
Review of The Corporate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corporate
Ranked #153 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
“Corporate kolkatta run by unprofessionals”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed there for 2 days 17-19th feb it was horrible experience . Infact run by few unprofessional ........ very bad place to stay. Very bad reception, no parking place ,very bad location adjacent to all urinals...,guest not allowed even in lobbies

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananthab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    44
    59
    15
    25
See reviews for
21
18
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The aambience & rooms are fabulous with no complaint. However the issue is in service with no proper answer & back questioning rather than solution

Liked the nearness to park street. Breakfast is also very poor with no proper food

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Hari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
353 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A small boutique-type hotel. Quite comfortable but rooms are small. Clean reasonably priced. Modest breakfast. Excellent location close to restaurants, shopping, transportation & the happening places. Friendly staff. Okay service. I will stay there again & will recommend it as an average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayeedac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,818 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Spent three nights here with spouse. Reception we received was terrible. Reservation confirmation said "welcome drink" and they refused to honor it and seemed confused by what a welcome drink might even be! Took nearly 20 minutes to get our room. Front desk woman was a piece of work. Unwelcoming, unhelpful, and disinterested in providing customer service of any kind. First room stunk like cigarette smoke. Moved down the hall. Room ok. Hot water in bathroom was hit or miss. Never seemed to get hot when we had turned it on, but would be hot several hours later. Fridge, desk and kettle in room.

Breakfast was meager and uninspired. We could tell the staff had "heard about us" from the woman working the desk upon check-in as they avoided us and were unwilling to acknowledge our presence. Nice going. This was our worst hotel in India during our three plus weeks and the staff made it so. The hotel's location is convenient to Park Street.

Wifi is available ONLY if you have an Indian cell phone ( so you can get the code). Staff unwilling to help us with a code on their cell phones, even when we said we'd be happy to "tip" them. Unbelievable. This lack of service goes against anything I have ever experienced in India.

If you're Indian I'm sure you'll have a pleasant stay. If not, stay somewhere else. Foreigners are not welcomed here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I found this hotel average. Rooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. Service also good. Reception people are polite and cordial and extend nice hospitality. Food quality is OK. Main attraction is its location on Near Park street from where you can move easily to any part of the city. Shopping malls and multiplex are nearby. You can find good restaurants...

Room Tip: Rooms in The 5th floor which will be Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alok B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is probably only a 2 star hotel. The rooms are small but work well if you are travelling on business and need to be near the city centre. The hotel is close to markets with lot of eating options nearby. I stayed here for one night and it worked because I only needed a clean space to bunk for the night. no cab available near by hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayur1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I read all reviews good, bad & ugly, but still had a look at property and decided to book via MMT.

Did a check out from my office guest to this hotel in expectation of some peace and harmony... But...

The best person i met in this hotel was the security guard.

The front office far from maturity and being courteous.

Finally after the check in formalities i moved in to room.

Initially i was felt that room was okay buttttttttt..

1. There is fridge which will not cool any thing. Did not try it as a microwave oven though.

2. There was a big window with out a latch, hence it would remain open. And front office dared to say that technician has left for the day and may fix this the next day.

3. They offered me a different room which was tooo small to even accommodate my cabin baggage. And bathroom size reminded me the size great indian railways.

4. While the hotel staff was running like headless chicken to fix this one, ine noticed a very weird noise in room. Upon investigating i was told that this the pressure room used maintain tap water pressure hence will stay on. This was enuf...
Had to get some numbers and then few calls to get my booking cancelled ... Suddenly a guy comes to the room and says sir we have turned the pump and now noise would disturb me..

While i am writing this review just observed two more weird sounds
1. air conditioner of the room above me is audible in my rooom..
2. Zero insulation to the Road noise.

Suggest to stay at this place if there is deal like 1000 rs per night with free meals etc.

Not to mention the pros of the hotel.
Location.

So if some is looking for a place on the park street and has no better or worse options and Hotel corporate can be thought off..

I have already raised a request with MMT for early termination of my booking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Agarg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#34 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#44 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#16 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Treebo Orion West Willows
Treebo Orion West Willows
#43 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#46 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulshan International
Hotel Gulshan International
#117 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corporate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corporate

Property: The Corporate
Address: 4 Royd Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corporate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Corporate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corporate Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Corporate Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing