We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value For Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Live In Service Apartment

Live In Service Apartment
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Live In Service Apartment
Ranked #108 of 326 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the Live-In Service apartments (room 122) for twenty eight days in February and March. The rooms are quite comfortable. I had the flu in my first week and suffered poisoning from a brand name fruit drink bought from a street vendor in my second. I, therefore, spent most of the first two weeks in the room itself and, therefore, consider myself very qualified to speak on the room condition. The room was quiet and clean. The room was not serviced every day but on occasion the cleaners did come three or four days in succession. However, if, on a day they do not come you ask for your room to be cleaned it will be cleaned. There are two room sizes, I stayed in the smaller room which does not have a fridge. I have seen the bigger rooms and would recommend them over the smaller ones. The owner of the apartments is a very helpful lady who went out of her way to make my stay comfortable.
The Rabindra Sarovar Lake is five minutes walk away and for those interested in power walking it is partially surrounded by a foot path. The Sarovar metro is about fifteen minutes walk distant while the walk to the Kalighat metro is about twenty five minutes; I preferred the walk to Kalighat metro. There is an Italian restaurant about ten minutes walk and the Oceania restaurant also about ten minutes walk but they are a little expensive, the Italian restaurant being more so. Food can be ordered from your room which contains menus from other more reasonably priced eateries.
If the occasion does arise in the future I will stay at the Live-In Service Apartments again.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuttty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
2
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had stayed in this place for 5 nights and it was my second stay there in 2 years. Comfortable stay room 227. The toilets were well kept, clean, good security and no "Complaints". Its a quiet area and very convenient, just a short walk to the sarovar metro station and to the lake market area. Great breakfast as well. The duty manager is a very humble and helpful person in nature which is an added point. I am highly recommending this place even to those who have kids to stay there. For Rs 1500, its worth the value. Keep up the standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Cockroaches on bed & all around the room. I went with my family & we booked 2 rooms 2 months ago, still gave me 2 rooms on 2 different floors. Manager not at all co-operative. One afternoon I ordered food & the food was served after 1 & 1/2 hour. I ordered 1 Manchurian rice & in the night 1 Manchurian Chowmein & paid for the same but there was no Manchurian in the dishes.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room as you might get more options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed in the same room whose photo you are going to see. The location is wonderful. Do not expect wonderful services, as they clear it out the moment you entered. I entered very late at night, as the train got delayed. Got a very cold, irresponsible response at 3am. They were not ready to give extra pillows, till I shouted.

I could sense a very poor management style. A lady owns the apartment. The people who services you stay there 24x7. The manager was very rigid. Which gave me a feel, that he has very less in hand to decide. I stayed there for 15 long days. Cleanliness is 2.0/5. You have to push for cleanliness. Some of the service guys are good. If you are vegetarian, you will get only bread and butter (toast) as breakfast, with tea. If you are a non-vegetarian, you will get an egg omelet extra. As I was vegetarian, the breakfast was not much of fun. There is no meal available. You have to order from outside.

Location and tariff is good. Do not expect exemplary courtesy. The place is safe.

Overall I can say, lower your expectation (compared to hotel), and you will have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SRAY2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed at the Live In Service Apartment for a day or two (it was very early last year so I cannot recall exactly how long it was but I have kept their business card until this day, which is a sign that it was a good place to stay during my next trip to Bharata).

I was actually moved to this hotel from the Marble Palace Guest House after the first night because they were booked already (I had only given a few hours notice, as I am often apt to do.

Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwamiMahaprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Its a small and beautiful place. The rooms are well decorated and clean. The place is quiet and in a posh locality. I liked the decor of the rooms which was really modern looking and aesthetically planned. Linens and bathroom were clean. The manager is a nice guy and well behaved. Its a little away from howrah station but 5 min walk from rabindra sarovar metro(subway) station. There is a theatre by the name of menaka nearby which also doubles up as the landmark. Once you reach the metro the whole city is within your reach. Service was gud and they don't disturb you unnecessarily or charge you anything extra. The rooms can be booked over phone also which I did. Also this place is suitable for staying of unmarried couples because there are no rules unlike most of the other hotels in kolkata where they turn you away if you are an unmarried couple(kolkata is still in the middle ages perhaps). Overall a nice and pleasant experience...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank atulroy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is a dwelling which is meant for simple small clean comfortable stay and really low cost. It is well maintained and clean. You have TV, AC, clean toilets and comfortable bed. What else one would want for a budget stay?
The location is good but slightly on inner-side. Nearest Movie-Hall (Manoka Cinema, Southern Avenue) is within 3 minit walk and ...within 10 minit walk, you have very many good eateries for all budgets.

Room Tip: It is a budget stay hotel. So nothing scenic or pool-side etc is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DipakAbhyankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.9 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#34 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#45 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#13 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#73 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marina Hotel & Restaurant
Marina Hotel & Restaurant
#94 of 326 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
#109 of 326 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Live In Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Live In Service Apartment

Property: Live In Service Apartment
Address: 23B Lake Temple Road, | Beside Shvmandir / Southern Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Live In Service Apartment 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Live In Service Apartment Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing