We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Emerald Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Residency
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very clean, well-cared for, very friendly, efficient and helpful staff, and excellent value. In a peaceful part of Kolkata, near a large park. It'll be even better when Salt Lake is connected by Metro. My only complaint was that there were limited dinner options (only chicken, and no green vegetables). But that's not much to complain about.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VascodeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words.

Your point is well noted and we will surely look into your note regarding the food menu. We try to keep it simple and straight forward without any frills, with our focus on good quality and quantity. There are options to get salads and veggies too and can be ordered separately as and when required. But yes, there is scope for improvement and we are constantly endeavoring to do so.

We wish you a safe onward journey and look forward to having you with us in your next visit to our country and to the City of Joy!!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have been here for more than a month and I did feel at home. Being a foreign young woman, I looked for a safe and clean place and i wasn't disappointed. The staff was of great help, and I have been particularly grateful for how they looked after me when I was sick. It's important to know that you can trust the people around you and count on them, especially when you are alone in another country. I also have special dietary requirements and they always made delicious food for me without any mistakes. So yes, I do recommend this place, also to foreigners and women.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank mamoni86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Madam,

Most importantly, we were all very happy to see that you were well by the time you checked out. Do let us know if you need any of our assistance during your stay in India, and we will be glad to help.

We wish you the best in your research and hope that you pass in your thesis with flying colours.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Amazing place, great value for money, good food and very attentive staff. i visited with my mother in August the staff was friendly and would try and make things easy for us in all possible ways - great tea, ushering a taxi, local directions and cooked great food. have stayed there twice and recommned it to another friend who found it equally good. Its a great option in Salt Lake.

Room Tip: They have 2 properties, prefer D-37/39. Its location is very good and very quiet and approachable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shireen_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your positive review!!

As you have seen, we have a very small outfit in Kolkata and try to give the best services to the Emerald Guests to make them feel at home. After all, its a home experience!!

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Kolkata and thank you once again for referring us to your friends and family.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It is broadly believed that beyond the grime of Kolkata it is unlikely to find a clean budget accommodation in or around the city. But Emerald Residency broke this myth. 22 of us who were part of a school tour (14 students & 8 adults) were treated to clean, spacious rooms and gracious staff during our stay here. Excellent food and special care taken by the owner and his team clinched the deal.

It is situated in Salt Lake City, so it is an ideal option if you want a place close to the artport, which was our concern.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the balcony - they are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasindhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Madam,

Happy Navratri to you.

We are in the middle of Durga Puja celebrations in Kolkata, which is our biggest festival. Your kind words and positive review of our small operation here in the City of Joy has simply added to the festivities. We are very happy to hear that you all had a good and comfortable trip and look forward to welcoming you back!

Our deepest regards to all of you for your cooperation during your visit, in making it all possible. Its a homestay, as you know, and home is as good as each member's contribution in making it one. All the best and thank you once again.


Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My friends from out of town had come and i stayed with them at this property for 6 nights and it was a wonderful experience.We 4 girls felt very safe and secure.we felt very comfortable and at home.absolute value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your feedback and review.

As you have seen, we provide a no-frills environment which is clean, comfortable, efficient and most importantly, safe and secure. We only commit to what we can provide best, nothing more or less.

Moreover, we are really thankful to you on two counts...
Firstly, for assisting our staff in English-Hindi translation. The caretakers are proficient in Hindi and Bengali, but know enough English to just get their work going.

Secondly, all of you were extremely cooperative when one of the AC in the room gave some trouble. It took almost 3 hours before the technician came to fix it. Your friends from abroad were also very accommodating as they knew that they were not in a 5 star hotel environment, but in a homely place, and such things can happen anywhere and anytime. Important is the response time to the same. Please send our regards to your friends.

We really look forward to having you with us again and liven up your humble abode!!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have stayed in emerald residency with my wife for over 2 weeks n every single day was like stay in my home. Great accomodation, warm hospitality n excellent services. This is the one stop for those who want to stay home away from their homes. All the services r exactly as mentioned n shown on their site without any exaggeration.
-bhawanshu

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhawanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Sir,

Your comments are much appreciated.

As you rightly mentioned we only showcase what we offer. Even the photos in our gallery are taken from normal digital cameras and mobile phones. This has been one of our forte' apart from providing homely services.

We wish you a pleasant stay and thank you once again for your valued thoughts!!

Best Regards,

Sujit
Manager Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

nice,comfortable atmosphere with clean room with all amenities. Excellient home like food and courteous staff. Apt and safe for family holiday stay. would recommend to everone....look forward to staying again...Keep it up and good luck!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adityakumar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was comfortable and that you will recommend us to your family, friends and business associates.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests soon.

Thanking you,
Yours sincierely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#55 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
100 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#21 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
285 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,156 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#30 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
215 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Eastern Plaza
Hotel Eastern Plaza
#173 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Residency

Address: Emerald Residency Block Bf - 6 Salt Lake Road | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £22 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & Secure, Fully Furnished and Serviced Guest Houses and Serviced Apartments in Kolkata. Various locations all over the city including Salt Lake, Ballygunge, Alipore and Rajarhat areas. Choice of Self and/or Fully Serviced Apartments and Villas. A true home away from home experience for all with a combination of luxury, budget, excellent location, and service!! We have over 140 corporate clients with many being Fortune 500 companies. Perfect for the business and individual traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Emerald Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Residency Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing