We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Emerald Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Residency
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

i keep travelling to kolkata for work ..... and this is the best option for staying
Emerald Residency
Is a great place to stay
the rooms are really good fully furnished and very comfortable
the staff is very friendly
the food is really good
the service is great .........
and really happy to stay here ...
i travel to calcutta almost through out the year and i have been staying with them for almost 3 years now .
and i have never been disappointed with them
rather very happy with everything
call in rooms.........
service .........
staff ......
food .......
anything ...
perfect for corporate's and family ...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Emerald Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time to write a review about us!

We value your patronage and sincerely appreciate your positive review. More than anything, it really boosts up the morale of the staff to go the extra mile. They have many fond memories of you over the last few years and hold you in high esteem. We shall always look forward to greeting you in our humble abode for years to come!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
14
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This guest house is located in the middle of original Salt Lake where my friends lived many years ago and some still do. Sitting in the balcony, watching the city wake up and start another busy day, I was reminded of my salad days when I lived in this city. It felt more like living in a home rather than a hotel and that's because of the location of this guest house.
I also saw many birds, some known but many unknown species.

Room Tip: the waiters/caretaker are very helpful and actually smile - ask them for advice when in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtsushmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Emerald Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time to write a review about us!

We are happy to know that you like the location and feel at home. That is precisely what we work towards for our guests, ie. providing a home-style-experience. We wish you the best and look forward to many more visits by you in the future.


Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very clean, well-cared for, very friendly, efficient and helpful staff, and excellent value. In a peaceful part of Kolkata, near a large park. It'll be even better when Salt Lake is connected by Metro. My only complaint was that there were limited dinner options (only chicken, and no green vegetables). But that's not much to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VascodeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words.

Your point is well noted and we will surely look into your note regarding the food menu. We try to keep it simple and straight forward without any frills, with our focus on good quality and quantity. There are options to get salads and veggies too and can be ordered separately as and when required. But yes, there is scope for improvement and we are constantly endeavoring to do so.

We wish you a safe onward journey and look forward to having you with us in your next visit to our country and to the City of Joy!!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have been here for more than a month and I did feel at home. Being a foreign young woman, I looked for a safe and clean place and i wasn't disappointed. The staff was of great help, and I have been particularly grateful for how they looked after me when I was sick. It's important to know that you can trust the people around you and count on them, especially when you are alone in another country. I also have special dietary requirements and they always made delicious food for me without any mistakes. So yes, I do recommend this place, also to foreigners and women.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoni86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Madam,

Most importantly, we were all very happy to see that you were well by the time you checked out. Do let us know if you need any of our assistance during your stay in India, and we will be glad to help.

We wish you the best in your research and hope that you pass in your thesis with flying colours.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Amazing place, great value for money, good food and very attentive staff. i visited with my mother in August the staff was friendly and would try and make things easy for us in all possible ways - great tea, ushering a taxi, local directions and cooked great food. have stayed there twice and recommned it to another friend who found it equally good. Its a great option in Salt Lake.

Room Tip: They have 2 properties, prefer D-37/39. Its location is very good and very quiet and approachable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shireen_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your positive review!!

As you have seen, we have a very small outfit in Kolkata and try to give the best services to the Emerald Guests to make them feel at home. After all, its a home experience!!

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Kolkata and thank you once again for referring us to your friends and family.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It is broadly believed that beyond the grime of Kolkata it is unlikely to find a clean budget accommodation in or around the city. But Emerald Residency broke this myth. 22 of us who were part of a school tour (14 students & 8 adults) were treated to clean, spacious rooms and gracious staff during our stay here. Excellent food and special care taken by the owner and his team clinched the deal.

It is situated in Salt Lake City, so it is an ideal option if you want a place close to the artport, which was our concern.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the balcony - they are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasindhiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Madam,

Happy Navratri to you.

We are in the middle of Durga Puja celebrations in Kolkata, which is our biggest festival. Your kind words and positive review of our small operation here in the City of Joy has simply added to the festivities. We are very happy to hear that you all had a good and comfortable trip and look forward to welcoming you back!

Our deepest regards to all of you for your cooperation during your visit, in making it all possible. Its a homestay, as you know, and home is as good as each member's contribution in making it one. All the best and thank you once again.


Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My friends from out of town had come and i stayed with them at this property for 6 nights and it was a wonderful experience.We 4 girls felt very safe and secure.we felt very comfortable and at home.absolute value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your feedback and review.

As you have seen, we provide a no-frills environment which is clean, comfortable, efficient and most importantly, safe and secure. We only commit to what we can provide best, nothing more or less.

Moreover, we are really thankful to you on two counts...
Firstly, for assisting our staff in English-Hindi translation. The caretakers are proficient in Hindi and Bengali, but know enough English to just get their work going.

Secondly, all of you were extremely cooperative when one of the AC in the room gave some trouble. It took almost 3 hours before the technician came to fix it. Your friends from abroad were also very accommodating as they knew that they were not in a 5 star hotel environment, but in a homely place, and such things can happen anywhere and anytime. Important is the response time to the same. Please send our regards to your friends.

We really look forward to having you with us again and liven up your humble abode!!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#46 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
95 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#18 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
275 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Eastern Plaza
Hotel Eastern Plaza
#163 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
348 reviews
5.0 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Residency

Property: Emerald Residency
Address: Emerald Residency Block Bf - 6 Salt Lake Road | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & Secure, Fully Furnished and Serviced Guest Houses and Serviced Apartments in Kolkata. Various locations all over the city including Salt Lake, Ballygunge, Alipore and Rajarhat areas. Choice of Self and/or Fully Serviced Apartments and Villas. A true home away from home experience for all with a combination of luxury, budget, excellent location, and service!! We have over 140 corporate clients with many being Fortune 500 companies. Perfect for the business and individual traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emerald Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Residency Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing