We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay @ Salt Lake Kolkatta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Residency
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent stay @ Salt Lake Kolkatta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

It was very pleasant stay in kolkatta , very friendly staff and neat and clean rooms .worth value for money, it is very personel touch by the staffs who makes effort in preparing foods we want. Safety and secured place. I stayed here for around 8 months from nov 2012 till may 2013 on business trips and have made visits couple of times later also in august 2013,nov 2013 and jan 2014. It is like I always prefer this Geusthouse than staying in hotel. Good job Mohit and team

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HareeRG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking out time to write a review.

Having to serve you and your whole team was indeed our good fortunes. The entire staff looks forward to welcoming guests like you who are warm and friendly, as they consider each of our properties as their home.

Just for your knowledge, we have opened up a new property in Rajarhat too but that area is not yet as warm and welcoming as Salt Lake is, where you have stayed for your entire tenure in Kolkata.

We look forward to having you with us soon and wish you the best from the entire Emerald Team!!!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    26
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
13
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

it was very pleasant stay in kolkatta , very friendly staff and neat and clean rooms .worth value for money, it is very personel touch by the owner whom i met and he suggested different tariff in different areas

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjay19722808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking out your valuable time to write a review about our humble homestay.

We really appreciate your kind words and your positive review and are happy that your stay was comfortable and successful. We look forward to your next visit to Kolkata and wish you the best.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit
Manager - Operations

On Behalf of the entire Emerald Team
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, in the Salt Lake property. Overall the property was clean and the room spacious, and the room we were in got great natural light. The complementary breakfasts were delicious! The owner/manager was very responsive to my email enquiries leading up to our stay, so that helped to humanise our impending trip. The staff were polite but not many could speak English - for the Indian travellers this obviously is not a big issue. And the other guests we glimpsed in the common areas appeared to be Indian. For the not so Indian travellers, at times when you wanted a little bit of local knowledge 'Ohhh, so the Metro line isn't completed here yet?', 'Where's a good place for food and how do I get there?' 'When do you lock the gate at night?' etc, you couldn't communicate. Which brings me to the location. This was a bit of a downside for me - not a dealbreaker necessarily but just added a bit of inconvenience in orienting to a big busy city, which was my first stop in India. So regarding location being a downside the disclaimer is that I'm a tourist and Salt Lake isn't a touristy area. For example, if the Lonely Planet is a tourist benchmark, Salt Lake isn't mapped out or detailed in the Lonely Planet (think we had a 2012 ish edition). Nor is Salt Lake tantalisingly off the beaten track. Yes, you can taxi it or bus it into the areas that have more going on. Or you could just stay in or walking distance from the areas in the first place. I had done some research and read reviews before arriving, and the impression I got was that it'd be fairly easy to get around from Salt Lake. 'Oh, 10km, not too far, doesn't look like it's far on trusty Google maps'. Being from Australia however I'm basically like a country girl in a hectic city like Kolkata. Travelling 10km isn't straightforward nor does it take a mentally estimated 15-20 minutes. So at the start of the day trekking from Salt Lake into BBD Bagh, the Esplanade, Sudder Street, Victoria Memorial, anywhere on the Metro was a fun adventure in some ways but at the end of the day it was a weary hike to get home. Also to get around it was pretty much essential that we got a local SIM card so we could use Google Maps, and because of the language barrier I didn't buy the SIM in Salt Lake, I had to travel out for the SIM card. So I said that Salt Lake isn't tantalisingly off the beaten track... It's the financial area. It's sort of dead on the weekend so stuff is closed. Ok so it didn't charm me initially but I did grow a little fond of Salt Lake and the local chai sellers and local bare chested samosa man - so we weren't completely despairing our location and busting to spend our time and energy researching hostels to relocate to. And when you've got lemons make lemonade. So if we were in this area, what could we do? Nicco Park, a sort of faded looking amusement park and water park, is about a 30 minute bus ride/stumble away. We spent 5 hours there - water park in humid weather YES! I really enjoyed this somewhat kitsch amusement park. I also grew very fond of the local buses that helped us get into downtown and we grew we wanted to master what at first seems like an impenetrable system. We probably caught a dozen local buses. It's cheap! And fun, and dense with people watching. I wish I could give 5 stars to the bus conductors - they are dexterous and were quite helpful even when there was no common language. The manager did offer to put us in the downtown property for our last night, which was thoughtful. But we declined as by this point we had gotten our heads around Salt Lake and its plusses and minusses, and didn't want to spend our last night orienting to a completely new neighbourhood. About the point I made with the staff not speaking much English, I did suggest to the manager that maybe they could write out some basic information about the house rules and the local areas, and leave this in the room for when a guest arrives. Ok this is a somewhat rambling review so I'll end it now. Overall not a bad place at all, for tourists perhaps just consider the location and its proximity to the things you want to do and see in Kolkata.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Edende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi,

This is perhaps the most detailed review we have ever received and we are most obliged to you to take out the time to do so.

You are right that Salt Lake is not a touristy place at all. Apart from our Corporate Clients, most of the guests who stay with us either want this location owing to the proximity to the airport, want a quiet place outside the madness of the city, or have friends/family in Salt Lake itself who they are visiting. This is also the reason why we have a Serviced Apt in the Downtown area for those tourists who want the city experience!!

Your suggestion has been most accurate regarding the communication gap, and we have already initiated the process of putting a more detailed instruction and information list in each room, especially for the convenience of foreign travelers. The same is being implemented in June itself.

We thank you much for your kind words and hope that you shall recommend our quiet homely abode to your friends and family, and also look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Kolkata.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit
Manager - Operations

On Behalf of the entire Emerald Team
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I really liked the accomodation and facilities as well as the friendly staff! The area is nice and I had no problems to get around .
I can recommend this hotel for everyone who want to have a nice stay In kolkata.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meistereister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing a review about our Guest House. We really appreciate your kind words and hope to have you with us in your next trip to the city.


Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit
Manager - Operations

On Behalf of the entire Emerald Team
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Slightly away from City Centre but nicely located within Salt Lake City. Clean and comfortable are the right words to describe the rooms. Homely service & treatment by staff. Nicely cooked home food also adds up to the overall stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shailendra_Barshikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking out valuable time to write a review. We are happy to know that your stay with us has been comfortable. We have properties in Downtown Kolkata also (city centre) and we welcome you to stay there during your next visit. At present we are undergoing a lot of changes and upgradation to ensure a higher level of customer satisfaction, and am confident that your next visit will be even better than your previous one.

We wish you the best and thank you once again for choosing us for your stay in Kolkata.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit
Manager - Operations

On Behalf of the entire Emerald Team
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We booked to stay in three different Emerald Residency apartments in Salt Lake during our stay in Kolkata. We were very pleasantly surprised by the level of professionalism of the owner, his courtesy and service. In a city which is vibrant and lovely but sometimes just shows apathy and lazy business practices, this was a welcome change. The staff and caretakers were kind, helpful and friendly thus making our stay very enjoyable. I have no hesitation in recommending Emerald Residency.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WriteClick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking out precious time for writing your valuable review about our properties. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us.

We work mainly with established Corporate entities which ensures that our approach is both professional and practical. Its only recently that we extended our services to holiday and various other travelers who are looking for a home-experience in a budget. So far, the feedback has been positive and we look forward to continue providing a clean and secure homely environment to all the Emerald Guests.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit
Manager - Operations

On Behalf of the entire Emerald Team
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Emerald Residency is a gem of a guest house that made my stay in Kolkata perfect. It is in a quieter part of the city and is a peaceful haven to return to after a day in this vibrant city. The room was clean and spacious with a touch of luxury. The staff were friendly and helpful, and lovely home cooked indian food was available. Another plus was very good wireless internet service. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Emerald Residency.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jawindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your time in writing a review. Your kind words are much appreciated and have been conveyed to the staff too, for whom this matters most.

We wish you all the success in your endeavors, and look forward to welcoming you once again in our humble abode during your next visit to India.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit
Manager - Operations

On Behalf of the entire Emerald Team
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.8 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#10 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pipal Tree Hotel
Pipal Tree Hotel
#19 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#15 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Residency

Property: Emerald Residency
Address: Emerald Residency Block Bf - 6 Salt Lake Road | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & Secure, Fully Furnished and Serviced Guest Houses and Serviced Apartments in Kolkata. Various locations all over the city including Salt Lake, Ballygunge, Alipore and Rajarhat areas. Choice of Self and/or Fully Serviced Apartments and Villas. A true home away from home experience for all with a combination of luxury, budget, excellent location, and service!! We have over 140 corporate clients with many being Fortune 500 companies. Perfect for the business and individual traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Emerald Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Residency Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing