We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place I will never forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bohemian

Bohemian
Ranked #25 of 4,164 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A place I will never forget”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Everything about Bohemian is very charming.
The food is great with each and every course so thought provoking. The flavours are unique and the ambience lovely.Music is perfect with an old world charm and the decor so sweet just as their desserts.Wonderful service and superb food...all that we ate particularly the flavours of Gondhoraj and aam and ada.
Thank you so much for evoking the Bohemian feeel in me.We three ladies loved it here and will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FannyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    92
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A quiet place to dine.....”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Our visit to the Bohemian Restaurant entailed a whole new range of mixed experiences. I guess the reviews had forced us to expect a lot. First of all the place is much smaller than expected and gives you the feeling of sitting in a place crammed with furniture where tables are too close for comfort. The gesture of providing a face towel in this hot and humid weather is novel and innovative. Prices are well on the higher side as compared to the ambience but then one would argue that you cant put a price on boutique dishes like Gondhoraj Shorbet or Sesamme chicken with Bori Bhaat or Malpua Cheese cake. One thing which attracts attention is the food quality which is truly impeccable. The prawn with grapes and chilli was awesme, and so was the sesamme chicken combo. But do not try the malpoa cheese cake. It tastes nothing like cheesecake or malpua, but rather like a light flavoured moose. The waiters are very well mannered and pay heed to your requirements. Some useful facts are : If you are not familiar with the Ballugunje area this place is a bit difficult to find, but easily accessible with GPS navigation on your android device. If you are a moderate eater a meal for two will cost you about Rs. 1700 to 2000.The restaurant does not take orders between 330pm till evening. Over all Chef Joy Mukherjee, ex Oh Calcutta, whose brainchild this is, has done a great job in the galley department but leaves room for disapointment in most other departments including pricing and ambience.

Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inventory Resto”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Chef Joy Banerjee keeps on inventing something or the other. I thank him a lot for upgrading bengali food in a modern technology & making it a far better. Just awesome menus available there... :-P

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrajeshNandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprise!!!Surprise”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

wht a treat!!!I will remember for years to come. Excellent menu.....maybe city's one of the best....the names are musical to hear, tasty n portion is perfect.....I also loved the ambience n looking forward for another visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glamsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Kolkata”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

You must try the Vodka soaked prawns and Chilli Cheese crab with kohlmi greens!Last year I was out of the country for the whole year and I had dreams about those two dishes!! One of the best restaurants I have ever been too!Best meals I have ever had! Amazing cuisine and friendly staff! :) Tip: Please make an advanced reservation!And also go there early as the chilli cheese crab gets over fast!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie1988traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bohemian also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Bohemian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing