We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, value for money,”
Review of Kempton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempton Hotel
Ranked #35 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great hotel, value for money,”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

we stayed in the Kempton recently and had a wonderful time. The hotel is modern, clean in a great location. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is amazing; huge with a lovely big bath and a large powerful shower. We ate in the restaurant one of the nights and the food was very good. Breakfast was ok but not really suited to western tastes. However there was toast and various types of eggs available which sustained us.
The location is great, perfect for touring the city. The hotel can organise various trips for you but we preferred to do it ourselves using a good map and guide book(supplied by hotel) and local taxis. Be prepared to haggle with the taxis as they can try to overcharge! There is a Subway Café located 2 mins from hotel with a large supermarket beside it which was very handy.
Kolkata is a beautiful and interesting city with lots of places to visit. we particularly enjoyed Mother House(Mother Teresa's Home), Victoria Monument, Marble Palace and the Zoo.
A word of warning; if you like a drink, alcohol is very hard to find in Calcutta so bring your own, The only place we were able to get a drink was in the Park St area; The Park Hotel and several other good licenced restaurants.
We would definitely recommend the Kempton Hotel and would will return if we are back in Kolkata.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    97
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
43
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

nice hotel to stay, worth for mony, its near to all shopping area, all the staff is very nice guy, comfort rooms, they providing breakfast like american and indian style, i booked delux room, rooms are very clean but little bit small..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Murugavel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is a relatively new property that is off Park street. Good value for money. Rooms are good and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and are very helpfully. They suggested sight seeing options. Food is also good, Tasty and homely. Promity to Park street and New market, so great shopping I would reccommend this hotel if you are travelling through Kolkotta. We stopped over for a day on our way to Nort Esat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is one of the best hotels available in Kolkata.I was really attracted by the interiors of the hotel.I enjoyed the stay completely.The breakfast is also amazing.The room is spacious,clean and tidy.I would stay here only if I visit Kolkata again as the food,service andambience is just up to mark.Well worth a stay.Keep it up Kempton!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navtej999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

On entering the hotel ....one can establish that it's a brand new hotel .. The marble used all over the hotel is marvellous .. Checkin was quick and we were upgraded and given a premium room .
The room has a big glass overlooking to the road .. The room is spacious and very very clean ...
I travel every month to this hotel and staff is very polite and caring

Room Tip: Choose premium room . It's double the size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inderjit_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My daughter and I were very well looked after by all the staff at Hotel Kempton. From the security guard at the entrance,reception staff and especially the guys at the cafe' and restaurant were always there for us and nothing too difficult. The room was clean and well serviced. Thanks to all at the Kempton for making our stay all that more enjoyable.
Neil ...Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rourkela
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I booked the Executive Room in the Cleartrip.com for a period of 5 days with my family. I had seen several good and a few bad reviews in the websites and was bit skeptical about my stay. However, to my satisfaction, all facilities were exactly as described in the cleartrip website. The Check-in was smooth, rooms were clean (although bit small), breakfast was decent. There is a restrau (Lotus) attached to the hotel which provided decent food at decent cost. The hotel also has a coffae shop which is just OK. Room service for the food and beverages were good. Overall, I will say, it was a good service. Of note, I noticed a customer complaining the manager about some booking issue which he had done with Yatra.com. The customer seemed to be un-happy with the hotel room size and Yatra problem... I hope, that was the isolated case and would not happen with others. Surely, I will book my next stay at the Kemton.

Another note... the location.
The hotel is at walking distance (~250-400 meter) from the Park St and hence, easily acceccible to several business places. However, Marquis St. (where the hotel is located) seemed to be unknown to taxi drivers... or perhaps, they were trying to cheat the customer becuase I can easily locate the hotel in my iPhone Google Maps and when I say them the direction, they say...oh oh yes yes I got it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Mukesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#48 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#162 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#69 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempton Hotel

Property: Kempton Hotel
Address: 3 Marquis Street | Opposite Jamuna Banquet Hall, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kempton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kempton is located at Kolkata's central business & shopping district. The hotel is ideal for travellers, be it for work or for business. The hotel has comfortable rooms & suites, fine dining, crisp service & state of art facilities such as access to internet. It offers the best of traditional values, seamlessly woven into its ultramodern design. It will give you a glimpse of Kolkata's wealth of culture & not surprisingly it will redefine your business trip. The Hotel is located 3 minutes walking from Park street and NewMarket ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kempton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempton Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing