We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Casa Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Fortuna
Ranked #25 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hi ,

I have stayed in casa fortune for business related purpose ,the stay was pleasant and food was excellent ,Best hotel especially for south india.Morning breakfast and night dinner is good.Overall an enriching experience with casa fortune hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karthikeyan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a part of the Casa Fortuna family and sharing your experience.

It was a pleasure for us to have you with us and we are glad that your business trip was comfortable. We are happy to know that you relished the food served at our restaurant and had a memorable dining experience throughout your stay at our hotel. Guest reviews motivate us to provide much better services in the future and we feel delighted to hear that our hospitality made your stay memorable in Kolkata.

We would be more than happy to host you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good location. The restaurant is vegetarian and out of this world. Staff were very friendly. Basic amenities (mainly a business hotel I think) but served our purpose well as a base for touring the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shanmuga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

Centrally located, our hotel suits both the business and leisure travelers alike. It is good to know that you liked our location and found the accommodation provided comfortable for your stay. We are glad that our courteous associates added value to your stay. Moreover, it is a delight for us to hear that you relished the food served at our restaurant, Casa Kitchen.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for a night and found to be one of the good hotel in Kolkata. Breakfast and Wi-Fi was complimentary. Breakfast was too good. Rooms were compact and clean. Mini bar available. I had problems only in getting Wi-Fi connectivity, as there were some problems in their hardware. Check-in and Check out process was smooth. The adjacent rooms door opening and closing sound were audible and disturbing

Room Tip: Hope all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweet_Rams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

It is good to know that you liked the accommodation provided and enjoyed your stay with us. We happy that our breakfast buffet served was up to your expectations. Our hotel always ensures that the guests are provided with all the necessary facilities for the most comfortable stay in Kolkata.

We are glad that our services and facilities added value to your stay. Further, the concerns regarding the wifi and the noises have been noted by us and we will surely take the required steps to make sure that our guests have a completely satisfied stay.

It was a pleasure to have to at our hotel and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very prompt and courteous staff. It is a very clean hotel in excellent location. The food is very tasty and vegetarian n felt like home. All major city attractions are nearby. We would like to visit again....

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssnegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

It is a pleasure to know that you liked our hotel and found its location good. Our associates always look forward to ensure that the guests have a comfortable stay and we are glad that you enjoyed their courteousness. Moreover, we are happy to hear that our food could please your appetite and make you feel home.

It was a delight to have you with us and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

First, providing the objective review and then would give an account of my experience in general
Pros
------------
1. Location is very good. In the center of the city and areas such as Park street, Elgin road is very nearby.
2. Decor and cleanliness in general is good
3. Restaurant is good though vegetarian (Good for veg people) and breakfast is good spread.

Cons
----------------------------------------
1. Rooms are very small with queen size bed and only little space to walk.
2. Hotel in general is small and and even reception area seem a bit congested (Don't get confused with the pictures)
3. Costlier for the room size

Apart from this, expedia and Hotel had created big mess for me. We are family of 4 (couple with 1 infant and a 6 year old kid). While booking they charged for my 6 year old as additional person. We were accompanied by a maid and thus, I booked for 2 additional beds in the room. I confirmed with Expedia and Hotel before starting the journey. After reaching the Hotel, they mentioned that they couldn't accommodate as the room size was small. After multiple calls to Expedia they agreed. However, we finally adjusted by asking the maid to adjust in a small space near the door as the room certainly couldn't accommodate 2 extra beds. With 1 extra bed itself, it was full packed.

Overall, I felt fine staying in the hotel. However, considering the price they are charging, its not value of money. Only time I used to feel better was during breakfast. My family really enjoyed that.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, though well maintained. If you are bigger family, please refrain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhikedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate all your good words about our breakfast and soft services. Being a city-centric location, with rooms that are built to suit modern say travelers; we are deeply saddened that your accommodation was uncomfortable and not as per expectation. Please be assured that there was a distinct issue of understanding and communication through the Channel of your booking, which was beyond of our control. All inconveniences caused are deeply regrettable.

We look forward to your visit to Hotel Casa Fortuna once again and urge you to get in touch with the undersigned at fom@casafortunahotel.com. We guarantee you that your next stay with us would be a memorable experience.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for a week. Rooms aren't that spacious but well maintained. The staff is pretty cooperative. A room for improvement in their Breakfast menu. Very limited i would say. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvneeshMunjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

It was a delight to be your host for a week in Kolkata and we are glad to know that your stay was comfortable with us. We are happy to hear that our associates made you feel pampered throughout your stay. However, the concerns mentioned by you have been noted by us and we will make the necessary changes to improve our buffet spread options.

We would wait to welcome you back with our improved services in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed there in April twice - on my arrival in Kolkata and then as it was so good booked another couple of nights when returning through Kolkata again at the end of my trip. The room, and the hotel overall, is excellent with all the facilities I required and expect of a good western hotel. It is extremely clean and everything worked, including the a/c. The staff were really good, especially those on reception - pleasant, helpful, knowledgeable and the concierge helped call taxis, explain where I wanted to go and negotiate prices....all very helpful.

The restaurant was often very full especially at the weekend and seems to attract local Bengali families. On my first trip it was a festival and they had a special menu which was good - on the second week the standard menu was more ordinary.

On request the hotel arranged to pick me up and take me to the airport four times and in all times it worked well with the car ready to meet me. A/c car was 1200 rupees each trip.

Only downside - on the first stay I had a room at the front and the road noise disturbed my sleep (car horns until 11pm and from 5 am!!). This probably affects rooms x01, xo2, x03 the worst as they are at the front. On my return I asked to be at the back (x09 etc) and that was much quieter.

Overall thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skoyen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa F, Front Office Manager at Hotel Casa Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We always aim towards giving away our guests wonderful memories of staying in Kolkata and after reading your review, we feel glad that we were successful in our endeavour.

It is good to know that right from your check-in, you enjoyed every minute spent with us. We are delighted to hear that the ambience, setting, arrangements, food and facilities of our hotel were up to your liking and you enjoyed the services offered by us. It was a pleasure to make you feel comfortable in the city and we appreciate your special mention of our associates for their good work. Further, we thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Kolkata and sharing your experience.

Warm Regards,
Kaustubh Das
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Niharika
Hotel Niharika
#27 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#18 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#116 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#24 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#19 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
586 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#61 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Fortuna

Address: 234/1, A. J. C. Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#15 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £53 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Fortuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to introduce ourselves as one of the most modern boutique hotels, which is purely vegetarian, situated right in the heart of the city. It is what today’s customer is looking for and we are fully confident that our hotel will be the perfect choice at any time of the year to have a relaxing holiday or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Fortuna Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing