We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Built around a water pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #5 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Built around a water pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Excellent. Lots of amenities. Big spacious rooms with marble and nice fixtures and fittings. Choice of eateries. Peace and tranquility away from the madness.

Room Tip: Overlook the inner court yard/pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the kind note. ITC Sonar is arguably the finest “Business resort” in the country and we look forward to welcoming you back. The greatest luxury for discerning guests like you is time and our service design, which has been innovatively worked out accordingly. Also, amidst the ambience of seclusion and luxury lies Kaya Kalp – The Spa at ITC Sonar, offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world. Our Spa works towards creating a perfect harmony between the mind, body and soul.

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    347
    80
    33
    33
See reviews for
247
138
148
1,043
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at the ITC Sonar with my family attending a family wedding we had booked a bulk of room but i was bowled over by the level of service by each and every staff member.They wanted to help in every little way to do anything to make our stay and function a memorable success.Right from the check in,bell captain,elevator attendant .room service ,travel desk ,restaurant the service was just fabulous.KUDOS!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijaychandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

We thank you for your kind words. We at ITC Sonar, strive to achieve customer expectations, by imparting training to our associates so that the services are rendered with warmth. Its great to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed at ITC Sonar for a couple of nights. I must stay I had a great time. The hotel is about 30 mins drive from the airport but can get longer depending on the time of the day. The front desk was courteous and check-in was quick. I stayed at one of the Tower rooms. The rooms are luxurious and service is good. The breakfast spread is decent. The Awadhi cuisines served at the Dum Pukht restaurant is one of the best in the city. Overall very good experience

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuvajit_Basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your warm feedback. At the gastronomiqe plane we offer the finest yet diverse cuisines in settings that would interest the modern yet also the more traditional connoisseurs of fine taste. ITC Sonar brings this exceptional repertoire of culinary excellence to Kolkata in a selection of the city’s finest dining destinations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home away from home.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Outstanding is the word for the service and the interiors of the hotel. It has lived upto my expectation everytime i have visited here .. The rooms and the staff are amazingly good.

Only the location is a major concern.. but the tiring drive feels relaxing after entering the hotel.. Food served in all its restaurants is great and classic..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaPurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. At ITC Sonar, expect an unsurpassable experience of luxury and warmth, in the gentle embrace of nature. Set in an enchanting expanse of beautifully designed gardenscapes with over a million trees and gentle water bodies dotted with water lilies complemented by the artful minimalism of the hotel’s architecture, ITC Sonar offers an unusually leisurely environment for a 5 star luxury business hotel, in Kolkata

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were a genuine 5 star standard and everything about this hotel is top quality. The staff are excellent, the rooms are really well appointed and the grounds are extensive. There are multiple restaurants to choose from and the breakfast buffet is comprehensive.

The location of the hotel is ok, near the airport and not too far from Salt Lake. If your business is downtown Kolkata then this may not be the best location but worth the traffic to return to each night.

Room Tip: Request a club room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. ITC Sonar is arguably the finest business resort in the country - a resort in the urban context, one that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up-feel of a resort. In keeping with the theme of the hotel, there is a world class Kaya Kalp – The Spa – a place to appreciate and rejuvenate surrounded by the calm serenity of water.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata & ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for several times. I love the small pond all over the places in the property. Big rooms, sliding door between bath and bedroom, good food and separate floor for single women traveler differentiate it from rest. I forgot my jeans once in during my stay. The Hotel guys made it a point to return the cloth back to Bangalore, amazing service. These kind of service is only expected in India. Peshawri, and Dum Pukht has worlds best food serve.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandraruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to learn that you had a most enriching and distinctive experience while staying at ITC Sonar and that our team looked after you. ITC Sonar showcases a plethora of Food & Beverage offerings as well as Kaya Kalp-The Spa, spread over 15000 sq feet and offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home away from home.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have been visiting this place for past twelve years and it has never let down my expectations. The rooms are quite comforting and have a soothing ambience. Service is prompt and the staff goes out of the way to assist you. Food is great and the breakfast spread is specially superb. The water pool in between with small sit outs is a good place to spend evenings. Overall a nice property.

Room Tip: Rooms Overlooking the water pool are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. The concept of ITC Sonar is indigenous to the local culture of the region. Created in today’s popular uncluttered style, the architectural design is distinctly eastern, capturing the essence of the region’s ‘Baganbaris’ (garden houses of yore), through water bodies resplendent with water lilies and the vibrant flora, fauna complimenting it. ITC Sonar is a business resort catering to guests who are on business as well as leisure.

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#3 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#9 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing