We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #4 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Luxury at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The moment i checked in the hotel i felt an aura of luxury...check in was very smooth and rooms are clean with every small requirement taken care of...right from small special choclates for bedtime to exotic sleep sprays...the breakfast spread is awesome and one of the best in kolkata...room service is very quick and efficient and food is just awesome....amazing place with no negatives i may think of.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AManohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the warm feedback. It is a pleasure that the services rendered by us were up to your expectation. ITC Sonar is ITC Hotels getaway in the east; this is where traditional values and a modern format come together in a seamless amalgamation of visually pleasing design. Planned as India’s very first business resort, it captures the essence of Kolkata through its greenery and water gardens, full of floating water lilies.

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    338
    76
    33
    32
See reviews for
239
135
145
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Decoration was beautiful, room and bathroom were excellent. Restaurant food was disappointing and all I ended up eating was rice with yogurt - very expensive too but on the other hand morning buffet was good. I would recommend going for buffet meals rather than trying out their restaurant. Staff was courteous and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGWL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted your feedback on your experience during your last stay with great concern. On your future visit, chefs at ITC Sonar would be more than pleased to customize your culinary experience.

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at ITC Sonar for two nights. The hotel is about 30 mins drive from the airport. The check-in was quick. I stayed at one of the Tower rooms. The rooms are luxurious. The breakfast spread is decent. The level of service by each and every staff member was excellent.They wanted to help in every little way to make our stay comfortable. Peace and tranquility right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharath_Satyaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the encouraging and appreciative feedback.

It’s always a pleasure to know that the services delivered by us were up to your expectations. We have also shared your feedback with our team to enhance your next stay with us.
We look forward to having you again, where you may visit Kaya Kalp- The Spa, beautifully laid out as a separate block and is part of pristine gardens and lush greenery, overlooking water bodies to enhance the Spa experience with quietude and tranquility.

We are delighted to offer the Welcom-e-Concierge Online Service Initiative, wherein your preferences are noted in an endeavour to personalize your stay.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Excellent. Lots of amenities. Big spacious rooms with marble and nice fixtures and fittings. Choice of eateries. Peace and tranquility away from the madness.

Room Tip: Overlook the inner court yard/pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the kind note. ITC Sonar is arguably the finest “Business resort” in the country and we look forward to welcoming you back. The greatest luxury for discerning guests like you is time and our service design, which has been innovatively worked out accordingly. Also, amidst the ambience of seclusion and luxury lies Kaya Kalp – The Spa at ITC Sonar, offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world. Our Spa works towards creating a perfect harmony between the mind, body and soul.

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at the ITC Sonar with my family attending a family wedding we had booked a bulk of room but i was bowled over by the level of service by each and every staff member.They wanted to help in every little way to do anything to make our stay and function a memorable success.Right from the check in,bell captain,elevator attendant .room service ,travel desk ,restaurant the service was just fabulous.KUDOS!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijaychandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

We thank you for your kind words. We at ITC Sonar, strive to achieve customer expectations, by imparting training to our associates so that the services are rendered with warmth. Its great to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed at ITC Sonar for a couple of nights. I must stay I had a great time. The hotel is about 30 mins drive from the airport but can get longer depending on the time of the day. The front desk was courteous and check-in was quick. I stayed at one of the Tower rooms. The rooms are luxurious and service is good. The breakfast spread is decent. The Awadhi cuisines served at the Dum Pukht restaurant is one of the best in the city. Overall very good experience

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuvajit_Basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your warm feedback. At the gastronomiqe plane we offer the finest yet diverse cuisines in settings that would interest the modern yet also the more traditional connoisseurs of fine taste. ITC Sonar brings this exceptional repertoire of culinary excellence to Kolkata in a selection of the city’s finest dining destinations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home away from home.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Outstanding is the word for the service and the interiors of the hotel. It has lived upto my expectation everytime i have visited here .. The rooms and the staff are amazingly good.

Only the location is a major concern.. but the tiring drive feels relaxing after entering the hotel.. Food served in all its restaurants is great and classic..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaPurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. At ITC Sonar, expect an unsurpassable experience of luxury and warmth, in the gentle embrace of nature. Set in an enchanting expanse of beautifully designed gardenscapes with over a million trees and gentle water bodies dotted with water lilies complemented by the artful minimalism of the hotel’s architecture, ITC Sonar offers an unusually leisurely environment for a 5 star luxury business hotel, in Kolkata

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing